We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel, great breakfast, pity about the wifi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Collection Palacio de Tepa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
NH Collection Palacio de Tepa
Ranked #35 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice hotel, great breakfast, pity about the wifi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

I'm lowering with one mark because I'm not happy with the wifi. A hotel of this class should not charge for fast wifi, and login should not be needed. The solution feels about 2003, when the hotel was connected with ADSL. Please fix this flaw in an otherwise pretty flawless experience.

The service was great. English is not a problem (except for the breakfast staff). The staff is very helpful.

The superior room is very good. It's spacy and the AC worked flawlessly. A maid (?) turned on the AC during the afternoon (put a card in the card-switch) so it was nice and cool when we arrived later.

As someone else noted, the bed is very hard. It's still very comfortable, but you might be in for a surprise if you are used to a very soft bed. It wasn't a big problem for us even though we're used to a very soft bed. I presume you have to ask or somehow signal for changed sheets during your visit if you want/need that (environment blah blah), didn't need it and didn't give that a try.

The bathtub has a shower with overhead fixed shower as well as the normal showerhead. This was mounted too low for me (I'm 1.93 or 6"4), pretty much in eyeheight, so shower was a bit uncomfortable.

Room was well taken care of by staff. The amenities (skin cream, shampoo etc) are very good. The minibar is well stocked, but since I didn't find a price list, didn't try anything in it. Coffee and tea in the room (Nespresso machine!) as well as in the lounge ("living room"). TV in the room seemed to have many international channels, if you need that. Ipod dock and HDMI/VGA/sound input for the TV (didn't try). Our "quiet" room was extremely quiet except a faint music noise when the next door jazz club neighbour were having their concert, and they quit before we tried to sleep.

The breakfast is awesome. You will not be disappointed. Breakfast time is long during weekend (11:30), which suited us well.

The hotel also has print service if you need computer printouts (onling flight check-in for instance).

Something great with the hotel that is worth mentioning is that it is indeed very central. Museums, sights and food are in walking distance. Prado is 800 meters, Thyssen and Sofia slightly closer. A taxi stop is just outside the hotel if you need to go anywhere.

I can greatly recommend this hotel for business as well as tourism, given that you don't need high speed internet (or don't mind paying €10 a day for that - unknown if it works well).

Room Tip: Ask the staff for your preferences. They will make sure you get what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirar0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaciodeTepa, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Collection Palacio de Tepa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Mirar 0 ,thank you very much for having taken a few moments of your valuable time to express your opinion about our Hotel during your recent stay .Comments such as the one you have kindly shared stimulate us to offer better and improved service every day. Please be assure that your suggestions about our wifi service will be taken into acount. I look forward to hearing from you soon.Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    314
    59
    14
    7
See reviews for
169
497
31
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is one of the best hotels I ever stayed. The location was perfect. We enjoy walking and seeing things along the way. We were able to walk to almost most places by foot.

Our rooms were on the higher floor and it was only their Standard Double. We loved the high ceiling. It was extremely nice that we can open the windows too (can get noisy but quiet when it's closed.) The room was pretty big. The bathroom had everything you needed. The bed was very comfortable. The gym had a few machines and some weights and there were water/towels available.

The staffs were nice and helpful. We also enjoyed the restaurants in the area. It was very easy to walk around.

It was a very nice stay and it was a good deal. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaciodeTepa, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Collection Palacio de Tepa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Gabriel L thank you for your excellent comments and for sharing your experience, I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us ! At the NH Collection Palacio de Tepa it is our aim to exceed the expectations of our guests and it is most inspiring for all of our team members to accomplish this . The entire team look forward to welcoming you back in a very near future! Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights, and we were very satisfied. The service was good and the breakfast was very nice! We asked if the room had a nice view, and the lady at the reception made sure it did. The location is good and we were able to walk everywhere. The only downside is expensive parking.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emilia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaciodeTepa, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Collection Palacio de Tepa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Emilia S firstly I would like to thank you for your great comment about our Hotel , thank you for sharing your experience. At the NH Collection Palacio de Tepa it is our aim to exceed the expectations of our guests and it is most inspiring for all of our team members to accomplish this. Regarding your comment about our parking please be informed that the price is subject to the regulations of the area. We all look forward to wellcome you soon, Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We just returned from Madrid and stayed here for 4 nights.

The hotel location is ideal - equal distance to the Prado and the Royal Palace, and surrounded by shopping and pedestrian areas. The plaza major and peurto del sol are about 5 minutes walk. There is an abundance of restaurants of every type nearby. We walked to all of the key landmarks/ museums.

The hotel is very modern and updated. We had a larger suite that faced an inner courtyard. Large and comfortable king size bed, modern bathroom and strong AC. The room was quiet at night. The hotel is clean and well maintained. Based on price, comfort and location, we'd definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Madrid

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torontotwo_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaciodeTepa, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Collection Palacio de Tepa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Torontotw thank you for your excellent comments and for sharing your experience in our Hotel,I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Comments such as yours are inspiring for our continuous improvements. The NH Collection Palacio de Tepa team look forward to welcoming you back in a near future! Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic Hotel with pleasant helpful staff in very clean and contemporary surroundings. Plenty to see and do with great restaurants and tapas bars within yards. 'Pink' bar on the pavement outside bring 2 euro cheaper for a beer than the plaza santa anna square 10 yards further.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SilverSurfer030871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaciodeTepa, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Collection Palacio de Tepa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear SilverSur firstly I would like to thank you for your great comment about our Hotel and service, thank you for sharing your experience with us. At the NH Palacio de Tepa it is our aim to exceed the expectations of our guests and it is most inspiring for all of our team members to accomplish this.We all look forward to hearing from you soon, Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
280 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, staff are so helpful and friendly. Breakfast is amazing. Great location for shopping as well. Rooms are beautifully furnished, yet lacks a certain kind of charm as it is too austere. Location is not great for getting close to the centre or near historical sights such as the Royal Palace

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KLS2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Good location, comfort plus, quiet rooms, warm friendly staff, beautiful buffet breakfast. Walking distance to major attractions including the Prado, local markets, shopping and restaurants. Mardi Gras was on on Saturday, so need to allow additional travel time if not on foot

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belindas9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaciodeTepa, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at NH Collection Palacio de Tepa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Byron Bay Thank you very much for taking a few moment of your valuable time to express your satisfaction about the services of our Hotel . Comments such as yours are inspiring for our continuous improvements. The NH Palacio de Tepa team hope to see you soon!!!Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
NH Collection Paseo del Prado
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#17 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#32 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Huertas
ME Madrid Reina Victoria
Chueca
The Principal Madrid
The Principal Madrid
#13 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Palacio de Tepa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Palacio de Tepa

Property: NH Collection Palacio de Tepa
Address: San Sebastian, 2 | Barrio de Las Letras, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#14 Business Hotel in Madrid
#16 Family Hotel in Madrid
#28 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Palacio de Tepa 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 19th century palace located in Madrid's Las Letras district, the NH Collection Palacio de Tepa is surrounded by history and romance. Just a five-minute walk away, the famous Plaza Mayor and next to Plaza Santa Ana enchant tourists and locals alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, NHHotels, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your NH Collection Palacio de Tepa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Palacio De Tepa Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing