We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location. Average hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Carlos V
Ranked #201 of 445 Hotels in Madrid
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
149 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Fantastic location. Average hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We arrived early evening in Madrid and hit a small snag with the hotel being in a pedestrianized area, 75 metres or so from the road where the taxi dropped us (about 35 Euro from the airport) to shuffle cases through a VERY busy part of town. If you have a heap of luggage - arrive early so the taxi can get to the front door.

Reception was friendly, reasonably quick and indulged my mangled attempts at Español (their English being much better than my Spanish...). Our room on the second floor faced the front of the hotel and was fairly small by modern standards, but the bed was super-hard (which we like) and the balcony was interesting rather than panoramic. While the main room was small, the bathroom was positively tiny - you couldn't easily have two people in there at the same time. Thirty minutes after arriving, we suffered a localised power-cut which left us in the dark for about 15 minutes while the staff reset circuit breakers.

Breakfast each morning was reasonably OK without being epic. The hot buffet was pretty limited and we struggled to get more than one cup of coffee as it was not self-serve and it was difficult to get the attention of the wait staff - although when you did get their attention, they were really friendly.

Unfortunately, our biggest problem was the overnight noise. The hotel really is fantastically located in the heart of old-town Madrid in an area of bars, cafes and restaurants - which is great while you're out enjoying the town, but the area stays noisy through to about 4am and the balcony doors were so ill-fitting that the noise was very disruptive - and this from somebody who literally slips into a coma when asleep, (I actually slept through a hurricane once), but this was a very disturbed couple of nights sleep.

On the plus side : The location really couldn't have been better. The area has some fantastic bars and restaurants and it was a 10 minutes stroll to the royal palace and western parks.

Room Tip: NOT the front of the hotel - ask for one at the back. Arrive early if you have lots of luggage.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JasonLaw_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear JasonLaw_UK
Let me first of all thank you for the time dedicated to share your comments with the community. Customers' feedback is our best source of information to try and upgrade our level of service.
It's great to know you enjoyed our unbeatable location right in the heart of old Madrid despite de subsequent troubles you found; let just note we do have rooms at the rear, much quieter than those at the front. Also, taxis are allowed to reach the hotel 24 hours, I cannot guess why yours did not drive you to our door.
I want to apologize for the power-cut you experienced, luckily as you say it was fixed in a few minutes. I just hope it didn't cause a big inconvenience.
We would be happy if you considered to give us another opportunity to serve you if you come back to Madrid. If so, please do not forget to ask for a room at the back.
Kindest regards,


Santiago Aguilar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    470
    167
    44
    15
See reviews for
209
354
67
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Just come back from Madrid and must say I was mighty impressed. Very courteous welcome and quick check in (even though I was early).
Compact room but very clean and more than adequate, air conditioning in my room and other in the party a definite bonus.
Breakfast was great, helpful service and not watched like hawks.
The location is second to none and easily accessed by public transport and only a short walk if you get a cab.
You're literally right off one of the main drag shopping streets and right in the centre of Madrid.
Bearing that in mind it's no surprise there is some evening and early morning noise. But a) if you're doing a city break correctly you'll be too tired not to sleep and b) it's only to be expected due to the local.
I was in a room at the front of the hotel and other is my group weren't and didn't suffer.

Highly recommended...so much so I'm about to book again for when I run the Madrid Marathon 2014!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blondiegirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Blondiegirl007
Let me start by thanking you for sharing your comments with the community. It's great to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Gladly our unbeatable location right in the heart of Madrid helped to 'squeeze' your city break.
We'll be pleased to receive back at home next year.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

The location for this hotel is perfect. It was right in the middle of everything. The front desk was very helpful and the room was clean. We had a great balcony and heard the garbage truck going around in the very early morning hours, but that is what happens if you have a great location in this city. We had free wifi in our room. Everything was very nice and the city is a geat place to visit! Our friends stayed at a much more expensive hotel, but we liked our location much better!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jc c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear jc c
Thank you for sharing your comments with the community. It's great to know you enjoyed your stay with us and our unbeatable location right in the heart of downtown Madrid.
We would be proud to have you back at our hotel if you return to Madrid.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Clean, comfortable, breakfast was excellent with a great variety to suit all tastes. Staff were friendly and spoke English and I'm sure I heard a few other languages.
Like all city centre hotels, if you want a view, then you will have to put up with city noise. They have balconies at the front of the hotel. We had a room at the back facing a wall. This doesn't bother us as we were out all day and the room was quiet at night, so had a great sleep in a comfortable bed.
This hotel also offers a shuttle bus that picks you up at hotel and delivers you and cases to your airport terminal. This was great, cheaper than a taxi and takes away the worry about getting to the airport on time.
Thanks for contributing to a great Holliday.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MHM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear MHM62
Let me start by thanking you for sharing your comments with the community. We love to know contributed to your great Holliday.
Being located in the heart of downtown in a city like Madrid makes our rooms at the front a bit noisy. Thankfully we have others at the rear, like yours; yes, they do not have a nice view but they are much quieter. We recommend them for light sleepers!
It would be great to have you back with us if you decide to come back to Madrid.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We travelled from Sydney Australia and stayed here in September 2013 and our stay was very enjoyable. The rooms were big very comfortable. The location was great and breakfast was fantastic, the man in charge of the breakfast area was polite and a pleasure to deal with.He was very friendly and made us feel very welcome. All staff members we dealt with were helpful and friendly. We would recommend this hotel to all our family and friends and will definately return if we travel back to Madrid in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Norma S
Thank you for sharing your comments with the community. It's great to know you enjoyed your stay with us and you recommend our hotel to your friends and relatives.
It would be such a pleasure to have you back home at BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlos V if you return to Madrid.
Kindest regards,


Santiago Aguilar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed over the weekend after a week in the country and this was the perfect downtown location. It is close to everything either by walking or steps to the Metro. The front desk was friendly. The benefits of our second floor room was great wifi and the ability to take the stairs right up. The downside was that we were right next to the breakfast room/bar but it really never got too noisy. The room keys are enormous but you leave them at the front desk so it they really don't drag your pockets down.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5752Lori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear 5752Lori
Let me start by thanking your for sharing your comments with the community. It's great to know you enjoyed your stay with us at our unbeatable location right in the heart of downtown Madrid.
Yes, our keyrings are big and you have to drop them at reception; that gives us the opportunity to provide a more personalized service as we have the pleasure to see our guests each time you leave!
It wouk be nicew to see you back your next time in Madrid.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

the Good...hotel has fantastic location, near shopping, restaurants, Plaza del Sol. Rooms are of average size, shower has great water pressure, bathroom even has facial tissues and washcloths provided. The breakfasts were quite good, the staff in the hotel most friendly and accommodating. We were placed in a smoking room, that smelled like a smoking room....couldn't get non smoking room, as hotel was full.
The not so good.....our wall air conditioner had no knobs, only on off switch. It got extremely cold in the room while sleeping, the bed was lumpy and uncomfortable.
The most aggravating.....the wi-fi was sporadic on the fourth floor, it was difficult to keep linked, had to stand either at the window or the door in order not to lose connection.

Room Tip: stay on lower floors for better Wi-Fi reception....get room with larger bed and unless you are a smo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobinSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear BobinSTL
Let me first of all thank you for sharing your comments with the community. Customers' feedback is our best source to try to upgrade our level of service.
I am very sorry for the inconveniences you found with us, we hope we can put more updated A/C units in a future renovation and we also plan to have differnt tyupes of mattresses in order to please each and every taste. About the wi-fi, I am afraid we have been experiencing problems mainly at the 4th. floor, our team has been waorking in it and everything is working properly now. I hope you can test it if you decide to give us another chance to serve you as we can see you liked many other things at our hotel.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
BEST WESTERN Hotel Los Condes
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#37 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,329 reviews
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#48 of 445 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#92 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Preciados
Petit Palace Preciados
#123 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Centro
Hotel II Castillas
Hotel II Castillas
#102 of 445 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Carlos V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carlos V

Property: BEST WESTERN Carlos V
Address: Calle Maestro Victoria 5, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Family Hotel in Madrid
#138 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Carlos V 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carlos V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carlos v Hotel Madrid
Best Western Hotel Madrid
Best Western Madrid
Madrid Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing