We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value”

Restaurante Puerto Rico
Ranked #300 of 10,690 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centro
Europe
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very good value”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Outside the restaurant, as we scanned the menu of this restaurant, a lady came behind us and said " don't be put off by the low prices, it is good food " for example, pork chop and chips 3.20 Euros !
The dearest dish is about 9 Euros and the dearest bottle of wine is also 9 Euros. With three courses and the dearest bottle of wine plus tip, the bill was about 38 Euros. Don't expect "Haute Quisine" types of food,it is plain food you might say like home cooked food, but it was very palatable food and excellent value.
The staff are friendly and helpful. Early in the evening it was quite empty on the nights we went but later it filled up. There were far more local Spanish clients than tourists which is a very telling sign ! Go and enjoy it

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Micheled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    219
    59
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
177 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“A Good Alternative to Tapas”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We had supper here two nights in late May 2014. It was recommended by our Hotel Acapulco staff as a Spanish restaurant frequented by Madrid residents and offering good food at moderate prices. It’s located not too far from the Gran Via Metro stop or go about two blocks northish from Puerta del Sol. We found it a good alternative to Tapas.
Pros:
- Attractive dining room w/linen table cloths
- Menu in Spanish and English
- Other English speaking patrons
- Helpful, attentive & very friendly Spanish speaking staff
- Delicious white or black bean soup, a meal in a bowl
- Crusty bread, 0.60 Euro ea.
- 1 Euro wine, 6 Euro ½ bottles, full bottles
- Satisfying ½ pitcher Sangria, 4.50 Euros, serves 6-8 glasses
- Ice cream whiskey cake, cheese cake is cakey but pleasant flavor
- Refreshing ¼ Pineapple with Cointreau (Triple Sec)
- Moderate pricing; each night paid about 33 Euros/2 persons including wine, dessert & tip; 20 Euro fixed price menu available but must ask
Cons:
- Small doorway easy to overlook
- I found my Spanish phrase book helpful

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnAnnColumbia_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayamon, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Were the local lunch”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Good and taste local food, fair price and a friendly service. . Just tried one dish there - gambas al ajillo Very, very good and not too expensive. Wine de la casa Rioja was also great and cheap. Try their dessert Turrón ice cream with nata . Waitress was very nice

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yefra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
178 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Known as one of the inexpensive eateries we were disapointed this time. Worst salada russa ever looked like cold potato puree... uaaack. My partners soup was ok. Mains were nothing special. Compared price quality to the other restaurants this was not good.

Helpful?
Thank Bearchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food at an incredible price”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Simply put, this is my favourite restaurant in have ever visited.

Despite having dined at the Savoy Grill and the OXO Tower in London, as well as a number of other excellent up-market restaurants, nothing has ever matched my experience at the Puerto Rico in Madrid. The food is completely unpretentious, cooked in a homemade fashion and totally full of flavour. I have visited this restaurant a number of times now and have tried a variety of dishes and not once have I been let down by the quality of the food. My family and I enjoyed it so much in fact, that part of our decision to return to Madrid on holiday (from the UK) was to visit this restaurant once more; I have been to Madrid on two occasions now and after discovering this restaurant it is the only place we dine whilst visiting the city.

Not only is the food divine, but the prices are incredible too. The set menu is only about 12 Euros and that includes a starter, main meal, dessert, bread and wine/water. Brilliant value for money considering the quality of the food served.

The staff are generally very nice and welcoming, and from my experience the service has been fast. We have been there so many times now that the owner knows us and greets us.

My only criticism of the Puerto Rico would be that it feels a little cramped inside. It isn't a very large restaurant yet the owners have tried to fit in as many tables as possible, compromising the customers' comfort a bit. Nevertheless, the atmosphere has always been good as it is always packed.

My personal recommendation would be the fried and battered aubergines as a starter, which come served with some lemon to drizzle on top. They are simple yet delicious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Puerto Rico also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Restaurante Puerto Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing