We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Madrid Trip”
Review of Catalonia Gran Via

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Catalonia Gran Via
Ranked #198 of 441 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel is on the main street near all the action. A short walk gets you to the 'street of the ladies" where you get a look at the real Madrid. Very crowded in Madrid and the street are packed. The restroom was a bit small but it worked out. Breakfast was very good, a solid start to the day.

Room Tip: The elevators are very small, only room for 4 people... without luggage. Lots of good places to eat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CSCTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for your kind and thoughtful review here on Tripadvisor. The Staff at the Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel are pleased and grateful for your praise. We hope to see you again soon. Until then Happy Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

410 - 416 of 1,525 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel is a an older hotel with just so-so amenities. The breakfast was included and every morning was free-for-all with people trying to get coffee. The breakfast fare was just ok. The location is awesome... it is convenient to many Madrid attractions. But on the flip side there are many other hotels in the area that are maybe more updated with better food. The food was horrible!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tennisgal33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

We offer our most hearty greetings to you and yours. Thanks for taking a moment to write us a review on Tripadvisor.com. We are glad to have served a happy traveler such as yourself, and hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Thanks again and happy travels to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

After seeing some of the negative reviews here I have to say, I sometimes wonder what people expect when they book a hotel room. This lovely old building has heaps of character and is absolutely perfectly situated for nearly all the attractions in Madrid. It is also very close (two blocks) to a metro station, making it a great choice for a central base. The rooms were lovely and large with modern furnishings and ridiculously comfortable beds. It was quiet, even on the Gran Via side of the hotel. Staff were helpful and friendly and I had no problem despite not speaking Spanish. The breakfast buffet selection was wonderful and included in the price of the room. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

The staff at the Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel would like to thank you for your endorsement and for taking the time out to write about us on TripAdvisor.com Service is the key to happy guests and we are glad that you were pleased with what we had to offer. Thank you for sharing your experiences at our hotel with other travelers and we hope to see you again on your next jaunt to Madrid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We left our suitcases with the reception. when we returned we found our luggage missing. The staff took no responsibility for what happened and it was only after we threatened to go to the police that they begrudgingly started to be more helpful. Nevertheless we missed our plane. It turned out they allowed other clients take the bags, which were left at the airport. We had to leave without our luggage. Eventually we did get our suitcases -- but from the lost and found of the airport. The hotel refused to send them to us and so we had to make other arrangements. Between the missed flight and the cost of shipping the bags, the adventure cost us about 500 Euros.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013
Google Translation

Estimada Michel: Siento mucho lo ocurrido con su equipaje y los inconvenientes que eso les pudo ocasionar, pero también lamento mucho la imagen que da usted de nuestro establecimiento y nuestro personal faltando gravemente a la verdad. Primeramente usted indica que su equipaje fue robado; cuando en realidad y como bien sabe, fue transportado al aeropuerto por equivocación del chofer del transfer de otros clientes del hotel, puesto que su equipaje no fue depositado en la consigna del hotel, sino en la puerta del hotel. Me entristece leer que en su opinión nuestro staff no tomó responsabilidad del asunto cuando en realidad tuvieron un trato exquisito para con ustedes ayudándoles en todo momento y finalmente y tras numerosas gestiones tanto con la policía como con el aeropuerto logramos localizar su equipaje al completo en objetos perdidos del aeropuerto sin que faltara ninguna pertenencia. Nos es muy grato ayudar a nuestros clientes con todo aquello que esté en nuestras manos y nos reconforta que todo saliera finalmente bien, lástima que usted no piense lo mismo. Reciba un saludo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

What a hospitable bunch of receptionists ! When I tried my Spanish sounding pleasantries , the pretty girls behind the counter smoothly replied in chaste English to my pleasant surprise ! Not usually the case in many European Hotels ! The street view cost me more Euros but it was definitely worth it . Everything you ever need near your hotel was near-by . The Madrid tour bus stops in front of it and and you can walk to the Prado museum in ten minutes . We did not use the restaurant , except for the complimentary break-fast , which was a good spread . The room was spacious with a clean bathroom and the towels were changed without asking for them . The bar overlooking the Gran Via is well stocked and the bartender was as pretty as she was talkative like any other bartender ! I highly recommend it for every traveller - whether business or for pleasure !

Room Tip: Try the room with balcony and view of Gran Via !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 201PRASAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Our staff would like to thank you for your praise and for taking the time out to write such a pleasant review about your experience with us. Here at the Catalonia Gran Vía we strive to make sure every guest leaves with a smile on their face. Thank you again for spending time with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I booked 3 rooms in this hotel on july 2013, and this was my worst stay ever in Europe.
Although I paid for a 4 stars service, I had to face these problems:
1. All my pre-approved requests (smoking rooms - double bed rooms - rooms on the same floor) were neglected, without any apology from the management's side, for the only excuse that it's a high season and these were the only vacancies.
2. A/C was not working properly in 2 of the 3 rooms, and they were unable 2 fix it; knowing that summer heat was unbearable in this time of the year.
3. Lousy Internet services.
4. Strong smell of chemical product in the dirty rooms.
5. Water leaking in the bathroom, with no one to fix it.
5. The worst of all is their lack of professionalism, as they could not give us any solutions for the above mentionned problems, and were not decent enough to refund us.

Overall experience is terrible. I Would never go back, and I highly don't recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HebaHalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the less than perfect experience you encountered here at our hotel. We hope that you had a moment to review some of our reviews shared by some of our many visitors, and noticed that we strive to provide exemplary accommodations to all of our guests, and their satisfaction is an imperative piece to our success as a hotel. Although we were not granted the opportunity to address your concerns prior to your departure, please know that we have taken your comments into consideration, and have taken all necessary measures to ensure we do not run into a similar experience with any of our future guests. Thank you again for your patronage and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had a real bargain at this place through agodo (40 euros per room) so for us, this hotel was a real steal. The service was good, no problems with checking in. The rooms were spotless, modern and comfortable. TV with lots of channels in lots of languages! Bathroom was clean, nice bath and shower, huge towels! The location really was excellent, 100 metres or so from Gran Via metro and within walking distance to parks, galleries, squares etc. The pool really is small, and in August it was a little crowded but we didn't really have any problems with this - we enjoyed the occasional dip and spent most of our time exploring Madrid anyway.

Our only problem was that the hotel advertised airport transfers and when I asked the receptionist I was told bluntly to go on the bus. This may have been a problem of just the agodo website we used. Anyway, we found the bus station easily and paid 5 euros to get to the airport.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Alison: We offer our most hearty greetings to you and yours. Thanks for taking a moment to write us a review on Tripadvisor.com. We are glad to have served a happy traveler such as yourself, and hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Thanks again and happy travels to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Iberostar Las Letras
Iberostar Las Letras
#43 of 441 in Madrid
1,686 reviews
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Chueca
H10 Villa de la Reina Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Vincci The Mint
Vincci The Mint
#19 of 441 in Madrid
683 reviews
Centro
Emperador Hotel Madrid
Emperador Hotel Madrid
#146 of 441 in Madrid
2,350 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Gran Via

Address: Calle Gran Via 7-9 | Old Quarter, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Gaudi)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#139 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $106 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Gran Via 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This emblematic Hotel in the Gran Via of Madrid is strategically located in the heart of the city, a few meters from the Plaza de Cibeles and Puerta del Sol. The hotel is composed by two buildings of great architectural value that are from the early twentieth century and are also very close to the Prado Museum and the Thyssen Gallery, allowing maximum enjoyment of the cultural offer of Madrid. In addition, the hotel offers its guests a fantastic restaurant called "La Pedrera", a gourmet corner-bar and 4 meeting rooms for all kinds of events, and some free services such as free Wi-Fi high speed internet, Business Corner, Spa & Fitness Center and terrace on the sixth floor with a heated water area overlooking Gran Via. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Catalonia Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Gran Via Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Gaudi Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Gaudi Madrid
Hotel Gaudi Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing