We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly nice stay”
Review of Catalonia Gran Via

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Catalonia Gran Via
Ranked #197 of 442 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I was in large group of people from different Parliaments worldwide for seminar organized by Congreso de los Diputados, on March this year. We stayed at the Hotel for two weeks and I must say that during that period I felt almost like home, so - everything was great – room, hotel, service, bar, location, even - wine bar opposite of the hotel front door is superb.
The food in the hotel is regular, means ok.

Yes, I have to admit, that Israel's front desk team was great by solving some of my special needs regarding my room.

That hotel is my recommendation!

Room Tip: I prefered the room with Gran Via view possibly on topfloor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilgvares I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Our staff would like to thank you for your praise and for taking the time out to write such a pleasant review about your experience with us. Here at the Catalonia Gran Vía we strive to make sure every guest leaves with a smile on their face. Thank you again for spending time with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

469 - 475 of 1,550 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed here back in July when rooms in Chueca are at a premium. The hotel was reasonably priced, perfectly located, had a friendly staff, and was very clean. My only complaint is that the beds were overly hard Also, as someone else mentioned, the pictures of the rooftop pool are VERY deceiving. It's essentially a hot tub and the space is so small that it only holds 2 lounge chairs. Still, if you know all of that ahead of time, you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hookedonafeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

The staff at the Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel would like to thank you for your endorsement and for taking the time out to write about us on TripAdvisor.com Service is the key to happy guests and we are glad that you were pleased with what we had to offer. Thank you for sharing your experiences at our hotel with other travelers and we hope to see you again on your next jaunt to Madrid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The location is great, this is true. Very central. And the lunches were okay (aside from the restaurant staff not understanding that the vegetarian in our group was not vegan...).

However, if you are planning to have a meeting with this hotel, I would strongly recommend going elsewhere. The conference staff are incredibly disorganized and unhelpful, and were very inflexible with basic changes and/or requests that a normal meeting situation demands. The meeting spaces themselves are small and smelled terrible (ie: at best, dusty and stale, at worst, like an overflowing toilet). Water and coffee were not refreshed throughout the day and we kept running out (although we paid a LOT for this service), and there were a lot of mistakes, delays and confusion overall.

In terms of the hotel rooms, they were average but fine. Good towels. The pool is very small and thus FULL of people and very cloudy water. The pool opening hours were also inconvenient.

All in all, as a place to stay as a tourist, it is average at best. And for business, I would not recommend it at all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Good day and thank you for your review of the Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel. The staff of the Hotel aims for excellence with every stay and every guest. We are sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations and we hope to one day be able to impress upon you a more positive experience. Have a great day and we wish you happy travels wherever you may be headed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights with 8 other girls, good value for money, spacious rooms and good location. The only down side was the pool is more of a hot tub, it was tiny and the picture on their website is an optical illusion! Children playing in the pool were splashing everyone else trying to catch some sun. Would stay there again though, Madrid is a beautiful city.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with others; we are delighted to hear your entire group was impressed with our Hotel. We hope you and your friends visit us again soon; until then safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed for two nights in July. The room was lovely, very large with a great bathroom. The hotel location is very good, within walking distance of most of the main sights.
The rooftop pool area is a nice addition, however be aware that it is very small. Only about 6 people can fit comfortably in the area so most of the time it's to busy to be used.
Overall I thought this was a great hotel and a bargain for £50 per night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingClaireb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

We offer our most hearty greetings to you and yours. Thanks for taking a moment to write us a review on Tripadvisor.com. We are glad to have served a happy traveler such as yourself, and hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Thanks again and happy travels to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I went to Madrid for the first time a couple of weeks ago, as I have never been in Madrid I wanted to find a hotel close to everything and Catalonia Gran Via lived up to my expectations. I rate the hotel as a typical 4-star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Journeyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

The staff at the Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel would like to thank you for your endorsement and for taking the time out to write about us on TripAdvisor.com Service is the key to happy guests and we are glad that you were pleased with what we had to offer. Thank you for sharing your experiences at our hotel with other travelers and we hope to see you again on your next jaunt to Madrid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed for two nights on a short business trip. Booked the hotel directly from their website. Great location and big rooms.

I got a double room, and like many in Europe, it was two single beds pushed together.

Room had a mini bar and free WiFi. However, internet access was very very very slow. Speedtest rated it as only 0.200 Mbps. But fast enough for a Skype call.

Had breakfast everyday in a small cafe around the corner. 3.25 vs 19 euro :-)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny_jp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Thank you for choosing Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel, we would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to mention us on trip advisor. We are pleased to know you found our cupboard very convenient during your stay. Our goal is to make sure all of our guests consider us a home away from home. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Iberostar Las Letras Gran Via
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Centro
Emperador Hotel Madrid
Emperador Hotel Madrid
#147 of 442 in Madrid
2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Vincci The Mint
Vincci The Mint
#18 of 442 in Madrid
699 reviews
Centro
Hotel Preciados
Hotel Preciados
#26 of 442 in Madrid
4,039 reviews
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#41 of 442 in Madrid
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Gran Via

Address: Calle Gran Via 7-9 | Old Quarter, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Gaudi)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#141 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $124 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Gran Via 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This emblematic Hotel in the Gran Via of Madrid is strategically located in the heart of the city, a few meters from the Plaza de Cibeles and Puerta del Sol. The hotel is composed by two buildings of great architectural value that are from the early twentieth century and are also very close to the Prado Museum and the Thyssen Gallery, allowing maximum enjoyment of the cultural offer of Madrid. In addition, the hotel offers its guests a fantastic restaurant called "La Pedrera", a gourmet corner-bar and 4 meeting rooms for all kinds of events, and some free services such as free Wi-Fi high speed internet, Business Corner, Spa & Fitness Center and terrace on the sixth floor with a heated water area overlooking Gran Via. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Gran Via Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Gaudi Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Gaudi Madrid
Hotel Gaudi Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing