We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal Art Madrid
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hostal Rubio(Madrid)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Catalonia Puerta Del Sol(Madrid)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (529)
Filter reviews
529 results
Traveler rating
265
202
51
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
202
51
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplaza mayorpolite and spoke englishearly trainperfect locationlocal cafepuerta del solroom was cleanair conditioningwonderful cityby footstayed here for two nightswalking distanceatocha stationcity centreyour luggageother guestsstreet noise
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 529 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The location could not be better, seriously, if you had to draw an X on a map for the perfect location when visiting Madrid, this would be it, since it's in the middle of all nicest areas. Staff is super-friendly (and speak perfect English, and even French and other languages). The room was nice and kept very clean, the bed is comfy, great wifi access which is very convenient to plan your day, and excellent value for money. I couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emmanuel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The best location to spend some days in Madrid. In max 10 minutes walking you reach Plaza Mayor, Plaza del Sol, La Latina y Huerta. 1 minute walking from the metro station.
The room was ok, the price/quality ration is good. We asked for a silent room and the gave us the furthest room from the entrance door, so that it was very quiet.
The girl at the reception was very nice, provided us with help and information.
Finally, we definitely recommend the Free Walking Tour advertised by the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a silent room when booking.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesus Miguel L, Gerente at Hostal Art Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for the time you have dedicated to write about us.
We appreciate your nice words and we are grateful for your feedback as it is very important for us in our aim to improve.
We are very glad you enjoyed the free walking tour!
Hope to see you the next time you have a stop in Madrid.

Sincerely yours,

Jesus Miguel Lopez Segundo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at the Art Hostal for 4 nights. The location is perfect within walking distance to all the central attractions so we really couldn't ask for more. The staff are so friendly & spoke amazing English so we had no problems with them. Our room was a good size, at the front of the building with a lovely balcony & 'yes' a little noisy at night but it is a very lively city. Beautifully maintained property, very clean & safe with 2 entry keys. Ideal location for travelers & well worth the price. We'd highly recommend Art Hostal for any age group, we're not young but travel as if we are!

Room Tip: Most recommend an inside room but we loved the front street view room. Light, airy & the beautiful sounds of Madrid at night.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLWToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesus Miguel L, Gerente at Hostal Art Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you for the time you have dedicated to write about us. We appreciate your nice words and we are grateful for your feedback as it is very important for us in our aim to improve.
Hope you felt like home and hope to see you the next time you have a stop in Madrid.

Sincerely yours,

Jesus Miguel Lopez Segundo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We strayed at the Art Hostal for two nights for a short break in this beautiful city. It turned out incredibly well because the hostal is very centrally located so it was within easy reach of the everywhere we wanted to go. The staff were very friendly and our room was small but perfectly comfortable for a couple of nights, I would recommend this place to friends without a second thought.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissyPritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesus Miguel L, Gerente at Hostal Art Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you for the time you have dedicated to write about us. We appreciate your nice words and we are grateful for your feedback as it is very important for us in our aim to improve.
If there is another short or large break in Madrid, just let us know!
Our desire is to give all our customers the best service and the best acomodation.

Sincerely yours,

Jesus Miguel Lopez Segundo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is right in the center of Madrid.5minutes to puerta del sol and to plaza mayor.The room is tiny but it's enough for a good bath and a good sleep.Just what you need if you want a place to rest after a long day or night out in the city.The stuff is not that good in English but that is not really a problem!They are nice and they smile all the time!Although our room was perfectly cleaned everyday I noticed a problem..there was a bug in the bath..I killed it by drowning it..so its brother the next morning..that was the only unpleasant moment during our stay..oh!and the funny smell when you go into the room for the first time but it goes off as soon as you open the balcony door!
To sum up, pros:excellent location,really good price,nice stuff,cleaning-cons:we saw two bugs in the bath,the smell when you get in (vanishes easily),a bit noisy but we didn't mind,we would prefer two pillows instead of a wide one-for two pillow.
When we come back we will definitely chose hostal Art Madrid again!

Thank Voula K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jesus Miguel L, Gerente at Hostal Art Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thank you for the time you have dedicated to write about us. We appreciate your nice words and we are grateful for your feedback as it is very important for us in our aim to improve.
Regarding the unpleasant moment with the bug into the bathroom, we are very sorry. Thank you for having warned us, as it was the first time it happened. The establishment is fumigated 2 times a year, to avoid those unpleasant moments for our customers and also for us.
We would like to apologize also for the unusual smell felt entering the room. We will change our freshener for a softer one.
Our desire is to give all our customers the best service and the best acomodation.
We feel sorry for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay and hope that the next time would be a much better experience.

Sincerely yours,

Jesus Miguel Lopez Segundo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews