We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See Madrid the way the Royals did!!!”

Royal Palace of Madrid
Book In Advance
More Info
$37.36*
and up
Skip-The-Line Early Entrance Tour of the Royal Palace of Madrid
More Info
$44.00*
and up
Prado Museum and Royal Palace of Madrid Tour with Skip the Line Entrance
More Info
$61.68*
and up
Madrid Small-Group Walking Tour Including Skip-the-Line Royal Palace Guided Tour
Ranked #5 of 777 things to do in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Luxurious, over-the-top rococo palace with over 2,000 opulently gilded rooms.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“See Madrid the way the Royals did!!!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We did a self-tour of the Royal Palace in Madrid. It is a must see. We did the tour on our own and found it to be very interesting. Massive palace that you won’t see anything like it anywhere. Took us about 2 hours and it was nice to be inside out of the heat of Madrid. We also visited the visit the Almudena Cathedral in front of the palace – don’t miss that one as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23,779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13,766
    7,806
    1,882
    207
    118
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Palacio Real”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Been there a dozen times, the longest i had to wait was 15 minutes, the palacio is superb, the yard as well, and the tour with the guide. I can understand that it is expensive for non Eu citizens but for one time it maybe ok. As for this discrimination, I do not understand it either, although i am Eu citizen

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 418at
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting and significant palace worth a visit”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Again with a bit of digging you find that tis palace gives free access from I think 18:00 for an hour most days. you do have to queue for about half an hour to get in but its worth it. you save about 30 euros per couple that way and there are some lovely exhibits to see. Nothing in the museum is well documented in English so you will need to pay for the audio units to walk round with if you want the full tour. its not a huge place (at least you don't get access to a lot) so you can easily do it in a couple of hours. the armoury and apothecary are fabulous and the rooms are stunning in a very baroque Christian style

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bigusdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassel, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Prepare to be amazed!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

If you are staying only one day in Madrid, you have to include the Royal Palace on your list.

This is outstanding, amazing, impossible to describe in words! Set aside a couple of hours for your visit. Citizen of EU get a free entrance from Monday through Friday starting at 18:00 but the line is huge! Do yourself a favour: invest 10 EUR in a ticket and you won't regret it.

Be prepared to look not only left and right, but also up, as some ceilings are spectacular!

You will not be allowed to take any pictures inside, so, you will have to use your own "internal memory" to store everything you see here.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Baunataler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fit for a King and Queen”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and I visited the Royal Palace today. Surpassing even the best of architectural design in madrid, the Palace is beautifully designed, inside and out. The outer court is magnificent. Inside, the attention the detail on every piece of structure is immaculate.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Palace of Madrid also viewed

 

Been to Royal Palace of Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing