We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Gran Via
Ranked #198 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay in this very nice hotel, was on a stag weekend so had a twin room on the 5th floor....not a massive room, big enough so that we didn`t get under each others feet so to speak ,but a Huge bathroom, which i thought a little odd.....as well as the usuall bathroom facilities it had a massive walk in shower (great for the morning after the night before!!!!) and a bath with shower!!.
The buffett breakfast was fine with a good selection of hot and cold food.

All in all a very nice Hotel in a lovely city

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

We offer our most hearty greetings to you and yours. Thanks for taking a moment to write us a review on Tripadvisor.com. We are glad to have served a happy traveler such as yourself, and hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Thanks again and happy travels to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

439 - 445 of 1,462 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

I have stayed here 3 times and it is a good, comfortable, central hotel in Madrid. The rooms are spacious and the facilities are good. There are several good bars, restaurants etc. nearby and it is only a short walk to the main plazas

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Gran Via have good views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrianPuddephatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Our staff would like to thank you for your praise and for taking the time out to write such a pleasant review about your experience with us. Here at the Catalonia Gran Vía we strive to make sure every guest leaves with a smile on their face. Thank you again for spending time with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We hadn't planned to stay here but were transferred by the hotel group when it decided it wasnt going to honour our reservation at the Catalonia Las Cortes.

It's situated on a very busy main road and folk may be concerned by possible street noise. However, rooms are triple glazed and the noise was eliminated. You would not want to have yuor window open.

The room was perfectly fine, woth plenty of storage space. As often the case in Spain, there is no kettle or "hospitality tray". I also found the bed a bit soft.

Breakfast is by way of a comprehensive buffet which seemed to touch base with most styles of European breakfast. One morning, it was very busy with a tour group being in and it became a bit of a scrum. Other mornings were more relaxed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

The staff at the Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel would like to thank you for your endorsement and for taking the time out to write about us on TripAdvisor.com Service is the key to happy guests and we are glad that you were pleased with what we had to offer. Thank you for sharing your experiences at our hotel with other travelers and we hope to see you again on your next jaunt to Madrid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in early October. The room is fine; however there was a lot of noise in the hallways during the night. Breakfast was good. My friends are still waiting for the post cards which I gave to the hotel reception along with enough money to mail them. The hotel is very well located--just a couple of blocks to the Prado and to the Plaza del Sol. When we arrived at the Madrid Airport, we took the yellow airport bus to the Plaza de Cibeles for 5 euros and then walked the block or so to the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to stay in room which doesn't face the Gran Via
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOVENATLPARKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for choosing Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel, we would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to mention us on trip advisor. We are pleased to know you found our cupboard very convenient during your stay. Our goal is to make sure all of our guests consider us a home away from home. We will consider feedback on the corridors in order to solve the problem.Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Arrived at 11:30 and no porters were available to remove luggage from the bus of 42 people.
Our group waited for 30 minutes in lobby.
Management had to haul luggage which were left in main entrance.
No rooms were ready - we were told to come back after 2PM.
We came back at 4:30 PM and given our room - blue smoke haze of tobacco came out of the room when we opened the door.
We asked to be moved to another room and when we got there the A/C did not work.
We waited 20 minutes and they fixed it quickly but ceiling dirt and plaster all over the floor.
Had to go to reception to get someone to clean as we did not have extra towels.
Bottle of champagne arrived at 6 - we gave it to our tour guide.
Temp in the room never went below 73 degrees.
The room was spacious and nice.
In the shower the curtain was moldy.
Breakfast room was immense but the buffet was single line in one small area.
With three tour groups, it was extremely difficult to have breakfast.
One had to get in line to get fruits and juice, another line to get bread, etc and then another line to get coffee.
Poor serving organization.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicbrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the less than perfect experience you encountered here at our hotel. We hope that you had a moment to review some of our reviews shared by some of our many visitors, and noticed that we strive to provide exemplary accommodations to all of our guests, and their satisfaction is an imperative piece to our success as a hotel. Although we were not granted the opportunity to address your concerns prior to your departure, please know that we have taken your comments into consideration, and have taken all necessary measures to ensure we do not run into a similar experience with any of our future guests. Thank you again for your patronage and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in August.
Excellent location in Madrid, walking distance to many attractions.
Reception was friendly and helpful.
Room was very clean and comfortable.
Breakfast buffet was included and was yummy and plentiful.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you for choosing Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel, we would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to mention us on trip advisor. We are pleased to know you found our cupboard very convenient during your stay. Our goal is to make sure all of our guests consider us a home away from home. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We got a very good deal on a standard room. The first room we were given was fine except that, overlooking the busy Gran Via street, we found that neither of the double glazed windows shut properly, making it pretty noisy. I contacted reception for a room change and we were immediately offered an alternative interior room which was perfect. Although not a new hotel, the soft furnishings are modern and combine well with the heavy dark wood and marble. The room was very clean and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our one-night stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdr109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

It was our pleasure to have delighted you with our service. Thank you for choosing to our hotel, as we know your choices in Madrid are many. We would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to tell others around the globe about your experiences with us. Good news travels fast and we are sure that your words will echo loudly with many future travelers. For this and your business, we thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Iberostar Las Letras
Iberostar Las Letras
#46 of 440 in Madrid
1,673 reviews
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Chueca
H10 Villa de la Reina Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Emperador Hotel Madrid
Emperador Hotel Madrid
#145 of 440 in Madrid
2,331 reviews
Centro
Gran Melia Palacio de Los Duques
Chueca
Only YOU Boutique Hotel Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Gran Via

Address: Calle Gran Via 7-9 | Old Quarter, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Gaudi)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#139 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $114 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Gran Via 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This emblematic Hotel in the Gran Via of Madrid is strategically located in the heart of the city, a few meters from the Plaza de Cibeles and Puerta del Sol. The hotel is composed by two buildings of great architectural value that are from the early twentieth century and are also very close to the Prado Museum and the Thyssen Gallery, allowing maximum enjoyment of the cultural offer of Madrid. In addition, the hotel offers its guests a fantastic restaurant called "La Pedrera", a gourmet corner-bar and 4 meeting rooms for all kinds of events, and some free services such as free Wi-Fi high speed internet, Business Corner, Spa & Fitness Center and terrace on the sixth floor with a heated water area overlooking Gran Via. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Gran Via Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Gaudi Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Gaudi Madrid
Hotel Gaudi Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing