We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel , Great location”
Review of Catalonia Gran Via

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Gran Via
Ranked #173 of 435 Hotels in Madrid
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great hotel , Great location”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in ideally placed in Madrid and reception was very welcoming when we arrived. All staff managed to communicate reasonably well in English ( those people complaining that people in other countries don't speak good English should maybe consider making the effort to learn the language of the country you visit!!) the room was clean and spacious enough for its purpose. Cleaned daily. Wifi in the room was excellent which is unusual ,usually it's only in hotel lobby's. The hotel has a small gym including sauna and jacuzzi free to guests as well as as all swimming pool on the roof. You do have to pay for the safe but that is returned when you check out. We ate in the restuarant one evening and the meal was delightful as well as the service from the waitor. The tourist hop on hop off bus stops directly opposite the hotel and this bus will take you to or near most places of interest. We found this service very useful and highly recommend it! Overall this hotel provides a very good service and I would recommend it highly to anyone visiting Madrid.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Nikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel, we would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to mention us on trip advisor. We are pleased to know you found our cupboard very convenient during your stay. Our goal is to make sure all of our guests consider us a home away from home. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    524
    232
    98
    60
See reviews for
231
488
74
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MALTA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel is bang in the middle of Madrid's busy shopping thoroughfare, just a few metres away from Gran Via metro station. All of Madrid's tourist sights are within walking distance. The hotel has a welcoming lobby and the staff at the reception desk is quite cordial. They did their best to communicate in English (most of the Spanish people we met, even those who earn their living from tourism, barely understood English and found it very difficult to speak it at all). On the minus side, only one person is ever present at the reception desk at any one time, even when the counter gets busy with patrons checking in/out. The room we got was quite spacious (nothing out of the ordinary, but you would expect it from a centrally located hotel). We had specified in an email prior to our arrival that we preferred a double bed instead of two singles and our wish was granted. The room overlooked Gran Via itself, but contrary to our fears we slept quite soundly despite the traffic that traverses the street day and night. The double windows eliminated the sound almost completely, barring the occasional ambulance / police car siren. Although the rooms have parquet flooring instead of fitted carpets, ours felt very cosy - the heat from the air-conditioner was, in fact, sometimes too much for our liking that we had to switch it off. The bathroom (like the corridors leading to the rooms) is quite dated and would do with a revamp, but the power shower was awesome and would literally scrub away the tiredness after a long day out! There were no tea/coffee-making facilities in the room but the mini-bar was well-stocked. Wi-fi in the room is free and the speed was very good (we were positively surprised in fact, as wi-fi service in most hotels is good in the lobby but not in the rooms themselves). Breakfast was super. We found a wide choice of food on the buffett tables with a Mediterranean touch. The breakfast room itself is airy and flushed in day light - very refreshing in contrast to the cramped and dated hotel corridors. All in all we had a pleasant 3-day stay and would definitely recommend this hotel. Overall it is good value for money considering the central location. With small touches to update its appearance, it would be even more.

Room Tip: When booking a double room specify what type of bed (double/ two singles) you require. The staff wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaltaBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We offer our most hearty greetings to you and yours. Thanks for taking a moment to write us a review on Tripadvisor.com. We are glad to have served a happy traveler such as yourself, and hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Thanks again and happy travels to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Nice hotel, good position with lots of attractions within walking distance. Friendly and helpful staff. Baggage room to leave luggage if you arrive before your room is ready and if your flight is quite late when you leave. Good breakfast for 10 euros, comfortable clean room with plenty of hot water. Would stay there again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Patricia326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Our staff would like to thank you for your praise and for taking the time out to write such a pleasant review about your experience with us. Here at the Catalonia Gran Vía we strive to make sure every guest leaves with a smile on their face. Thank you again for spending time with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Very good location at Gran Via. Shopping, dining, hop-on/off tour bus across the street. 5 mins to Sol city centre. Our room (411) was spacious. Bathroom was a bit tight in one area because of the bidet. Good room amenities. Fast (free) internet. Staff are professional and attentive. Breakfast buffet for EU10 is a bargain, good selection. We'll stay here again. One negative thing, the maid cleaned the room even if we put the DND (do not disturb) sign at the door.

Room Tip: Rm 411, not street view hence very quiet even when we open the window fro fresh air. Room has 2nd do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
It was our pleasure to have delighted you with our service. Thank you for choosing to our hotel, as we know your choices in Madrid are many. We would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to tell others around the globe about your experiences with us. Good news travels fast and we are sure that your words will echo loudly with many future travelers. For this and your business, we thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We booked 2 rooms for 3 nights without breakfast, the prices were really good compared to "Catalonia Plaza Cataluña" in Barcelona, but much less quality of furniture and no good view for both rooms.
One of the rooms was really small for a double room.

I don't recommend this hotel, and not planning to stay in it again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghada1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Good day and thank you for your review of the Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel. The staff of the Hotel aims for excellence with every stay and every guest. We are sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations and we hope to one day be able to impress upon you a more positive experience. Have a great day and we wish you happy travels wherever you may be headed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Centro
Emperador Hotel Madrid
Emperador Hotel Madrid
#146 of 435 in Madrid
2,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Dear Hotel Madrid
Dear Hotel Madrid
#113 of 435 in Madrid
1,295 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#18 of 435 in Madrid
1,910 reviews
Huertas
Radisson Blu Hotel, Madrid Prado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Gran Via

Property: Catalonia Gran Via
Address: Calle Gran Via 7-9 | Old Quarter, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Gaudi)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#120 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Gran Via 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This emblematic Hotel in the Gran Via of Madrid is strategically located in the heart of the city, a few meters from the Plaza de Cibeles and Puerta del Sol. The hotel is composed by two buildings of great architectural value that are from the early twentieth century and are also very close to the Prado Museum and the Thyssen Gallery, allowing maximum enjoyment of the cultural offer of Madrid. In addition, the hotel offers its guests a fantastic restaurant called "La Pedrera", a gourmet corner-bar and 4 meeting rooms for all kinds of events, and some free services such as free Wi-Fi high speed internet, Business Corner, Spa & Fitness Center and terrace on the sixth floor with a heated water area overlooking Gran Via. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Gran Via Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Gaudi Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Gaudi Madrid
Hotel Gaudi Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing