We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious & Creative Food”
Review of Casa Lucas

Casa Lucas
Ranked #75 of 10,992 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: La Latina
Laguna Beach, CA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious & Creative Food”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My husband and I were anxious to find an excellent restaurant that wasn't too expensive and not too far from our hotel (near the Prado Museum). Trip Advisor again came to the rescue. After reading the reviews, we decided to walk there quickly, in the event that we would have to wait for a table. Thankfully, we were still on US dinner time (arrived around 8 pm) so we were one of the first to be seated (of course, it was packed by the time we were done). The restaurant is extremely small and we sat in the corner at a small table (with an admittedly uncomfortable chair). But the food was phenomenal -- the tastes were unique, creative and delicious. We had the marinated chicken with corn soufflé -- superb; the chicken couscous was excellent; my husband talked about the sauce on the seafood pasta for days. We were a bit surprised that they did not serve any soft drinks (only wine) so we drank water. Not a problem -- we were there for the food anyway.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LagunaBeach_CALocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    317
    90
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“if you like comfortable seated dining then not for you......”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

......but if you enjoy an upmarket small bar with seating and an exciting menu of tapas and more substantial dishes then try this...probably the best one in the street...opens at 8pm with Wednesday closed and at lunch time 1pm ...suggest arriving soon after 8 to bag a space as it will fill by 9. If I was in the area again then surely pay a visit, and also to the Basque tapas bar Taberna Txakolina at number 26,

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cadiz_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic tapas and wine list! Impeccable, friendly service.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 8:30 for dinner...and had the full attention of the friendly and attentive staff. We were offered the opportunity to sample a few wines before ordering a bottle. Additionally, I ordered 4 dishes and the waiter kindly recommended that I had ordered too much food. He made a recommendation on the one dish I should cut. I appreciated his honesty. He was absolutely correct. We couldn't finish the calamari. It was a huge dish. Very good though.
Food was very fresh and reasonably priced. Dinner and a bottle of wine was about 40 euros. It was our last night in town and we are very glad we went to Casa Lucas. Excellent!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sadie2240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food - great service!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Girlfriend and I had two pincho items - one of each cold and hot, the Rice (risotto with foie and quail egg), the Octopus carpaccio and a bottle of wine. The Jumilla (half spinach and half leek pate with prawns on top) pincho and soy chicken pincho were both fantastic! The Octopus carpaccio was great as well, but the Risotto was only ok as the richness of the risotto, the foie, and the egg created for a boring taste/texture. Would highly recommend and we will return to try other items on their menu!

A bit on the pricey side - ?20 for each of the entrees and ?6 for each of the pinchos (each order came with two slices of amazingly crusty fresh bread with amazing toppings). We waited for about 10 minutes for a table for two when we arrived at 1030pm. Total was ?70 for two people, inclusive of the bottle of wine.

We read that although not on the menu, you can ask for half orders of the entrees and we missed out on their delicious sangria and the calamari entree. Will definitely have to return.

Helpful?
Thank treydoja
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect tapas, amazing tinto de verano”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I went here with two friends and had an amazing, casual dinner. On calle de baja where tapas restaurants are a dime a dozen, Casa Lucas was a fabulous experience. We shared a couple tapas and one large plate and had about 4 tintos de veranos each (similar to sangria). Our waiter spoke English fairly well and was very nice. It's a small restaurants with not many seats but if there's a wait, it's worth it. I thought the price was quite reasonable, our total was less than 70 euros for 3 people with cocktails

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Lucas also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Casa Lucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing