We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,750)
Filter reviews
1,750 results
Traveler rating
552
676
300
135
87
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
552
676
300
135
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location rooftop pool stayed at the catalonia central location within walking distance air con good size art galleries reception desk busy street superior room mini bar breakfast buffet plaza mayor long weekend main attractions metro stop
Filter
Updating list...
535 - 540 of 1,750 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed here back in July when rooms in Chueca are at a premium. The hotel was reasonably priced, perfectly located, had a friendly staff, and was very clean. My only complaint is that the beds were overly hard Also, as someone else mentioned, the pictures of the rooftop pool are VERY deceiving. It's essentially a hot tub and the space is so small that it only holds 2 lounge chairs. Still, if you know all of that ahead of time, you can't go wrong here.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hookedonafeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

The staff at the Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel would like to thank you for your endorsement and for taking the time out to write about us on TripAdvisor.com Service is the key to happy guests and we are glad that you were pleased with what we had to offer. Thank you for sharing your experiences at our hotel with other travelers and we hope to see you again on your next jaunt to Madrid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The location is great, this is true. Very central. And the lunches were okay (aside from the restaurant staff not understanding that the vegetarian in our group was not vegan...).

However, if you are planning to have a meeting with this hotel, I would strongly recommend going elsewhere. The conference staff are incredibly disorganized and unhelpful, and were very inflexible with basic changes and/or requests that a normal meeting situation demands. The meeting spaces themselves are small and smelled terrible (ie: at best, dusty and stale, at worst, like an overflowing toilet). Water and coffee were not refreshed throughout the day and we kept running out (although we paid a LOT for this service), and there were a lot of mistakes, delays and confusion overall.

In terms of the hotel rooms, they were average but fine. Good towels. The pool is very small and thus FULL of people and very cloudy water. The pool opening hours were also inconvenient.

All in all, as a place to stay as a tourist, it is average at best. And for business, I would not recommend it at all.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Good day and thank you for your review of the Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel. The staff of the Hotel aims for excellence with every stay and every guest. We are sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations and we hope to one day be able to impress upon you a more positive experience. Have a great day and we wish you happy travels wherever you may be headed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights with 8 other girls, good value for money, spacious rooms and good location. The only down side was the pool is more of a hot tub, it was tiny and the picture on their website is an optical illusion! Children playing in the pool were splashing everyone else trying to catch some sun. Would stay there again though, Madrid is a beautiful city.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Gerente at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with others; we are delighted to hear your entire group was impressed with our Hotel. We hope you and your friends visit us again soon; until then safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed for two nights in July. The room was lovely, very large with a great bathroom. The hotel location is very good, within walking distance of most of the main sights.
The rooftop pool area is a nice addition, however be aware that it is very small. Only about 6 people can fit comfortably in the area so most of the time it's to busy to be used.
Overall I thought this was a great hotel and a bargain for £50 per night.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingClaireb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

We offer our most hearty greetings to you and yours. Thanks for taking a moment to write us a review on Tripadvisor.com. We are glad to have served a happy traveler such as yourself, and hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Thanks again and happy travels to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I went to Madrid for the first time a couple of weeks ago, as I have never been in Madrid I wanted to find a hotel close to everything and Catalonia Gran Via lived up to my expectations. I rate the hotel as a typical 4-star hotel.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Journeyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

The staff at the Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel would like to thank you for your endorsement and for taking the time out to write about us on TripAdvisor.com Service is the key to happy guests and we are glad that you were pleased with what we had to offer. Thank you for sharing your experiences at our hotel with other travelers and we hope to see you again on your next jaunt to Madrid.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews