We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Prado National Museum
from $45.92
More Info
from $25.25
More Info
from $37.40
More Info
from $56.25
More Info
Reviews (51,440)
Filter reviews
51,440 results
Traveler rating
37,849
10,613
2,418
356
204
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37,849
10,613
2,418
356
204
Show reviews that mention
All reviews el greco las meninas garden of earthly delights spanish masters amazing collection art lovers love art famous paintings audio guide european art two hours free entry great art old masters works of art on display take your time
Filter
Updating list...
3,773 - 3,778 of 51,440 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2017

I am not particularly fond of the Spanish painters, but you cannot help but be impressed with their work. Just the very size of many of the paintings is remarkable. Plus there are other wonderful works by other reknowned painters. I particularly love Portrait of a Cardinal by Rahael, and a Mona Lisa are 2 of my favorities. It is free from 6-8 pm.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank avkatnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2017

Ciao!

Sadly the Prado museum was a big disappointment.

It had only a few masterpieces with the rest of the pieces being very mundane and drab.

I was suspicious as to why the museum was free from 1800 to 2000. Now, I understand.

Don't misunderstand me, it is a very good museum but "IOP" pales in comparison to the London National museum, the Louvre or the Vatican museum.

In summary, I was quite unimpressed. However, remember you get what you pay for!
Ironically, the London museum is Free.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Signor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2017 via mobile

Advice: take a north entrance, it is faster. Definitively El Bosco with his Garden of human sins (heaven & hell) is a must see, but many others such as Velasquez, Goya, Rubens, El Greco etc... Best museum in Madrid.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank 199stjepanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2017

it has great collection of Bosch. If you only have an hour to visit there, go straight to his collection. It's so worth it.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank freshwaterstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2017

Definitely something what you have to see in Madrid
A lovely museum with plenty of masterpieces. Amazing art collection. The leaflet given on arrival difficult to follow.
Make a plan of the masterpieces you want to watch in forehand. The leaflet with the top 50 works didn't correlate with the audio guide nor the “natural” way between the rooms. Take a pen and mark the works you have seen.
We spent in the museum 4 hours but it is not enough.
There is a special exhibit of the Treasures from the Hispanic Society of New York.We had advance tickets, recommend - though lines move quickly

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank 794arieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews