We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room, service, location at a great price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Carlos V
Ranked #227 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Between gran via and puerta del sol, position could not be better. It is on a pedestrian street with lots of shops, so no noise after they close. Lots of restaurants nearby and big supermarket in corte ingles across the street. Highly recommended, especially at the eur 70 I paid.large room and good bathroom, a bit sparten and plastic cups, but very good for the price category.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gaffelaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear gaffelaar
Thank you for sharing your comments with the community. It's great to know you enjoyed your stay with us and we are proud to be reccomended by a top contributor like you.
We'd be glad to have you back with us on your next trip to Madrid.
Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (935)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 238 of 935 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and couldn't believe how close we were to everything. A couple of minutes walk to Puerto del Sol, about 5 minutes to Plaza Mayor and about 10 to the Palacio Nacional. The staff were friendly, polite, professional and very helpful - nothing seemed too much trouble. The breakfast was perfectly adequate with plenty of choice and the prices in the bar were not too high, considering the location of the hotel.
The room was ample for three of us, beds firm and comfortable, plenty of storage space and 'cafeteria kit' available free of charge. The room and bathroom were both spotless on arrival and beds made and towels changed daily.
There was a down side, hence only 4 star rating. I decided on this hotel mainly because of the fact it was on a pedestrian street, thinking it would be traffic free. Unfortunately, it became a busy thoroughfare at night; between the delivery trucks and unloading of goods, the nightly rubbish collection trucks and the street cleaning trucks it was impossible to sleep through the night. As exhausted as we were, we were woken many times during the night, every night; the banging and crashing really was extremely loud. Please fit some double glazing, I'm sure that would solve the problem.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank caz_jw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear caz_jw
Thank you for sharing your comments with the community. It's great to know you all in all enjoyed your stay with us and specially our unbeatable location.
We'll take in consideration your suggestion about better double glazing in a future renovation.
Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The positives ...... good location, no traffic as it is in a pedestrian area and it wasn't nearly as noisy as anticipated considering how close it is to Joy which is a popular nightclub and to Sol etc. Room small but satisfactory. Beds firm, but not uncomfortable (unless you like a soft mattress, then you might be in trouble). A bit cold the first night, but found the spare blankets then it was fine. To be fair it was minus one outside. Excellent little cafe/bar for chilling out in, which was particularly useful for our last day as we weren't travelling until late afternoon and checkout is at midday. It was great to have somewhere to come back to and get refreshed and catch up with our luggage (and repack with all the wonderful leather boots that just had to be purchased in Madrid!). Free wifi and really lovely helpful staff.

Negatives....... just a slight whiff of drains in the corridors and staircases. Guess that is just Madrid for you. Venice would be worse.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Liz R
Thank you for sharing your comments with the community. It's nice to know you enjoyed some chilly winter days with us.
We'll keep an eye on the smell you reported, this is not usual, thank you for the clue.
Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed at beginning of February - very cold outdoors. Room radiators only went on for a few hours in the morning and the same in the evening and was very cold outwith these times. However, when I complained, the staff adjusted the Air Con in the room to a comfortable temperature. Immediate hot water from taps and shower. Has an very fast moving elevator. Extremely well located Hotel as it is only about 10 minutes walk from the main tourist Plazas etc. Don't know how other reviewers heard noises outside all night - the hotel is actually in a pedestrianised vicinity so anty vehicles should just be delivering goods etc during the day. Breakfast was more than adequate - cooked or otherwise. Also, plenty of fruit available. Only drawback is that there are no coffee making facilities in the rooms - nice feature in UK Hotels. All in all, I would have no hesitation in using the Carlos V for future visits to Madrid.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikoGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear mikoGlasgow
Let me first of all thank you for sharing your comments with the community. It's nice to know you enjoyed your stay with us
I would just like to add we do provide in-room coffee/tea makers on request, as we say on our guest directory; I am afraid you did not have the time to read it.
It would be great to see you back tyour next time in Madrid.
Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I and a large group of friends stayed at this hotel. We found the hotel to be very good value. The breakfast was better than expected given the price, and the staffs were not only friendly but helpful should you require a helping hand.

The location is definitely under-advertised for this hotel. It's located right in the middle of town, next to a department store with a large supermarket. Gran Via, Puerto del Sol and Plaza Mayor are less than three minutes away on foot. There are two Metro stations within a 5 minute walking distance as well.

Although the rooms do not come with kettles or tea sets, you can always ask for these at the café on the 1st floor.

Wi-Fi access is free, although some of us have difficulties connecting to it. Reception is the strongest in the corridors.

The only point of concern is the age of the building. The rooms were not very noise proof. In addition, some rooms may have a awkward bathroom with all the bathroom furnitures are arranged in a very odd way. We also found heating to vary a lot day to day. Some nights were very cold as if the heater was turned off at times but some nights were too warm.

Room Tip: Ask them if you can get rooms that are more noise proof if possible. Rooms with better access to Wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonnellato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear tonnellato
Thank you for sharing your comments with the community, it's great to konw you enjoyed our unbeatable location right in the heart of downtown Madrid.
We'll take very much in consideration yuor pints on concern in future renovations. It'd be great to have you here to check it.
Kindes tregards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The rooms are very clean and staff is friendly and helpful however I made the mistake of getting a room with balcony and there were some nights I could not sleep due to the loud trucks that were outside all night. The hotel is in a good location right in the center maybe a room in the back would have been better. Great location but noise unbearable which is not the fault of the hotel. The only let down was I called and arranged for the shuttle service to pick me up from the airport and it never showed up so instead got stuck with a 46 Euro bill and no one at the hotel cared.

Room Tip: Don't get a room in the front or with a balcony from my experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pandybahlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Pandybahlu
Thank you for sharing your comments with the community. In effect I should reccomend a room at the back for light sleepers, as you seem to be. You know what comes with being located right in the heart of downtown...
I'll go deeper with the company that provides us with shuttle service to try and find out why they did not pcik you up, please provide further details (day and time of arrival) direct to the hotel by fax or mail. It also seems overcharged you, I am sorry about that, but I am afraid this is the first new I have abour your case.
I expect to hearing form you.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

As the title says the location of this hotel couldn't be better. Ten to fifteen minutes walk from the Palace and the Prado and two minutes from Puerta del Sol where you can pick up the open top bus. Our room at the front of the hotel was all we could have wanted and the only noise we heard was on Saturday night (it is the city centre after all). Would recommend this hotel with a warning about the Happy Hour small print - wine, beer & sangria only - so don't expect half price G & T's

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mistered_Ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Mistered_Ed
Thank you for your comments and recommendation, it's great to know you enjoyed your stay with us and our unbeateble location despite the 'audible' nightlife of downtown Madrid.
It would be great to have you back among us your next time in Madrid, maybe for that time we have studied your suggestion about extending our happy hour to liquors and spirits.
Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Best Western Hotel Los Condes
Centro
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#85 of 438 in Madrid
1,194 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Puerta Del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Meninas - Boutique Hotel
Centro
Petit Palace Preciados
Petit Palace Preciados
#124 of 438 in Madrid
915 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza Mayor
Petit Palace Plaza Mayor
#88 of 438 in Madrid
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Carlos V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carlos V

Address: Calle Maestro Victoria 5, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Family Hotel in Madrid
#138 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $168 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Carlos V 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carlos V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carlos v Hotel Madrid
Best Western Hotel Madrid
Best Western Madrid
Madrid Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing