We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely luxury for a reasonable price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catalonia Gran Via

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Catalonia Gran Via
Ranked #171 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely luxury for a reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We needed a room to stay for one night in Madrid before heading out to a wedding elsewhere in Madrid and choose this due to it's great location, good value and it's sauna/hot tub facilities.
The reception and bar staff were very friendly, the bedroom had a full length mirror with above light, the bed was more than 5" 5' wide and there was a jacuzzi bath in the bedroom! The gym and spa facilities were small but adequate, everything you needed for a quick work out and a relax! And relaxing it was!
The pool on the roof was rather small, the picture on the website was deceiving but this was still a nice facility to have after a hard days shopping and eating in central Madrid.
We didn't get to sight-see as much as we would have liked on our brief trip but are thinking of returning and will book this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank im_just_laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Our staff would like to thank you for your praise and for taking the time out to write such a pleasant review about your experience with us. Here at the Catalonia Gran Vía we strive to make sure every guest leaves with a smile on their face. Thank you again for spending time with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    485
    215
    89
    51
See reviews for
205
452
68
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay in this very nice hotel, was on a stag weekend so had a twin room on the 5th floor....not a massive room, big enough so that we didn`t get under each others feet so to speak ,but a Huge bathroom, which i thought a little odd.....as well as the usuall bathroom facilities it had a massive walk in shower (great for the morning after the night before!!!!) and a bath with shower!!.
The buffett breakfast was fine with a good selection of hot and cold food.

All in all a very nice Hotel in a lovely city

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We offer our most hearty greetings to you and yours. Thanks for taking a moment to write us a review on Tripadvisor.com. We are glad to have served a happy traveler such as yourself, and hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Thanks again and happy travels to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I have stayed here 3 times and it is a good, comfortable, central hotel in Madrid. The rooms are spacious and the facilities are good. There are several good bars, restaurants etc. nearby and it is only a short walk to the main plazas

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Gran Via have good views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianPuddephatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Our staff would like to thank you for your praise and for taking the time out to write such a pleasant review about your experience with us. Here at the Catalonia Gran Vía we strive to make sure every guest leaves with a smile on their face. Thank you again for spending time with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west england
Level Contributor
365 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We hadn't planned to stay here but were transferred by the hotel group when it decided it wasnt going to honour our reservation at the Catalonia Las Cortes.

It's situated on a very busy main road and folk may be concerned by possible street noise. However, rooms are triple glazed and the noise was eliminated. You would not want to have yuor window open.

The room was perfectly fine, woth plenty of storage space. As often the case in Spain, there is no kettle or "hospitality tray". I also found the bed a bit soft.

Breakfast is by way of a comprehensive buffet which seemed to touch base with most styles of European breakfast. One morning, it was very busy with a tour group being in and it became a bit of a scrum. Other mornings were more relaxed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
The staff at the Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel would like to thank you for your endorsement and for taking the time out to write about us on TripAdvisor.com Service is the key to happy guests and we are glad that you were pleased with what we had to offer. Thank you for sharing your experiences at our hotel with other travelers and we hope to see you again on your next jaunt to Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in early October. The room is fine; however there was a lot of noise in the hallways during the night. Breakfast was good. My friends are still waiting for the post cards which I gave to the hotel reception along with enough money to mail them. The hotel is very well located--just a couple of blocks to the Prado and to the Plaza del Sol. When we arrived at the Madrid Airport, we took the yellow airport bus to the Plaza de Cibeles for 5 euros and then walked the block or so to the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to stay in room which doesn't face the Gran Via
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LOVENATLPARKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for choosing Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel, we would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to mention us on trip advisor. We are pleased to know you found our cupboard very convenient during your stay. Our goal is to make sure all of our guests consider us a home away from home. We will consider feedback on the corridors in order to solve the problem.Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
99 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Arrived at 11:30 and no porters were available to remove luggage from the bus of 42 people.
Our group waited for 30 minutes in lobby.
Management had to haul luggage which were left in main entrance.
No rooms were ready - we were told to come back after 2PM.
We came back at 4:30 PM and given our room - blue smoke haze of tobacco came out of the room when we opened the door.
We asked to be moved to another room and when we got there the A/C did not work.
We waited 20 minutes and they fixed it quickly but ceiling dirt and plaster all over the floor.
Had to go to reception to get someone to clean as we did not have extra towels.
Bottle of champagne arrived at 6 - we gave it to our tour guide.
Temp in the room never went below 73 degrees.
The room was spacious and nice.
In the shower the curtain was moldy.
Breakfast room was immense but the buffet was single line in one small area.
With three tour groups, it was extremely difficult to have breakfast.
One had to get in line to get fruits and juice, another line to get bread, etc and then another line to get coffee.
Poor serving organization.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicbrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the less than perfect experience you encountered here at our hotel. We hope that you had a moment to review some of our reviews shared by some of our many visitors, and noticed that we strive to provide exemplary accommodations to all of our guests, and their satisfaction is an imperative piece to our success as a hotel. Although we were not granted the opportunity to address your concerns prior to your departure, please know that we have taken your comments into consideration, and have taken all necessary measures to ensure we do not run into a similar experience with any of our future guests. Thank you again for your patronage and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in August.
Excellent location in Madrid, walking distance to many attractions.
Reception was friendly and helpful.
Room was very clean and comfortable.
Breakfast buffet was included and was yummy and plentiful.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for choosing Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel, we would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to mention us on trip advisor. We are pleased to know you found our cupboard very convenient during your stay. Our goal is to make sure all of our guests consider us a home away from home. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Centro
Emperador Hotel Madrid
Emperador Hotel Madrid
#146 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
H10 Villa de la Reina Boutique Hotel
Chueca
Vincci The Mint
Vincci The Mint
#20 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Barrio de Salamanca
Catalonia Goya
Catalonia Goya
#122 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Gran Via

Property: Catalonia Gran Via
Address: Calle Gran Via 7-9 | Old Quarter, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Gaudi)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#117 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Gran Via 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This emblematic Hotel in the Gran Via of Madrid is strategically located in the heart of the city, a few meters from the Plaza de Cibeles and Puerta del Sol. The hotel is composed by two buildings of great architectural value that are from the early twentieth century and are also very close to the Prado Museum and the Thyssen Gallery, allowing maximum enjoyment of the cultural offer of Madrid. In addition, the hotel offers its guests a fantastic restaurant called "La Pedrera", a gourmet corner-bar and 4 meeting rooms for all kinds of events, and some free services such as free Wi-Fi high speed internet, Business Corner, Spa & Fitness Center and terrace on the sixth floor with a heated water area overlooking Gran Via. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Catalonia Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Gran Via Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Gaudi Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Gaudi Madrid
Hotel Gaudi Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing