We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true jem!”
Review of Museo Sorolla

Museo Sorolla
Ranked #6 of 757 things to do in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Sorolla Museum preserves the original atmosphere of both home and study of the painter Joaquín Sorolla y Bastida (Valencia, 1863 - Cercedilla, 1923). It houses the richest collection of his works, colourful paintings irradiating light and vitality. It is one of the more complete and best preserved artist homes remaining in Europe. The garden, also designed by himself, is a beautiful oasis in the city.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A true jem!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This small museum was beautiful, peaceful, and lovely. Unlike the big museums where sometimes you get lost, this place was perfect, and in my opinion - the best in Madrid. We loved both the house itself and the art. Don't miss it!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Neta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,431
    1,091
    121
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“for those who love art without being overwhelmed”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

small museum that does not disappoint . perfect outing for an hour or less to see beautiful art in a wonderful setting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffrey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
225 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A gem within the city”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We enjoyed this museum that was once the private home of the artist. Besides the beautiful paintings by Sorolla, there is his collection of art that includes bronzes, furniture and ceramics. It's well worth the visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank zenborzoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
165 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Sorrolla Museum: one of the best …”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

A real gem! Do not miss it. Worth a visit even if, you have only few days in Madrid.

Superb garden, lovely, stunning house, great and excellent paintings and ceramic work.

I regret I did not buy a landscape poster in the museum shop.
I love it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lilach2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely Place. Worth the Visit.”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

It was a lovely walk from Grand Via and it took me about approximately 30 minutes to get here. I could possibly got here quicker if I didn't enjoy the view enroute. Great walk! :)

Anyway, Sorello Museum is basically like a big mansion home filled with Sorellos artwork and his history. Quite an insight!!

... Oh yeah... The garden.. Simply stunning. Immensely serene!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank funkykiddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Sorolla also viewed

 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Museo Sorolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing