We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class location & service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Carlos V
Ranked #211 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“First class location & service”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Just come back from Madrid and must say I was mighty impressed. Very courteous welcome and quick check in (even though I was early).
Compact room but very clean and more than adequate, air conditioning in my room and other in the party a definite bonus.
Breakfast was great, helpful service and not watched like hawks.
The location is second to none and easily accessed by public transport and only a short walk if you get a cab.
You're literally right off one of the main drag shopping streets and right in the centre of Madrid.
Bearing that in mind it's no surprise there is some evening and early morning noise. But a) if you're doing a city break correctly you'll be too tired not to sleep and b) it's only to be expected due to the local.
I was in a room at the front of the hotel and other is my group weren't and didn't suffer.

Highly recommended...so much so I'm about to book again for when I run the Madrid Marathon 2014!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blondiegirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Blondiegirl007
Let me start by thanking you for sharing your comments with the community. It's great to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Gladly our unbeatable location right in the heart of Madrid helped to 'squeeze' your city break.
We'll be pleased to receive back at home next year.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    470
    167
    44
    15
See reviews for
209
354
67
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The location for this hotel is perfect. It was right in the middle of everything. The front desk was very helpful and the room was clean. We had a great balcony and heard the garbage truck going around in the very early morning hours, but that is what happens if you have a great location in this city. We had free wifi in our room. Everything was very nice and the city is a geat place to visit! Our friends stayed at a much more expensive hotel, but we liked our location much better!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jc c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear jc c
Thank you for sharing your comments with the community. It's great to know you enjoyed your stay with us and our unbeatable location right in the heart of downtown Madrid.
We would be proud to have you back at our hotel if you return to Madrid.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Clean, comfortable, breakfast was excellent with a great variety to suit all tastes. Staff were friendly and spoke English and I'm sure I heard a few other languages.
Like all city centre hotels, if you want a view, then you will have to put up with city noise. They have balconies at the front of the hotel. We had a room at the back facing a wall. This doesn't bother us as we were out all day and the room was quiet at night, so had a great sleep in a comfortable bed.
This hotel also offers a shuttle bus that picks you up at hotel and delivers you and cases to your airport terminal. This was great, cheaper than a taxi and takes away the worry about getting to the airport on time.
Thanks for contributing to a great Holliday.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MHM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear MHM62
Let me start by thanking you for sharing your comments with the community. We love to know contributed to your great Holliday.
Being located in the heart of downtown in a city like Madrid makes our rooms at the front a bit noisy. Thankfully we have others at the rear, like yours; yes, they do not have a nice view but they are much quieter. We recommend them for light sleepers!
It would be great to have you back with us if you decide to come back to Madrid.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We travelled from Sydney Australia and stayed here in September 2013 and our stay was very enjoyable. The rooms were big very comfortable. The location was great and breakfast was fantastic, the man in charge of the breakfast area was polite and a pleasure to deal with.He was very friendly and made us feel very welcome. All staff members we dealt with were helpful and friendly. We would recommend this hotel to all our family and friends and will definately return if we travel back to Madrid in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Norma S
Thank you for sharing your comments with the community. It's great to know you enjoyed your stay with us and you recommend our hotel to your friends and relatives.
It would be such a pleasure to have you back home at BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlos V if you return to Madrid.
Kindest regards,


Santiago Aguilar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed over the weekend after a week in the country and this was the perfect downtown location. It is close to everything either by walking or steps to the Metro. The front desk was friendly. The benefits of our second floor room was great wifi and the ability to take the stairs right up. The downside was that we were right next to the breakfast room/bar but it really never got too noisy. The room keys are enormous but you leave them at the front desk so it they really don't drag your pockets down.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5752Lori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear 5752Lori
Let me start by thanking your for sharing your comments with the community. It's great to know you enjoyed your stay with us at our unbeatable location right in the heart of downtown Madrid.
Yes, our keyrings are big and you have to drop them at reception; that gives us the opportunity to provide a more personalized service as we have the pleasure to see our guests each time you leave!
It wouk be nicew to see you back your next time in Madrid.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

the Good...hotel has fantastic location, near shopping, restaurants, Plaza del Sol. Rooms are of average size, shower has great water pressure, bathroom even has facial tissues and washcloths provided. The breakfasts were quite good, the staff in the hotel most friendly and accommodating. We were placed in a smoking room, that smelled like a smoking room....couldn't get non smoking room, as hotel was full.
The not so good.....our wall air conditioner had no knobs, only on off switch. It got extremely cold in the room while sleeping, the bed was lumpy and uncomfortable.
The most aggravating.....the wi-fi was sporadic on the fourth floor, it was difficult to keep linked, had to stand either at the window or the door in order not to lose connection.

Room Tip: stay on lower floors for better Wi-Fi reception....get room with larger bed and unless you are a smo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobinSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear BobinSTL
Let me first of all thank you for sharing your comments with the community. Customers' feedback is our best source to try to upgrade our level of service.
I am very sorry for the inconveniences you found with us, we hope we can put more updated A/C units in a future renovation and we also plan to have differnt tyupes of mattresses in order to please each and every taste. About the wi-fi, I am afraid we have been experiencing problems mainly at the 4th. floor, our team has been waorking in it and everything is working properly now. I hope you can test it if you decide to give us another chance to serve you as we can see you liked many other things at our hotel.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Colin G
My brother and I stayed here for 5 nights in September although the room was at the back on the 5th floor quite small with not a real view it was very clean and all that you would want for a good nights sleep. The staff were very polite and help full . The hotel is in an excellent position for all the main sites and many squares,shops and restaurants. Although we never sampled the food at the hotel the dining and bar area looked excellent and clean

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c11gry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear c11gry
Thank you for sharing your comments with the community. It's great to know you enjoyed your stay in one of our quietest rooms. You must have notice Madrid's dowtown is really busy and we are located right in the pith!
Please do not forget to try our bar on your next trip to Madrid, don't forget our happy hour is every evening form 5 to 7.
Kindest regards,

Santiago Aguilar
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Best Western Hotel Los Condes
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#49 of 435 in Madrid
2,977 reviews
Centro
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#78 of 435 in Madrid
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Petit Palace Triball
Petit Palace Triball
#68 of 435 in Madrid
748 reviews
Centro
Hotel II Castillas
Hotel II Castillas
#101 of 435 in Madrid
671 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Preciados
Petit Palace Preciados
#122 of 435 in Madrid
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Carlos V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carlos V

Property: BEST WESTERN Carlos V
Address: Calle Maestro Victoria 5, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Family Hotel in Madrid
#138 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Carlos V 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carlos V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carlos v Hotel Madrid
Best Western Hotel Madrid
Best Western Madrid
Madrid Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing