We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very small rooms!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Collection Palacio de Tepa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
NH Collection Palacio de Tepa
Ranked #35 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very small rooms!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here last weekend. We booked a single room each, through the NH website. We got rooms 424 and 425 and they were some of the smallest hotel rooms I've been in a long time. I was shocked and I didn't expect this from a 5* hotel. For the rest, the bed was good enough for one person and comfortable, the breakfast was very good and the location fantastic. We loved the Estado Puro bar.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Worleybcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    314
    59
    14
    7
See reviews for
169
497
31
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We are currently staying in the hotel and paid $262 per night. The most expensive hotel on our trip to Spain. We have a room with low ceilings of of the courtyard and the area in front of the hotel has many panhandlers. We also stayed near the Ritz Hotel at the petit Plaza Leatald, High Tech Hotel which was much less expensive and a much better neighborhood. Poor value for our money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a high ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. We absolutely loved it! The hotel is beautiful, our room was big and spacious, and VERY clean. The staff was very, very friendly. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank rosaben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This Hotel s in a fantastic location. Friendly staff, large rooms, great breakfast, walking distance o main attractions. Great Bas and eating places nearby, would definitely stay again, recommended!
Given location and facing the plaza (Santa Ana) , street noise is minimal , also make great G & T,s!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel has a great location. The building looks like it has some history from the outside. On the inside you would never know that. The interior feels very "beige." By that I mean totally forgettable. The rooms are nice, staff are very nice, etc., but the hotel itself is just kind of blah. Given the choice of a hotel that is memorable for all of the wrong reasons and a hotel that leaves no impression obviously I would choose the latter. But in a city like Madrid it just seems like a hotel should have that something special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayr2l8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

...in the heart of Madrid. Rooms are spacious, hotel generally quiet in spite of being in the heart of the city facing a beautiful plaza (Santa Ana). Staff is the friendliest and most efficient I've ever seen in Spain.
Totally recommendable.

Room Tip: For just a little more superior double rooms are very very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
246 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Staff very welcoming and attentive. Great location, walking distance to all of Madrid's main points of interests. We reserved an executive suite which was large and comfortable. Really liked the second door in the room's interior hallway, great for keeping noise out. Great big shutters that kept the room dark and some of the street noise at bay. Nice big bed but with one unfortunate note, I detest these long narrow pillows that remind me of a body pillow. It's not big enough to cradle your head and too cumbersome to adjust. Aircon could be better, air stream is directed to your head while you sleep, so our only option was to turn it off if it became too bothersome. Large comfortable bathroom with bathtub and separate shower ... that was a little narrow for my stature. We had breakfast on our last day, expensive but very good. Great selection of cold cuts, cheeses, breads, etc. service during breakfast was also very good.
Hotel Restaurant Review: Estado Puro. We where excited to try this tapas restaurant located in our hotel, we had heard many good things. We sat down in the informal dining room with the kooky decor, there was not a soul in sight and this was at 10 at night! So we decided to sit outside in the bustling plaza filled with people enjoying the summer night air. We had decided to have the tapas sampler offered to hotel guests at a decent price of 30 euros per person. As the tapas started to arrive at our table we immediately notice a few odd things with the meal; a general lack of seasoning and to us an irrational sequencing of tapas, two potato dishes, two fish dishes, etc. which just added to the general blandness of things. For us all tapas lacked inventiveness, some were really greasy and most were just so heavy that by the end of the meal we were praying that they wouldn't bring out another dish. The quantity was quite overwhelming, but the one desert was a welcoming respite. Even though our first experience was quite underwhelming, we gave Estado Puro a second chance two nights later. This time we chose a la carte, which made all the difference. Apart from a bland meat croquette, the rest of the food we ordered was quite good. The corte de foie gras with jerez was sublime and the tortilla with iberico ham was great, the deserts were good too... sachertorte in a cup and strawberries with cream (nata). Service was ok, but one thing that was quite off-putting was that the waiters, on both nights, started to remove chairs, tables and even the potted plant and ashtray that rested on our table at precisely 11:30 at night. This was done regardless of the fact that we were still eating and that the restaurant was at full capacity and that some people had just sat down to start their meal. And don't bother asking for the check, they will bring it out to you regardless if you want it or not. Apart from the evident problems, we were happy that we gave this charming outdoor restaurant a second chance. It's worth a visit ... just don't go out of your way.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guilherme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
NH Collection Paseo del Prado
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#8 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#17 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Hotel Villa Real
Hotel Villa Real
#32 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Huertas
ME Madrid Reina Victoria
Huertas
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
Catalonia Puerta del Sol
#40 of 444 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Palacio de Tepa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Palacio de Tepa

Property: NH Collection Palacio de Tepa
Address: San Sebastian, 2 | Barrio de Las Letras, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas , Sol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#14 Business Hotel in Madrid
#16 Family Hotel in Madrid
#28 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Palacio de Tepa 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic 19th century palace located in Madrid's Las Letras district, the NH Collection Palacio de Tepa is surrounded by history and romance. Just a five-minute walk away, the famous Plaza Mayor and next to Plaza Santa Ana enchant tourists and locals alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, NHHotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your NH Collection Palacio de Tepa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Palacio De Tepa Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing