We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Villa Real
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Regina(Madrid)
$206
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Axor Feria Hotel(Madrid)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Occidental Castellana Norte(Madrid)(Great Value!)
$102
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon(Madrid)
$148
$118
Ayre Hoteles
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$144
$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Madrid Ribera del Manzanares(Madrid)(Great Value!)
$122
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$175
$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$116
$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Maydrit Hotel(Madrid)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,936)
Filter reviews
1,936 results
Traveler rating
1,127
581
161
44
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,127
581
161
44
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssplit levelfree glass of champagnegreat locationsister hotelthe congresstapasfive star hotelwithin walking distanceprado museumduplex roomliving areamajor museumsshort walkexcellent hotelsmall balconyplaza mayorreina sofia
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
908 - 913 of 1,936 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2013

What an excellent hotel. The location is superb for exploring all of central Madrid, close to all the key attractions, yet in a quiet location near to the parliament. A five to fifteen minute walk gets you to most of the core attractions. All the key art museums, particularly the excellent Museo Thyssen-Bornemisza are literally on the door step. The Reitro Park, Plaza de Cibeles, Calle Serrano and bustling Gran Via are all close by. Heading the other way Puerta Del Sol, Plaza Mayor and Plaza de Oriente are also within easy walking distance. I did not have to use a taxi once. Madrid is a busy noisy city and probably even more so after 11 at night, yet a short walk from the bustle of these hot spots this hotel can be found in quiet surroundings.

All the staff were very professional and utterly helpful. The reception and public areas are beautifully decorated with rare and ancient mosaics. My room 416 was superb, large spacious, beautifully furnished and with a high quality bathroom. There is a really good mix of traditionally and contemporary fittings, including dark woods, marble and muted colours. A well stocked mini bar, excellent toiletries and first rate house keeping, including a turn down service were all superb. There is no outlook from the room, which for me was good and ensured no traffic noise could be heard.

On checking in I was given a voucher for a free glass of champagne. I needed some trousers cleaning, I handed them in at 9.30am and when I returned to my room at about 2pm they were there perfectly cleaned and ironed. Breakfast was good with the emphasis on quality rather than quantity like most hotels. It was nicely presented and enjoyable, including the excellent fresh orange juice. The only downside was the appalling stewed coffee and not the offer of a cappuccino or espresso. A hotel of this standard should have a Jura coffee machine at hand.

I had dinner from the East 47 restaurant on the outside terrace and again this was excellent with imaginative and well presented food. I also enjoyed my free champagne.

The only disappointment was the standard of the wifi service. A hotel of this standard should have high speed wifi free of charge, which is easy to connect to The basic free wifi was difficult to connect to and in my room worked poorly.

Poor coffee and wifi aside I throughly enjoyed my three night stay at the Villa Real. I would highly recommend it for a perfect city break, in the midst of the action, yet relaxed and quiet. A proper hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DerbyshireJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, subdirector at Hotel Villa Real, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for expressing your opinions
About the services of our hotel during your stay at the hotel Villa Real.

On behalf of the hotel staff I thank you for those kind comments, sure will be useful to future hotel guests as well the information it provides of our city.

we are pleased that you had a dinner so enjoyable on the terrace of our restaurant.

once again thank you very much and hope to have you again enters us.

Yours sincerely,

Antonio Martin
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are bigger than most euro hotels. Bedroom, bathroom, and a sitting room. Service is wonderful. Gym is a little lacking but its better than nothing. Its a little bit of a walk if you want to get to plaza del sol or gran via but there are plenty of cabs if you need them.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clint M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Villa Real, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for the kind feedback. We are really glad to hear that you loved our location, your room and the service provided.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Our second stay at this wonderful hotel. This time we brought our friends. Once again our experience couldn't be faulted. There is so much to see within walking distance of the hotel. Take a city sightseeing bus tour or there are a number or amazing art galleries nearby. At night restaurants and bars are within walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janette1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Villa Real, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for the kind feedback. We are really glad to hear that you loved our location, your room and the service provided.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Very central located, almost next door to the Westen Palace and Ritz. The art museums are right on the door step as well. Very short walk to the squares in the other direction. Perhaps slightly under the usual standards of SLH hotels, but it offers extremely value. The food in the restaurant is great, local dishes with some interesting twists. The truffle pasta and acorn fed Iberico ham are great. Stay in one the duplex suite at the top floor. Large terrace to relax and/or have food/drink. The hotel claims to have a pool and gym, but didn;t try those out.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lzhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Villa Real, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks you very much for the kind feedback. We are really glad to hear that you loved our location, your room and the service provided.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Antonio Martin
Assistan manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a duplex suite on the top floor with a large balcony overlooking the Plaza Cortes with the Ritz in the distance. Only 100m from the Thyssen and 200m from the Prado. And only a leisurely half hour walk from the Royal Palace on the far side of the historic centre. And only 20mins by car from the airport and a Madrid city tour bus stopping almost outside the hotel. For location, nothing could beat this! Helpful and friendly staff. Very clean rooms. Good air conditioning. Excellent breakfast buffet - that potato cake was really yummy. The hotel features genuine Roman Mosaics and artifacts throughout, not just in the public areas. We even had 2 mosaics in our room. Marble floors (and often walls) throughout. A friendly hotel bar was a joy after a day in the city. But we didn't use the restaurant. We wanted to go out and experience real Spanish cuisine. Our first time in Madrid. We now want to go again...

Room Tip: Although the hotel doesn't have a pool, its sister hotel (the Urban) does. It is just around the corner. Do go and enjoy a great rooftop view and excellent drinks and canapés.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spectacle64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Subdirector at Hotel Villa Real, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time of sharing your experience at Urban. We are glad to hearing you have enjoyed your time with us.

We are sure all these positive comments about Urban hotel are really useful to other travellers

Looking forward to welcome you back soon

Best regards

Antonio Martin
Assiostant managr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews