We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, familiar, how rich people live in the past”
Review of Museo Sorolla

Museo Sorolla
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.14*
and up
Guided Tour Sorolla Museum of Madrid
Ranked #6 of 779 things to do in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Sorolla Museum preserves the original atmosphere of both home and study of the painter Joaquín Sorolla y Bastida (Valencia, 1863 - Cercedilla, 1923). It houses the richest collection of his works, colourful paintings irradiating light and vitality. It is one of the more complete and best preserved artist homes remaining in Europe. The garden, also designed by himself, is a beautiful oasis in the city.
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cozy, familiar, how rich people live in the past”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Paintings are brilliant, but the house is amazing, to feel the atmosphere, the way of living, take a guided tour - if you visit Madrid go there

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank josetrujil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,856 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,580
    1,129
    127
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Better than in New York. Sorolla in Madrid”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I liked this better than the huge Sorolla paintings displayed in the American Hispanic Society. Anyway, Sorolla loved his wife, daughters and son and you feel it in the paintings he made of them. The House is beautiful too.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vladimir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent collection. Beautiful Museum.”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I was reccomend by a friend to visit it and was more than I expect. Beautiful collection and the house is nice. I reccomend it as a visit if you want to do something out of the regular Tour or you love Sorolla as I do!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CeciliaCy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Cadiz, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A must in Madrid”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My family go to Museo Sorolla regularly. This time we could see a great exhibition about gardens on Sunday morning, when entrance is free. If you ever come to Madrid, after El Prado and Thyssen, try Museo Sorolla and discover a typical garden, a modernist house and the paintings of one of the best Spanish painters. You won't regret to pay a visit to this house-museum.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Francisco J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“For Sorolla lovers”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I found the Sorolla Museum to be over-rated. It would be of great interest to lover's of Sorolla's art, wishing to gain an insight into his life, and where he lived, but for me, I enjoyed the other art museums far more than this one.

I liked that you could take photos (no flash) in this museum, and that the entry fee was relatively cheap (3 Euro, or free after 2pm Saturday). The tranquil gardens and setting were great, and the staff very friendly and knowledgeable. Just don't put this place in #2 spot in your itinerary of Madrid.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ValiantUsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Sorolla also viewed

 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Museo Sorolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing