We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Western Carlos V Madrid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Carlos V
Ranked #201 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Western Carlos V Madrid”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Central location with easy access to transport systems. Rooms to the front may be affected by street noise at night. Staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel is spotless. Good sized room with powerful shower over bath.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Mary C
Thank you for sharing your comments with the community. It's great to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Good remark, if you are a light sleeper is better to request a room at the rear.
It would be nice to have you back with us your next time in Madrid.
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    470
    167
    44
    15
See reviews for
209
354
67
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Partner and I stayed for 9 nights late Nov. The hotel presents itself as a basic 3 star facility and that's exactly what it is. Room 306 was small, very clean. On the front of the hotel we did hear quite a bit of noise from the street. Bathroom also small but clean. Wifi included. Breakfast was not included in our rate but for a little under 10 euros per person was fine with hot and cold dishes. Staff was pleasant and spoke English well. The main drawing point of the hotel is the fantastic location. We walked everywhere we wanted to go. We looked at a larger room but noticed it only had more floor space, not more room to put things so we stayed in the original room we were given. If I had it to do over again I would have selected a 4 star property maybe, but overall I think the reviews are pretty accurate. No major complaints.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Westshore
Thank you for sharing your comments with the community, you've made such a good descrition of what we intend to be!
It's nice to know you enjoyed your stay with us and we'd be glad if you decide to book with us again if you return to Madrid.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I recetly stayed at the Hotel Carlos V in Madrid, Spain.
It was a wonderful experience. It is in a great location close to Puerta del Sol in the center of Madrid. All the majors attractions are within walking distance. It is close to a major subway station.
It is very clean and the staff in very helpful.
The room was small and the bed was very firm.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rijos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Rijos
Thank you for sharing your comments with the community. It's great to know you enjoyed your stay with us, it would be a pleasure see you back among us if you return to Madrid.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenelg, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Great location, lovely Hotel would not look at of place in Paris. Beautifully furnished especially the area where you have breakfast which has a good choice of pastries but poor choice of hot.
The problem is the walls are paper thin and it sounds like your neighbours are in your room. The ones next door to us were not that noisy but still we had no sleep. This was not good as we were only staying here before we flew back to Australia. Disappointed that the Hotel would not space out where they put customers as we hardly saw anybody staying there. Great location but would not stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
4 Thank Robbie0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Robbie0101
Let me first of all tahnk you for sharing your comments with the community. Your feedback is very important to us to try to enhance our level in customer service and guest satisfaction.
I want to aplogize for not exceeding your expectations; we reagullary hear our guests about street nnoise, being located right at the heart of downtown Madrid, but we're not accostumed to be reported about noise form one room to another, not even by light sleepers.
I'm sorry you decide not to stay again with us, if there is something we can do to make you change your mind, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Best Western Carlos V Hotel was a comfortable, clean, central place to stay for a couple of nights with a good buffet spread for breakfast. My interior room faced onto a courtyard so heard no outside noise at all. Free WiFi came with the deal. Can’t really fault the place – it had everything I needed for a comfortable two night stay right in the thick of all the activity beside Sol and at a reasonable price. Would recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BogsideBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear BogsideBunny
Thank you f or sharing your comments with the community. It's great to know you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend us to other travellers.
We'd love to see you back your next time in Madrid.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aschaffenburg, Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

As the title states, this hotel is in a perfect location right in the middle of the city, roughly half an hour by metro and train from the airport (total 6€ per person- Nov 12). This hotel is adequate in all areas except for the street noise!
The rooms are spotless if a bit on the small side, same with the bathroom. Small TV with CNN as your English channel option. Since we were there in November we did not need the AC so cannot really comment on this.
Breakfast for the money was super, very varied and a good price when you consider how expensive Madrid is.
The hotel has no restaurant but part of the breakfast room has a nice bar attached, expensive but nice.
Around the hotel is dozens if not hundreds of restaurants of different types and there is the a huge department store directly across the street.
The noise from the same said street is the only minus point I can make, it is loud and right through to the early hours, this was an issue even though we had been upgraded to the top floor. I recommend earplugs.
If you are not a light sleeper then this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: do not forget the earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLJMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear CLJMG
Thank you for sharing your comments with the community, it's lovely to know you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and our unbeatable location right in the heart of Madrid.
It would be great to have you back with us if you return to Madrid. If so, why not during spring or summer to enjoy one of our 5th. floor terraces?
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel at least 4 times in the past 10 years, because it is a great location for me to visit family in Madrid who only live one Metro stop from SOL. Yes I agree with other reviews, the rooms do now need freshening up! Bathroom small and also needs to be upgraded! Our room was small, bed very confortable and the room was clean. Staff very friendly and helpful, breakfast very good. We have also found that taxi drivers from the airport don't seem to know where it is. We find the best thing to do is ask for Puerta Del Sol, look for El Court Ingles (large department store) and walk up the street, hotel is 2nd road on left 5 minutes walk.

Room Tip: If in the summer and you want windows open the front can be noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Conmackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Conmackie
Thank you for sharing your commentrs with the community. It's great to know you enjoyed yout stays with us enough to become a regular guest, you make us feel proud for being your home at Madrid.
We take very much in cosideration your advise about updating, but we promise we won't chance our style.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
BEST WESTERN Hotel Los Condes
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#37 of 444 in Madrid
2,307 reviews
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#48 of 444 in Madrid
2,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#90 of 444 in Madrid
1,017 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Londres
Petit Palace Londres
#127 of 444 in Madrid
781 reviews
Centro
Hotel II Castillas
Hotel II Castillas
#103 of 444 in Madrid
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Carlos V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carlos V

Property: BEST WESTERN Carlos V
Address: Calle Maestro Victoria 5, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Family Hotel in Madrid
#138 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Carlos V 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carlos V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carlos v Hotel Madrid
Best Western Hotel Madrid
Best Western Madrid
Madrid Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing