We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Catalonia Gran Via

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Catalonia Gran Via
Ranked #170 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have just spent 3 days in the Catalonia Gran Via Hotel. Before we went to Madrid, I spent many hours reading reviews of all the central hotels there. The reviews on Trip advisor are accurate. We had a room on the second floor with a balcony and view of Gran Via. It was a superior room with a huge bed which was incredibly comfortable. The room was very spacious, big bathroom and 2 big french doors onto the balcony. There is street noise from the traffic but there are 2 sets of glass doors to keep out the noise. As you are in the heart of Madrid then you would expect to hear the noise of a capital city, it won't disturb your sleep though because the bed is so comfortable. Nice touches included a fresh bowl of fruit and bottle of water on arrival, good free wifi and very friendly, smiling staff. The TV in the room is Canal+. There are a couple of movie channels in English which makes a nice change from just having the usual international news channels. The others are Spanish with a couple of French, German and Russian programmes. The location of Catalonia Gran Via is fantastic. Madrid is easy to get around on foot but there are plenty of taxis right on the doorstep as well as the metro and buses. Gran Via is really close to Chueca so you can be in a very fun part of town eating great tapas within 2 minutes of walking out of the door. The Prado is 10 minutes max by foot. The shops of Gran Via again are very close, Zara, El Corte Ingles etc, etc all within 5 minutes. The decor of the hotel is a little dark if I am going to fault anything. When you get to your room the doors look as though they are part of some rather dated panelling which is a little odd and the rooms are in shades of brown with wooden floors. They are as you see them on the photos if a little more worn and the lighting a little darker but that would be my only gripe. In the basement is a steam and sauna with showers - nice to warm up in after a cold walk around Madrid and there is a roof top pool for the summer. We saw many other hotels ( similar standard/price bracket) while walking around the centre but Catalonia has a nice reception area with a cafe overlooking the street which looks a little more welcoming. We would definitely stay here again - you can't beat the location, great staff which does make a huge difference, very comfortable bed and a generous size room - oh yes and Madrid, what a fantastic city. Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Our staff would like to thank you for your praise and for taking the time out to write such a pleasant review about your experience with us. Here at the Catalonia Gran Vía we strive to make sure every guest leaves with a smile on their face. Thank you again for spending time with us and we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    492
    220
    91
    52
See reviews for
211
458
68
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Hi ,
Me and my girl took 3 nights in a room with view to gran via street.
The room was great but the air condition wasn't good. The personal staff was very nice . The breakfast is ok for meat lovers but not so much for veggies .
The location is amazing ( line 5 )
I will give 5 stars cause this is really value for money hotel

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel, we would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to mention us on trip advisor. We are pleased to know you found our cupboard very convenient during your stay. Our goal is to make sure all of our guests consider us a home away from home. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Our tour guide described this as a "business" type hotel but we found it suitable to all our non-business needs. Conveniently located the property is near many stores & restaurants. The rooms are nicely appointed but the maze of hallways to get to them can be very confusing. That being the only negative we could think of, we would recommend it for anyone wishing to overnight in Madrid.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BabciH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Our staff would like to thank you for your praise and for taking the time out to write such a pleasant review about your experience with us. Here at the Catalonia Gran Vía we strive to make sure every guest leaves with a smile on their face. Thank you again for spending time with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

This could be a really first class Hotel, great location, good size rooms, very friendly staff, we stayed for four nights as part of a tour of the area, The downside, the Air-con goes off at the end of September which left us in a very hot, airless room early in October.
Several areas such as the Bar were understaffed, leaving the very hardworking staff struggling to cope at busy times.
The breakfast buffet, very good quality food, but also very hard to get a seat at busy times.
All in all, I would stay again without question when in Madrid.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank FrankJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Frank: Thank you for your kind and thoughtful review here on Tripadvisor. The Staff at the Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel are pleased and grateful for your praise. We appreciate your business and it was our pleasure to serve you. We note your feedback to improve the service on the food and beverage department.We hope to see you again soon. Until then Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here after 4 nights in Ibiza, so was very keen to relax and enjoy a comfortable room, whilst still making the most of what Madrid has to offer. Catalonia Gran Via did not disappoint. It's in a great location, the WiFi was fast, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was one of the best I had during my entire trip in Europe. I had a window room on level 1, and while there was quite a bit of noise from the street, the double windows insulated me enough from it to allow me (a very light sleeper) to sleep peacefully. Friendly staff on the front desk.

Out of the 3 hotels I stayed in during this trip, this was not only the best but also the cheapest! I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a window facing gran via.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dylan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We offer our most hearty greetings to you and yours. Thanks for taking a moment to write us a review on Tripadvisor.com. We are glad to have served a happy traveler such as yourself, and hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Thanks again and happy travels to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

I entered this hotel with trepidation having read another review about bedbugs. I did not see any evidence of bugs of any sort and certainly did not get bitten. Do ask for an exterior room with a window. The rooms are small but nice. They have fridges. The TVs are new and get english stations. The wifi is free and it works. There is a grocery store and restaurants nearby. The biggest bonus about the hotel is the location. Everything you would want to see is nearby: the palace, the Prado, etc. Please note that the Prado is free weeknights from 6 to 8 p.m. and the Reina Sofia is free from 7 to 9 p.m.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jubliladaviajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
It was our pleasure to have delighted you with our service. Thank you for choosing to our hotel, as we know your choices in Madrid are many. We would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to tell others around the globe about your experiences with us. Good news travels fast and we are sure that your words will echo loudly with many future travelers. For this and your business, we thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We chose this hotel based on previous reviews and guidance from the travel agent.

It does have a great location, just a couple of minutes walk from the metro and it's very central for the city centre.

What was disappointing was the gym which was 5 pieces of kit and the swimming pool which was like a big bath tub.

I like to work out when I am away and this was very difficult to do.

Breakfast food was very good and would recommend you have breakfast here but it is a bit of a free for all so go early around 7/7.30am or later around 10am, it is open until 11am so plenty of time to enjoy.

The receptionist Yurana was very pleasant and her English is good. Always willing to help which is what you want from staff. Restaurant staff dint even talk to me once! Too busy clearing tables, topping up the breakfast bar and prepping food back of house.

Bedrooms were clean but a little dated and our room looked onto the inside of the building which made the room feel very dark, view was horrible. For a 1 night stay it's okay but not when you are here for 4 nights.

If you can afford to spend a little more, find a better hotel but for a short stay it was okay.

Room Tip: Take a room at the front of the building, ask on checkin or in advance of your booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gmfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your review here on Tripadvisor. The Staff at the Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel are pleased and grateful for your praise, in special Yurena. We appreciate your business and it was our pleasure to serve you. We hope to see you again soon. Until then Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Centro
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Centro
Emperador Hotel Madrid
Emperador Hotel Madrid
#140 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
H10 Villa de la Reina Boutique Hotel
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
Vincci The Mint
Vincci The Mint
#19 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Gran Via

Property: Catalonia Gran Via
Address: Calle Gran Via 7-9 | Old Quarter, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Gaudi)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#115 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Gran Via 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This emblematic Hotel in the Gran Via of Madrid is strategically located in the heart of the city, a few meters from the Plaza de Cibeles and Puerta del Sol. The hotel is composed by two buildings of great architectural value that are from the early twentieth century and are also very close to the Prado Museum and the Thyssen Gallery, allowing maximum enjoyment of the cultural offer of Madrid. In addition, the hotel offers its guests a fantastic restaurant called "La Pedrera", a gourmet corner-bar and 4 meeting rooms for all kinds of events, and some free services such as free Wi-Fi high speed internet, Business Corner, Spa & Fitness Center and terrace on the sixth floor with a heated water area overlooking Gran Via. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Gran Via Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Gaudi Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Gaudi Madrid
Hotel Gaudi Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing