We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent collection. Beautiful Museum.”
Review of Museo Sorolla

Museo Sorolla
Ranked #6 of 770 things to do in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Sorolla Museum preserves the original atmosphere of both home and study of the painter Joaquín Sorolla y Bastida (Valencia, 1863 - Cercedilla, 1923). It houses the richest collection of his works, colourful paintings irradiating light and vitality. It is one of the more complete and best preserved artist homes remaining in Europe. The garden, also designed by himself, is a beautiful oasis in the city.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent collection. Beautiful Museum.”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I was reccomend by a friend to visit it and was more than I expect. Beautiful collection and the house is nice. I reccomend it as a visit if you want to do something out of the regular Tour or you love Sorolla as I do!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CeciliaCy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,480
    1,106
    123
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Province of Cadiz, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A must in Madrid”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My family go to Museo Sorolla regularly. This time we could see a great exhibition about gardens on Sunday morning, when entrance is free. If you ever come to Madrid, after El Prado and Thyssen, try Museo Sorolla and discover a typical garden, a modernist house and the paintings of one of the best Spanish painters. You won't regret to pay a visit to this house-museum.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Francisco J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“For Sorolla lovers”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I found the Sorolla Museum to be over-rated. It would be of great interest to lover's of Sorolla's art, wishing to gain an insight into his life, and where he lived, but for me, I enjoyed the other art museums far more than this one.

I liked that you could take photos (no flash) in this museum, and that the entry fee was relatively cheap (3 Euro, or free after 2pm Saturday). The tranquil gardens and setting were great, and the staff very friendly and knowledgeable. Just don't put this place in #2 spot in your itinerary of Madrid.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ValiantUsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My favourite Spanish artist”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is a really lovely gallery with many great works and a great layout. Its large enough to be satisfying and small enough to leave you wanting more!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
138 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Not easy to find, but so worthy a experience”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The museum of the Spanish painter Sorolla is one of the little secrets that you have to look for in Madrid . The former house of this XIX- XX century painter is the best frame for his truly beautiful paintings . When you cross the threshold of the gate that separates the mundane and noisy street you enter into a completely different world . The little garden welcomes you like it did to the visitors of the painter, sometime back in early XX century . The paintings are beautifully displayed along the different house rooms,like the Sorolla study .
Get off the beaten track and look for this enchanted place , full of enchanted art

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank naza2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Sorolla also viewed

 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Museo Sorolla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing