We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,750)
Filter reviews
1,750 results
Traveler rating
552
676
300
135
87
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
552
676
300
135
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location rooftop pool stayed at the catalonia central location within walking distance air con good size art galleries reception desk busy street superior room mini bar breakfast buffet plaza mayor long weekend main attractions metro stop
Filter
Updating list...
358 - 363 of 1,750 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2015

Check in was a bit sluggish but nothing major. Staff very welcoming and efficient - our request for an extra bed in one of our rooms had been heeded.

Rooms well appointed with good (and quiet) air-con, spacious and very clean. Free wi-fi, safe deposit box etc.

Very good location - between the Calle Montera and the Plaza de Cibeles, within easy reach of more bars and restaurants that you could shake a stick at!

Only criticisms (and I'm nit-picking here) are that the hotel is a bit bland i.e. you could be anywhere in the world and that the (very pleasant) bar closes on the dot of midnight.

Overal verdict - very good hotel, excellent staff. Recommended.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2016
Google Translation

Apreciado Frankie, gracias por recomendar nuestro Hotel. Me alegro que tu estancia fuera satisfactoria y disfrutaras de tu viaje a Madrid. Esperamos volver a verte pronto. Te envío un cordial saludo hasta Dungannon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2015 via mobile

My boyfriend and I have just been on a 3 night city break and we stayed in a junior suite. One word WOW. The suite was amazing and included a terrace and large plunge pool. It was a sun trap and was roasting out there most of the day. Check in was very quick and easy and the lovely staff behind the desk speak good English. We opted for the buffet breakfast which was delicious and you can eat as much as you like. We also took advantage of a delivery from Telepizza who deliver direct to your room and the bill is added onto your hotel bill. The only very minor things that could do with upgrading are some of the door surrounds and one of the rails to come out of the plunge pool was a bit wobbly. Nothing that affected our stay but could be fixed easily. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We just called reception whenever we needed anything and our room was cleaned daily. Big thank you to Catalonia Gran Via for making our stay fantastic. Please don't listen to the bad reviews and try for yourself.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank Jennyha1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2016
Google Translation

Apreciada Jenny, muchas gracias por tus excelentes comentarios del hotel. Me alegra que tanto tú como tu novio disfrutarais de nuestra Suite junior con terraza y mini piscina y que todo el personal del hotel os hiciera sentir como en casa. Espero que podáis volver a visitarnos pronto; hasta entonces te envío un cordial saludo hasta Glasgow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2015

I stayed here for four nights in August 2015. Admittedly, the check-in process lasted a bit too long but the multi-lingual staff were very attentive and as the hotel was not full, I was upgraded to a room with a balcony on the top floor at no extra cost! Although quite small, the room was very clean and had every facility I needed. The TV, safe, fridge and air con all worked very well. Although it is right on the Gran Via, about the best location you could wish for, it was relatively quiet and I slept really well.
Ok, the pool is an over-sized Jacuzzi, but the roof-top area is a great facility and you can catch some rays until about 6 p.m.!
This was booked through Booking.com and the option to cancel up to 48 hours beforehand was a comfort,
though I am glad I didn't change my mind!

Room tip: Ask for a room on the top floor
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank maccwosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2016
Google Translation

Apreciado Huésped, muchas gracias por tus excelentes comentarios y puntuación del hotel. Me alegro que tu estancia fuera tan satisfactoria y que disfrutaras de nuestra piscina del ático. Espero poder volver a recibirte en futuras visitas a Madrid. Te envío un cordial saludo hasta Macclesfield.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2015

Everything OK really - nice for my business trip but not for a holiday. The staff were patient and showed me three rooms before I was satisfied. It was just my taste really and it was brilliant cooling off in the plunge pool after a long work day. Great views from the plunge pool terrace. Would have used the spa if I had had more time. Great tapas bar opposite! 5 mins from a brilliant shopping district.

Room tip: Rooms at front noisy as on main road, but you get a a view and it is double insulated
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Maha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2016
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por tus comentarios acerca del hotel y de nuestro personal, me alegra que pudiéramos identificar tus necesidades para que tu estancia fuera tan satisfactoria y que disfrutaras de nuestra piscina del ático. Esperamos que vuelvas a visitarnos. Un abrazo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2015

excellent location.friendly staff.very efficient at reception.knowledgeable staff.very very nice breakfast.rooms are clean and well maintained.having a swiming pool is added advantage.service was excellent.experienced no difficulties.all speak fluent english

Room tip: my room was very good wth efficient air condition and no noise from outside
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mrityunjoy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2016
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por tu excelentes comentarios del hotel. Para el personal que formamos parte de este equipo es muy motivante recibir comentarios como el tuyo, gracias de nuevo. Espero poder volver a recibirte pronto. Un fuerte abrazo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews