We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Art Madrid

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Art Madrid
Ranked #8 of 264 Madrid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

we were really surprised when we arrived to Hostal Art Madrid - it is a very beautiful, nicely refurbished little hostel, with rooms with private bathrooms. the staff is really nice and the location is perfect, Plaza del Sol is in a walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nr0bert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    162
    40
    6
    2
See reviews for
50
192
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

The staff at the reception is quite friendly & helpful. There's 3 of us so we were quite amused when we see the set up of the bedroom. The towels are folded into swan & elephant just like how you would find in a honeymoon suite. Clean room & bathroom. Very small room but it's ok since we are out the whole day. Near to metro.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkeiffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I can honestly say I have never stayed in a cleaner hotel. It was quiet and after a full days exploring, this hotel was just great for crashing out in. There might not be a view but you don't need one if you are out and about all day.

The bathroom was brilliantly clean as well, normally with hotel showers they leak and the floor gets slippery but this one was fine.

The staff were great, the location was great, and the towels arranged on the bed in the shape of an elephant was brilliant. We even got vouchers to eat breakfast at a lovely cafe down the road. Bargain, Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madamehowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Me and my wife stayed there for 7 nights. The room is small, but cozy. The staff does not always speak English, but that not a problem, they are very helpful

The location is perfect, just about 10 minutes from Sol, you can reach it by foot, no problem. Is also very close to metro station, just 2 minutes.

The only thing that separates this from perfect is the noise in the room. You will hear at night all the mad Spanish(and not only Spanish) people yelling in Tirso de Molina Square. Also you will hear the police cars. But after one night, you'll get use to it.

All in all, very good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solsein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Very central location, close to metro station.
But noise insulation is quite bad-you can hear people talking next room.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank vaytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

I stayed in Hostel Art Madrid at the end of October and it was most definitely one of the best places that I stayed in. The staff were friendly and helpful, although most of them don't speak English, but we got by with hand gestures and pointing at words in the tour book. The location is ideal, about 15 meters from the Metro and about 3 minutes walk to Purte del Sol. The shower was one of the best showers that I had. The only downfall was the beds were a bit hard, and I found it a bit difficult to get to sleep the first night. The service was like a hotel, cleaned everyday with fresh towels supplied, without the price tag. If I was visiting Madrid again, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fussybot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

I stayed there for 3 nights with my 2 friends in triple room with private bathroom. It was a very nice experience for all of us. The hostal is very new so it was perfectly clean and modern rooms and bathroom. Great value for the price you are paying! The only thing it is not a big room for 3 but we did not care (if you spend your most of time out so you do not). And location is perfect! Walking distance to La Latina is only 5 minutes, and same for Plaza Mayor. And there is metro station very close to the hotel - only 30 seconds :) and lastly, the owners do not speak English but they try to help you whenever you need.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SemihaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
La Latina
Mayerling Hotel
Mayerling Hotel
#43 of 447 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 454 reviews
Artiem Madrid
#2 of 447 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#46 of 447 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Catalonia Las Cortes
Catalonia Las Cortes
#7 of 447 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 1,198 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Eurostars Plaza Mayor
Huertas
Artistic B&B
Artistic B&B
#2 of 264 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Art Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Art Madrid

Property: Hostal Art Madrid
Address: Conde de Romanones 9, 2 piso, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 264 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Art Madrid 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Art Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing