We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location and location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Carlos V

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BEST WESTERN Carlos V
Ranked #200 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
134 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Location, location and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

In any big city like Madrid you need to stay in a central location for no need waste your limited time commuting to or from the main atractions. Carlos V is located just a few steps from Puerta del Sol, the center of Madrid from which you can walk to the principal museums (Prado, Reyna Sofia) and landmark attractions (Plaza España, Palacio Real y Cathedral). If it's time to go to Toledo, El Escorial o Segovia, the Atocha -Renfe rail station is not so far, if you don't want to walk, take one of the three metro lines at Sol station. Besides it's great location, Carlos V is a chaming hotel with a beautiful dining room where a hearty and tasty breakfast is served every day, our first encounter with the ibericos ham and cheese. The rooms are small and a bit noisy late at night, but it's the trade off for the central location and €100 including breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camoto54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Camoto54
Let me thank you for sharing your comments with the community. I have loved to know you enjoyed your stay with us, mainly our unbeatable location right in the heart of Madrid!
It would be a great pleasure to have you back home if you return oto Madrid.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    470
    167
    44
    15
See reviews for
209
354
67
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

It was not as wonderful as Best Western usually is, but it was good.

The problem of this Hotel is that it is located in an old building, so you cannot expect, for example, a modern conditioner in there. But, I guess, that its extremely central location (the Metro Puerta del Sol is about the corner, and La Puerta del Sol itself is some hundred meters down the street) imposed the choise of the buildind, or, it is better to say, the absence of such a choise.

Still, the hotel is really good. The stuff are efficient and polite (they seem the only ones who know to speak English in this city and even in this country!). And the hotel position is perfet, because you are always in the centre of the Madrid life but at the same time you are not disturbed by the noise this very life produces.

Best Western is still on of the best, do not doubt it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Olice H
Let me first of all thank you for sharing your comments with the community and your loyalty to our brand.
It's great to know you enjoyed your stay with us and our unbeatable location despite the small tirbutes we have to pay for beeing located in a historical building date in 1904!
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights at the beginning of October 2012. The location cannot be faulted...short walk to the Metro and Puerta del Sol. Great atmosphere at night when out wandering in the locality, feels safe and felt relaxed to walk around, although obviously as in all touristy places, it's advisable to have your wits about you.

Our room was fine and clean enough. Bed was fine although a little hard for our tastes. Didn't have the breakfast as preferred to be out and about trying different breakfasts. Also didn't have a drink in the bar although did pop our head round the door and it looked like a great place to while away a couple of hours - we just didn't have time to fit it in! The hotel shuttle to the airport seemed easy enough to organise and was reasonable at 10 euros (I think). However, as the metro was so close and we actually enjoy the experience of riding the Metro and soaking up the atmosphere, we opted for this instead at 5 euros. The Metro is easy to navigate and is clean and hassle free. The only issue we had was when someone in the next carriage had his wallet stolen by the person next to him and pulled the emergency cord. This caused quite a commotion but all was fine and it served as a reminder to have a close eye on valubles at all times, as in all cities. Most people seemed quite shocked as this was unfolding so I am not sure how common such instances are.

The staff were efficient and helpful when we left our luggage for a couple of hours when we were checking out. The maid service couldn't be faulted. The free wireless was an important aspect of us booking the hotel and this worked absolutely fine to assist us in planning sightseeing. The bathroom was ok - clean enough. Plenty of mirrors, hairdryer etc. Shower was fine.

The tv seemed very high up on the wall to watch comfortably although our grasp of the Spanish language is somewhat limited and the only English language channel available was CNN. Given that we were out for most of the day and night, this really didn't impact on us.

We had a window that opened but this was onto the air -conditioning units which were really noisy so we hardly opened the window at all. Ideally, we would have preferred a better view.

We had 3 nights in this hotel and this was probably optimum. I wouldn't have wanted to stay much longer. It was fine and decent enough value for money. We chose the hotel on location and value for money and it lived up to this. The location was excellent and rate was reasonable but if I was to select again I would probably pay a bit more for a bit of luxury and a street view rather than air conditioning units.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancsLass76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear LancsLass76
Let me first of all thank you for sharing your comments with the community.
It's great to know you enjoyed our central location allthough you had no time to take advantage of our happy hour at our bar! I just wish you have it in case you decide to give us another opportunity to serve you.
If so, please do not hesitate to ask for a standard room at the from, with street view, or if you are willing to upgrade and pay a bit more you can book one of our rooms at the top floor with a large terrace with nice views to the rooftops of all Madrid.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We spent 3 nights here. The pluses include an unbeatable location and a lovely lounge and bar where Happy Hour and breakfast are served. We were in the back and had no street noise or view. The hotel is very clean. The hotel shuttle to the airport is about half the cost of a taxi so consider that when you visit.

The minuses are that our room had a musty smell. Even though the hotel was sold out, they did show us another room, but it reeked of cigarette smoke so we rejected it. We had to keep our window open at all times to bring in fresh air. I am sensitive to cigarette smells and I figured out that this room had been heavily smoked in before and when they repainted, etc., they couldn't remove the smell. If you left the room shut up, it smelled when you came back. Spain is still a country with many smokers, and they can't control what people do in their rooms. They could post that a violation of the No Smoking law would result in a fine at checkout. We didn't encounter this problem anywhere else in Spain.

Another small complaint is that they charge a small fee to get the key for the safe. We travel widely and have never encountered this before.

The tub/shower is narrow so you can't bend your elbows without hitting the door and wall. The bath was large but lacking in counter space. Another irritaiion was that none of the doors would stay open. The bathroom door and the built-in closet door had to braced to allow air into the bath or to access your clothes in the closet.

There is so much to do in Madrid. It's a beautiful city with great food and vitality. We saw a flamenco show at Las Carboneras which was outstanding. The service there was efficient and unobtrusive. You can have dinner there too. It's a nice stroll from the hotel and just past Mercado de San Miguel. The Mercado is a lively place with all kinds of food and drink. It's definitely an "in" spot to mingle with the locals. Enjoy your trip to Madrid!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saavytraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Saavytraveler44
Thank you for sharing your comments with the community, by telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.
We are trying to fight people smoking in not allowed spaces, it is a hard task and not allways easy to fullfill. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience found in your room. It's great to know you found this and others trade offs to saty with us, Thank you :)
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I don't mind paying for a decent room with bath, but a shower so small you can not turn around is is not my idea of a decent room and bath... staff was very courteous, spoke english without a problem, I did not have the breakfast or the happy hour they offer every evening, so I can not comment on them. Maid service was excellent, but sorry, for what this hotel charges I should have been able to turn around in my shower without running into the controls for the shower

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulr147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear paulr147
Let me first of all thank you for your feedback, by telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.
I would like to apologize for the uncomfortableness you found in your room shower, please do not forget to ask for a room with a bathtub in case you decide to give us another opportunity to serve you.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel with a group of friends at the end of September. The location was great - just a short walk to the nearest Metro station and to Puerta del Sol, the centre of Spain! VERY friendly and helpful staff, we were particularly indebted to the saff member who reccommended us to go to a great restaurant nearby 'La Barraca'.
Rooms were functional and clean, there was a little noise at the front of the hotel, only to be expected in the centre of Madrid though.
Nice little bar on the 1st floor where we would have our first drink of the evening before heading out to 'hit the town'. Breakfast was also served here, but we always ate out.
The hotel can arrange a minibus connection to Barajas Airport and a very reasonable rate.
Perfect!

Room Tip: Back of the hotel may be better if you're a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zippyzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Zippyzoe
Thank you for sharing your comments with the community. We love to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Did you arrive in time for our bar's happy hour? If not, plesase do not forget it for your next time in Madrid :)
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was a great place in the center part of the city for walking in all directions. We would definitely stay here again. Breakfast was wonderful each morning. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Beds were firm and perfect for sleeping. We asked for a quiet room and were very happy with the one that we received.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Semp65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwcarlosv, Director General at BEST WESTERN Carlos V, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Semp65
Thank for sharing your comments wuth the community and your recommendation. It will be great to receive you back home your next time in Madrid.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Malasana
BEST WESTERN Hotel Los Condes
Centro
Petit Palace Londres
Petit Palace Londres
#123 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Centro
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#37 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Liabeny
Hotel Liabeny
#49 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,753 reviews
Centro
Hotel II Castillas
Hotel II Castillas
#95 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Centro
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#87 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Carlos V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carlos V

Property: BEST WESTERN Carlos V
Address: Calle Maestro Victoria 5, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Family Hotel in Madrid
#138 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Carlos V 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carlos V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carlos v Hotel Madrid
Best Western Hotel Madrid
Best Western Madrid
Madrid Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing