We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Madrid
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
  
Google
Ways to Experience Prado National Museum
from $16.51
More Info
from $162.91
More Info
from $41.83
More Info
from $24.22
More Info
Reviews (56,369)
Filter reviews
56,369 results
Traveler rating
41,580
11,528
2,610
408
243
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
41,580
11,528
2,610
408
243
Show reviews that mention
All reviews el greco las meninas garden of earthly delights spanish masters art lovers love art audio guide famous paintings great art european art free entry two hours amazing collection old masters works of art on display take your time
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 56,369 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It is sooo huge so if you dont have at least 6-7 hours to spend - dont even try. We were in rush so for 3 hours we were practicaly running around. Place is great and beautiful, easy to find and approach.
Next time I visit, I will plan the whole day.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank naidalindov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was the Jubilee Year, i.e. 2000. We stayed un a Servantes hostel, a short walk from Prado, the street and the museum. The hotel was most affordable, though one should be alert to the fact that hot water in the shower was dispensed by 100 litters a pop.
The museum exposition was unforgettable. Goya,and Velasquez, Velasquez and Goya. We explored, or visually and emotionally inhaled them. Having seen before the Louvre, great Russian and American art museums, the Prado was a knock-out. BTW there is a perfect Goya, a portret of some duchess, in LA, at the new Getty's. You see the sex, and power obsessed woman.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Plonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Prado needs no introduction. The collection of Velazquez and Goya is unparalleled. When in Spain, don’t miss it

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Cassara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As art fans I’m sure you’ll understand; the sheer awe, the goosebumps you feel, when you finally have the chance to gaze at your favorite piece of art! And then, it all goes away, when they let you on in a secret. You cannot take any pictures, or better, not the “famous” ones. I had already went through the first corridor, when I was told to stop talking pictures and all excuses that were used, were just childish. One employee even suggested to download one from the internet! A really disappointing experience, not being allowed to capture your moment in time..Thankfully, in the famous "Art Walk" of Madrid, there are other museums, that have found the way to have a flow, while people are free to have a snapshot to remember! Just remember to always buy a skip the line ticket, to cut down on times!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank doppelganger_et
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Smaller than the Louvre and less glamorous, the Prado is quite a beautiful art museum, one that I dreamed about visiting for decades. I was pleasantly impressed and it did not dissapoint.
Buying in advance a "skip the line" admission will save you significant time which, is a very precious advantage, considering the limited hours a tourist has for roaming the city. You may be able to breeze through most of the galleries in two to three hours, depending, of course, on the time you stop to admire the paintings you like most. Taking pictures inside the museum is not allowed, which may be unpleasant but understandable.
This museum has a tradition of almost 200 years and its collections were put together by Spain’s 16th- and 17th-century monarchs. What is specific to Prado is the focus on the most famous painters rather than the best known works of some. The museum organisation is unique, by period and provenience, and it has the largest holdings of Bosch, Titian, El Greco, Rubens, Velázquez, and Goya.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Vladimiramirela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews