We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catalonia Gran Via

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Catalonia Gran Via
Ranked #169 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed here for a few days at the end of November. The location was pretty decent for us, and the service was adequate. We found that the hotel room was nice enough for us, nothing fancy (we were only staying in a standard room category). The one problem we had was that (it being quite cold during our stay) we could not control the temperature in our room. The heat would not turn off, so it was boiling each time we came back to the room. We opened the window to cool it off and it was fine, no complaints. Breakfast in the morning was great and the front desk gave us some pretty good tips on places to visit and how to get around. It was very good for the few days we were there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Our staff would like to thank you for your praise and for taking the time out to write such a pleasant review about your experience with us. Here at the Catalonia Gran Vía we strive to make sure every guest leaves with a smile on their face. Thank you again for spending time with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    485
    216
    89
    51
See reviews for
205
452
68
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Overall, a good hotel. Very quiet, as the room had double doors and a double windows. I did not hear any noises from outside or from adjacent rooms, as one often does in Madrid. Breakfast buffet was nice, with quite a variety of items, from Spanish tortilla and cold cuts to fruit and pastries. My only complaint (as a traveler who was there to attend a conference and to work) was that the internet was constantly down--and was very slow, when it was working. The desk staff would have to reboot the system, after which it would work for a short period of time, then stop working again. This continued throughout my 6-day stay. I would not stay at the hotel again just for the lack of reliable internet access.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intltraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback as it offers us the opportunity to address deficiencies. In regard to your comment about the free wifi service provided by the hotel initially wanted to convey my sincere apologies for the connection problems during your stay. We treated the problem with the company that supplies the signal to us and they detected a problem in their network. The problem was already solved and the wifi signal arrives normally, so if we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel, i am sure yo will enjoy a proper connection. I also take the opportunity to thank you for the other comments about the hotel that made your stay was satisfactory. Kindest regards from Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindome, Hallands Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here for a little get away for 3 days and it was very nice.
It had all what i expect from a 4 star hotell, except for the English language which seemed to have been put on one person only.
The location of this hotel is very nice as well. Gran via is a main street in Madrid and to the Puerta del Sol it took less than 5 minutes to walk and all the restaurants where here.

We asked for a room away from the street which was no problem.

Room Tip: Choose a room away form the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TBoneLindberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
It was our pleasure to have delighted you with our service. Thank you for choosing to our hotel, as we know your choices in Madrid are many. We would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to tell others around the globe about your experiences with us. Good news travels fast and we are sure that your words will echo loudly with many future travelers. For this and your business, we thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I went there with my friends two weeks ago, stayed for 4 nights, the hotel has a good location, the rooms are spacious, but it's overrated for a 4 stars hotel, it's definitely a 3 stars one, however one of the receptionist's was very rude and if we were asking her something she never knew anything, plus the rooms were not really cleaned. From what we saw the hotel is more for seniors cause we were the only young people over there, i wouldn't recommend it to anyone, there are plenty other nicer hotels in the area

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliceAndrusca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Good day and thank you for your review of the Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel. The staff of the Hotel aims for excellence with every stay and every guest. We are sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations and we hope to one day be able to impress upon you a more positive experience. Have a great day and we wish you happy travels wherever you may be headed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We needed a room to stay for one night in Madrid before heading out to a wedding elsewhere in Madrid and choose this due to it's great location, good value and it's sauna/hot tub facilities.
The reception and bar staff were very friendly, the bedroom had a full length mirror with above light, the bed was more than 5" 5' wide and there was a jacuzzi bath in the bedroom! The gym and spa facilities were small but adequate, everything you needed for a quick work out and a relax! And relaxing it was!
The pool on the roof was rather small, the picture on the website was deceiving but this was still a nice facility to have after a hard days shopping and eating in central Madrid.
We didn't get to sight-see as much as we would have liked on our brief trip but are thinking of returning and will book this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank im_just_laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Our staff would like to thank you for your praise and for taking the time out to write such a pleasant review about your experience with us. Here at the Catalonia Gran Vía we strive to make sure every guest leaves with a smile on their face. Thank you again for spending time with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay in this very nice hotel, was on a stag weekend so had a twin room on the 5th floor....not a massive room, big enough so that we didn`t get under each others feet so to speak ,but a Huge bathroom, which i thought a little odd.....as well as the usuall bathroom facilities it had a massive walk in shower (great for the morning after the night before!!!!) and a bath with shower!!.
The buffett breakfast was fine with a good selection of hot and cold food.

All in all a very nice Hotel in a lovely city

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We offer our most hearty greetings to you and yours. Thanks for taking a moment to write us a review on Tripadvisor.com. We are glad to have served a happy traveler such as yourself, and hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Thanks again and happy travels to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I have stayed here 3 times and it is a good, comfortable, central hotel in Madrid. The rooms are spacious and the facilities are good. There are several good bars, restaurants etc. nearby and it is only a short walk to the main plazas

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Gran Via have good views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianPuddephatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Our staff would like to thank you for your praise and for taking the time out to write such a pleasant review about your experience with us. Here at the Catalonia Gran Vía we strive to make sure every guest leaves with a smile on their face. Thank you again for spending time with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Centro
Emperador Hotel Madrid
Emperador Hotel Madrid
#148 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
H10 Villa de la Reina Boutique Hotel
Chueca
Vincci The Mint
Vincci The Mint
#20 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Catalonia Goya
Catalonia Goya
#123 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Gran Via

Property: Catalonia Gran Via
Address: Calle Gran Via 7-9 | Old Quarter, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Gaudi)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#116 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Gran Via 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This emblematic Hotel in the Gran Via of Madrid is strategically located in the heart of the city, a few meters from the Plaza de Cibeles and Puerta del Sol. The hotel is composed by two buildings of great architectural value that are from the early twentieth century and are also very close to the Prado Museum and the Thyssen Gallery, allowing maximum enjoyment of the cultural offer of Madrid. In addition, the hotel offers its guests a fantastic restaurant called "La Pedrera", a gourmet corner-bar and 4 meeting rooms for all kinds of events, and some free services such as free Wi-Fi high speed internet, Business Corner, Spa & Fitness Center and terrace on the sixth floor with a heated water area overlooking Gran Via. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Catalonia Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Gran Via Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Gaudi Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Gaudi Madrid
Hotel Gaudi Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing