We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Place of light” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sorolla Museum

Sorolla Museum
37 General Martinez Campos, 28010 Madrid, Spain (Chamberi)
34-91-310-1584
Website
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
Top Rated
$53*
and up
Madrid Card
Ranked #6 of 691 things to do in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A small, lesser-known museum with an excellent collection of Spanish post-impressionist and early 20th-century art.
Orba, Spain
1 review
“Place of light”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

None with a grain of sensitivity could fail to enjoy the wonderful experience offered here. I will go each time I visit this wonderful city.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gailgourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,596
    872
    96
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“See the house of Sorolla the way it was”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Beautiful house, with old decor, very Spanish, very true. Outplaced but interesting. Don't go out of your way to get there, though.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank maria f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“My Favorite Museum in Madrid: Impressionist Art Without the Crowds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

After you've "done" the Prado with its overwhelming collection and swarms of visitors, go to the Sorolla Museum. It's in the artist's former house/studio and is full of his lovely, accessible paintings. The well-maintained gardens were the artist's pride and joy and featured in many of his works, so they deserve some time as well. I also enjoy the furnishings. The entrance price is very reasonable, something like 3 Euros. This place is a true find that I first visited in 1985 and have been recommending to friends ever since. Reachable by Metro: Rubén Darío on the green line; just walk up La Castellana to General Martinez Campos and turn left. It's a 15 minute walk at most. Tip: After my most recent visit, I had a very enjoyable lunch right across the street at Al Alba de Madrid.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arashibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, TX
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Thoroughly Enjoyed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Highly recommend visiting this museum. I loved seeing his artwork displayed in his own home. So much more meaning than rushing through an enormous art museum where it is difficult to do justice to the artist or his work.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Texas_Gypsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
545 reviews
192 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“museum and house in one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Not only the museum of a famous painter, this place has also a very nice garden and you can feel how the life of the Sorolla familla must have been while living here. When I visited on my own, I took an audioguide and I spent a long time wandering through the museum without watching my watch. I can recommend this to everyone, especially when entrance is free, for instance on saturday afternoons.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank onzils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sorolla Museum also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Sorolla Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing