We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Location Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Gran Via

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalonia Gran Via
Ranked #187 of 447 Hotels in Madrid
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Location Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

The Hotel Gaudi as it was named when my wife, sister in law and I stayed in July has a great location with major attractions like Retiro Park, Puerta del Sol and Plaza Mayo within easy walking distance. The hotel is somewhat dated but the staff were excellent throughout our stay. The rooms vary with the room my wife and I staying in being somewhat small but adequate however my sister in law was in a large room with a balcony. The reception area has the bar which is again very small however being on the Gran Via there are restaurants and bars aplenty just minutes away. The breakfast provided the hotel is excellent and overall I found the hotel to be good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiflemanWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
We offer our most hearty greetings to you and yours. Thanks for taking a moment to write us a review on Tripadvisor.com. We are glad to have served a happy traveler such as yourself, and hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Thanks again and happy travels to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    394
    188
    76
    43
See reviews for
161
374
54
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Spent 4 nights at this hotel as part of a large family vacation. 20 people total. The staff was wonderful. Our rooms were ready for us early which was so nice after a long flight from the US. Our room was spacious and quiet. The breakfast buffet was excellent. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJfromSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Our staff would like to thank you for your praise and for taking the time out to write such a pleasant review about your experience with us. Here at the Catalonia Gran Vía we strive to make sure every guest leaves with a smile on their face. Thank you again for spending time with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
161 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

The Hotel is in a great location, within easy walking distance to many of the main attractions. The staff did not appear to speak much english, but it waas a good opportunity for me to practice my Spanish. The bar staff and waitresses were very friendly and polite. The room was a good size with a reasonably stocked mini bar. Bathroom was very clean.
Overall I was happy and didn't spend a fortune, I would stay there again

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sombochris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
The staff at the Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel would like to thank you for your endorsement and for taking the time out to write about us on TripAdvisor.com Service is the key to happy guests and we are glad that you were pleased with what we had to offer. Thank you for sharing your experiences at our hotel with other travelers and we hope to see you again on your next jaunt to Madrid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

The location couldn't be better - an easy walk to the Prado, Thyssen, Puerta del Sol, and Plaza Mayor. Truly the heart of Madrid. We had a huge, comfortable room and large bathroom. The breakfast was excellent. The desk clerk was very helpful and printed our boarding passes for our flight home. If we return to Madrid we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mamagata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Our staff would like to thank you for your praise and for taking the time out to write such a pleasant review about your experience with us. Here at the Catalonia Gran Vía we strive to make sure every guest leaves with a smile on their face. Thank you again for spending time with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

very nice affordable hotel centrally located. Very helpful personal at the reception desk. We asked to see the room before chosing and we were shown a very nice, stylishly decorated modern double room with an extra bed for our 16 year old son. The room was very quiet.Very clean Roomy.Would definitely recommend this hotel. The hotel was undergoing renovations in the nextdoor buildning but our stay was not in the least effected.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank persilja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for choosing Catalonia Gran Vía Hotel, we would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to mention us on trip advisor. We are pleased to know you found our cupboard very convenient during your stay. Our goal is to make sure all of our guests consider us a home away from home. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

A group of 49 people and myself stayed in Madrid for a couple of days to continue our trip to the North of Spain and Portugal. Our first stop was at Hotel Gaudi, Madrid. As you can see that amount of people can be quite a hand-full. Mr. Pablo Polo, the person in charge of the Reception desk was at all times efficient, patience and informative. I truly know that the personal touch and great service always make the right effect to make a hotel different from any other. Thank you, Pablo, for making that difference. God bless you.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 18751mori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
It was our pleasure to have delighted you with our service. Thank you for choosing to our hotel, as we know your choices in Madrid are many. We would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to tell others around the globe about your experiences with us. Good news travels fast and we are sure that your words will echo loudly with many future travelers. For this and your business, we thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I alsways stay at this hotel when for business in Madrid, at around €90 the value for money is superb. Slightly run own and old fashioned in amenities, but A/C, TV, Wireless Internet and the restaurant are all worthwile.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marcelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granvia_direccion, Director General at Catalonia Gran Via, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Our staff would like to thank you for your praise and for taking the time out to write such a pleasant review about your experience with us. Here at the Catalonia Gran Vía we strive to make sure every guest leaves with a smile on their face. Thank you again for spending time with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Emperador Hotel Madrid
Emperador Hotel Madrid
#146 of 447 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 1,809 reviews
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Centro
Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio de Salamanca
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#35 of 447 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 1,154 reviews
Malasana
Dear Hotel Madrid
Dear Hotel Madrid
#231 of 447 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#19 of 447 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Gran Via

Property: Catalonia Gran Via
Address: Calle Gran Via 7-9 | Old Quarter, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Gaudi)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Madrid
#123 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Gran Via 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This emblematic Hotel in the Gran Via of Madrid is strategically located in the heart of the city, a few meters from the Plaza de Cibeles and Puerta del Sol. The hotel is composed by two buildings of great architectural value that are from the early twentieth century and are also very close to the Prado Museum and the Thyssen Gallery, allowing maximum enjoyment of the cultural offer of Madrid. In addition, the hotel offers its guests a fantastic restaurant called "La Pedrera", a gourmet corner-bar and 4 meeting rooms for all kinds of events, and some free services such as free Wi-Fi high speed internet, Business Corner, Spa & Fitness Center and terrace on the sixth floor with a heated water area overlooking Gran Via. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Catalonia Gran Via reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Gran Via Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Gaudi Hotel Madrid
Catalonia Gaudi Madrid
Hotel Gaudi Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing