We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, helpful staff and good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Carlos V
Ranked #208 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Liverpool
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location, helpful staff and good value for money”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booked online and didn't have to pay until we left. Breakfast included which was very good. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Room was good - terrace ovelooked the street which was good for checking out weather but the Saturday night crowds kept us awake (sound insulation wasn't the best and was the only thing that prevented a 5 star rating - but the other positive points more than made up for it). Free internet - which was great.
Plus they provided a mini bus to take you back to the airport - 10 euros per person which was "considerably cheaper" than taxi! This hotel was recommended by our friends and we would certainly use it again if we went back to Madrid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Pedro52
Let me first of all thank you for sharing your comments with the community. It's great to know your stay with us and it will be a pleasure to have you back with us your next time in Madrid.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    470
    167
    44
    15
See reviews for
209
354
67
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I have just returned from a 4 night break to Madrid staying at this hotel.

The Good Points
1. Location – a very short walk from Sol Metro station the hotel is right in the heart of Madrid.
2. The staff – friendly and welcoming.
3. The breakfast room – bright, clean and the breakfast choice was very good. Well stocked and nothing was too much trouble for the waiting staff.
4. The bar – reasonably priced.
5. Nice clean rooms.
6. Laptop with free internet access

The Not So Good Points
1. Location – the street outside the hotel is as such for pedestrians however despite the lack of traffic the noise late at night if you are in one of the rooms that face the street are not good if you are a light sleeper – make sure you ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you are not a heavy sleeper.
2. The bar – closes at 2300.
3. Make sure that you get the room that you booked – I booked this break over 6 months ago asking for a twin room – when we arrived we did not have one and did manage to change having been told that one was not available.


The Madrid Open top bus is not really worth it as everything is within easy reach from the hotel. I really would urge those that can walk because you will see just as much. If you can't walk then hop on the Metro. Its easy to use and buy tickets and all adds up to the experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StubbingtonBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear StubbingtonBob
Let me first of all thank yo ufor sharing your comments with the community, by telling us what you liked and how we can improve you help us a lot to try to enhance the bes tlevel in guest satisfaction.
I'm glad to know you enjoyed despite all your stay with us. I am sorry about the street noise, I am afraid it's something that comes with being located right in the heart of downtown Madrid. About our bar closing time we have adopted it to the demand of the majority of our guests, it's something that could be changed in the future.
I am afraid I don't know exactly what happened with the room assigned to your reservation; I just hope we could solve it to your convenience.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at the Carlos V for four nights in October 2012. The hotel is located on a relatively quiet pedestrian street midway between the Plaza del Sol and the Palacio Real, across from the Corte de Ingles department store, and just a few steps from busy Preciados street. Practically every attraction in central Madrid is within walking distance. The hotel is housed in an old building, the lobby is small and unimpressive, and the halls and rooms perhaps a bit dark and austere. However, everything is spotlessly clean, the beds are comfortable, the rooms relatively spacious for a European central-city establishment, and the bathrooms are conveniently sized and well equipped. It's well worth the modest additional cost to get one of the five delightful top-floor terrace rooms, which are quieter and feature a large carpeted terrace accessed by a French window. The lounge/bar/breakfast room on the first floor is exceptionally attractive with a turn-of-the-century decor. One can lounge on comfortable arm chairs or access the internet while sipping sherry provided by the cheery and attentive waiter on duty. The latter very obligingly provided us with impromptu sandwiches rather late at night after our return from a tour. Breakfast served in this area is both lavish and less expensive than in many other Madrid hotels. Finally, we found the entire staff exceptionally friendly, efficient and helpful, and with perfectly adequate English. In summary, the Carlos V is not the fanciest or most modern hotel around, but it is both superbly located and thoroughly comfortable. We would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: The fifth-floor terrace rooms are especially desirable for insulation from street noise and for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHNSTEPHENPERRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear JOHNSTEPHENPERRY
Let me thank you for sharing your comments with the community. It's great to know you enjoyed your stay with us, specially our unbeatable location and our lovely 5th. floor terrace. We'll be pleased to have you back your next time in Madrid.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We are a little late in writing this review as we stayed at Carlos V from Aug. 30 - Sept, 1st, 2012 but after reading some hurtful reviews we wanted to get our 2 cents in.
Little did we know that when my husband booked our trip to Madrid and the Best Western Carlos V that we would have such a wonderful surprise in this gem of a small hotel. From the moment we arrived at the airport we found the hotel shuttle service desk and had a speedy trip to the hotel. We had no idea that we would actually be so close to Old Madrid - actually right in the centre of it and how convenient it would be to sight see, find great restaurants, tourist attractions and of course shopping. Were else in the world could you go and have Cava and Iberico ham and Manchego cheese at 8:00 in the morning.
The Carlos V is a small, quaint, and very friendly hotel and has old world charm and character to match the surrounding area. We were fortunate to have a top floor room with a very large outdoor patio with lounge chairs and other patio furniture. Although the room itself was slightly smaller than the patio, we had great views to enjoy our coffee in the morning and watch the daily life of the Madrinos. We never had to use public transport to get around as everything we wanted to do was practically at our doorstep. When you only have 3 days to see such a spectacular city you have to see and do as much as you can.
The front desk staff - Emmanual and Abraham were always available to give us directions to where we wanted to go and were always extremely helpful, polite and friendly. Up one floor from the lobby was a great little restaurant and Happy Hour every day and at closing it was always a pleasure to have a great bartender like Orlando to talk to and learn more about Madrid. Although we never did see our maid(s) our room was very clean, bathroom had been updated and there was plenty of closet space - and it certainly did not break the bank to pay a small fee for a safety deposit key just for the piece of mind and safety. Once we closed the patio doors at night, the room was soundproof and no noise coming from the hallway.
We can't speak for anyone else, but the few guests that we met in the bar at Happy Hour were more than pleased with their rooms and the hotel too. We would definitely stay at Carlos V again and have great memories of our short visit there. We have already recommended it to several friends back here in Canada. Upon our departure from the hotel, once again, for a small fee, we were taken back to the airport to get our flight to Tenerife.
To Senior Aguilar we thank you and your staff for our wonderful and enjoyable stay at your hotel - the Carlos V.
Belle M (Campanita) and Richard T
Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

Room Tip: Request a room on the 5th floor with the huge outdoor patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Belle T
Let me first of all thank you for your comments, its never too late to share your opinion, good or bad, with the community.
It's great to know you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our main goal to try to enhance the highest level in guest satisfactio, though we know a 100% success is not possible; we keep trying!
It will be our pleasure to have you back with us in case you are back in Madrid.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

What a disappointment. After being in Barcelona and Paris we arrived at Madrid and checked into the Carlos V. Yes its in an old building,, Yes the rooms are very small, but also dark, and dank. My wife used the word "seedy" to describe our room, like something a hooker would use. The bed was AWFUL,, We had a front room with a baconly overlooking the street. Our first night we were awoken by a city worker on our balcony taking down street decorations at 12:30 AM,, then the garbage trucks came by folloowed by street cleaners. No Sleep for us. The second night was quiter but still no sleep because the bed was so terrible. We checked out early and gave up our remaining deposit, to transfer to the Sheraton!! What a relief.

Recommendation?? Do NOT stay at the Carlos V!!!

Room Tip: If you do stay here, be sure to get a room off the street. The noise is bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Doug G
Let me first of all thank you for sharing your comments with the community. Guests’ feedback is very valuable for us to try to upgrade our services and facilities.
I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you found during your stay, especially for the city worker you found working out of your balcony. Every summer the city put sun blinds at our street, and they normally warn us for the installation and removal so that we can tell our guests in advance; this time they did not let us know they were going to remove the blinds and we could not tell guests like you. I have contacted the city official in charge of this so it will not happen again.
About the definition you apply to our rooms, I am afraid I cannot guess the kind of room a hooker would use; I can just tell you most of our guests are families who feel with us like at home away from home.
Again I would like to apologize for not having been able to please you during your stay; our main goal is to try to enhance the highest levels in guest satisfaction, which we unfortunately did not in your case.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
133 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

In any big city like Madrid you need to stay in a central location for no need waste your limited time commuting to or from the main atractions. Carlos V is located just a few steps from Puerta del Sol, the center of Madrid from which you can walk to the principal museums (Prado, Reyna Sofia) and landmark attractions (Plaza España, Palacio Real y Cathedral). If it's time to go to Toledo, El Escorial o Segovia, the Atocha -Renfe rail station is not so far, if you don't want to walk, take one of the three metro lines at Sol station. Besides it's great location, Carlos V is a chaming hotel with a beautiful dining room where a hearty and tasty breakfast is served every day, our first encounter with the ibericos ham and cheese. The rooms are small and a bit noisy late at night, but it's the trade off for the central location and €100 including breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camoto54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Camoto54
Let me thank you for sharing your comments with the community. I have loved to know you enjoyed your stay with us, mainly our unbeatable location right in the heart of Madrid!
It would be a great pleasure to have you back home if you return oto Madrid.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

It was not as wonderful as Best Western usually is, but it was good.

The problem of this Hotel is that it is located in an old building, so you cannot expect, for example, a modern conditioner in there. But, I guess, that its extremely central location (the Metro Puerta del Sol is about the corner, and La Puerta del Sol itself is some hundred meters down the street) imposed the choise of the buildind, or, it is better to say, the absence of such a choise.

Still, the hotel is really good. The stuff are efficient and polite (they seem the only ones who know to speak English in this city and even in this country!). And the hotel position is perfet, because you are always in the centre of the Madrid life but at the same time you are not disturbed by the noise this very life produces.

Best Western is still on of the best, do not doubt it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Olice H
Let me first of all thank you for sharing your comments with the community and your loyalty to our brand.
It's great to know you enjoyed your stay with us and our unbeatable location despite the small tirbutes we have to pay for beeing located in a historical building date in 1904!
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
Best Western Hotel Los Condes
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#39 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,395 reviews
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#48 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#91 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Preciados
Petit Palace Preciados
#123 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Centro
Hotel II Castillas
Hotel II Castillas
#104 of 438 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Carlos V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carlos V

Property: BEST WESTERN Carlos V
Address: Calle Maestro Victoria 5, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Family Hotel in Madrid
#138 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Carlos V 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carlos V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carlos v Hotel Madrid
Best Western Hotel Madrid
Best Western Madrid
Madrid Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing