We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chocolat

Chocolat
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Chocolat is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #73 of 10,440 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $2
Cuisines: European, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Huertas
Description: A lovely chocolateria, for chocolate and churros, and similar things.
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife and I arrived with 2 big backpacks, the place is very small and cosy but the staff were really accommodating helping move the bags. Very friendly atmosphere and really quick service, our food was on our table minutes after ordering and tasted delicious. Thank you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingTurle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    115
    40
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Axbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Chocolate!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Great cake, even better hot chocolate! Deffinately worth a stop on a cold day if you're in the area. Very nice (English speaking) staff :)

Helpful?
1 Thank CNorthmore
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
160 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“great neighborhood feel for churros and hot chocolate!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We loved this little neighborhood coffee/churro house.
It seemed very authentic and the fancy coffees and hot chocolates were very good.Make sure to try one with the whip cream if you love real whipped cream. The fresh OJ was also excellent.
The guys running the place were very sweet and offered the guests free cookies both times we visited.
The bar itself is rather small and nothing fancy, but still cozy.There are about 8 tables.
If you enjoy feeling like a local, I'd suggest a visit if you happen to be in that area.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank LLELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Friendly staff, great atmosphere, great CHURROS.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

'Chocolat' is a small typically Spanish cafe with a warm and friendly atmosphere. We went there late morning and it was not too busy, but had a steady stream of locals and regulars through the door. We ordered 'chocolate con churros' for two, and received a good sized portion, the churros were not too greasy so didn't leave you with a heavy feeling. We were also offered a biscuit from a selection presented on a large tray at our table by one of the waiters, which was on the house. Very good value for money and a lovely start to the day. Wish we could make it our morning regular place, but will most certainly be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles Scotland
Level Contributor
272 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great Place for Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great little place on Santa Maria which is ideal for breakfast or snacks later in the day.Staff were very friendly and service was quick.The Churros and chocalate were to die for and there were lots of other menu choices.Prices were very reasonable and service very prompt.Give it a go you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chocolat also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Chocolat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing