We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good basic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid
Ranked #241 of 438 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed at the Mercure for 4 nights in September, in one of the panoramic view rooms. Unfortunately it was on the first floor, so views weren't particular amazing but that was the only downside.

The room itself was spacious, with excellent luxury beds, roomy bathroom (although the styling left us wondering if it had actually been finished). The hotel roof is smaller than the pictures make out, but was never busy when we used it.

This is a great hotel for anyone needing a good quality base from which to explore Madrid.

Room Tip: If you want the panoramic view amke sure you request it beyond the first floor!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UK2America
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,516)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

575 - 581 of 2,516 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel for a couple of days, great central location near to "Callao" but the disappointment came when I asked the receptionist for a single bed, he told me that the hotel was fully booked and that could not be possible, he wasn't really friendly, and after going to the room with 2 little beds, I decided to have a shower, while I was showering I did realised the drainage starting to clogg up and in a few minutes the toilet and part of the room got flooded. I spoke to the guy at the reception and told him about the issue, he said he was sending the engineer to the room. I asked the reception for clean towels as I had to use all the towels to dry the floor but they never arrived. The room was apparently fixed but the drain was starting to clogg again I could see dirty water coming up from the drain itself. At night the air con did not work properly, I was cold all night, the other bed did not have a duvet cover, and the annoying little light next to the bathroom could not be switched off. On the positive sign, the guy who checked me out was very friendly (manager or supervisor) a guy with the beard, so different to the guy at check in, he made me feel not to complain. Hope if I ever get back I will get a nicer room and more friendly staff.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
4  Thank Chriss999uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This hotel is ideal, first and foremost, for location. Great spot and you can walk everywhere. Beyond that it is a reliable, clean bedroom.
The most redeeming feature of this hotel is the rooftop pool area. Nice view and casual, low-key vibe. I took my own bottle of veuve up and watched the sunset without any hassle. I didn't actually swim in the pool but it was popular with the other guests... looked clean etc.
However, I do hate it when a hotel advertises free wifi and doesn't deliver. That annoys me a great deal and Mercure Madrid Santo Domingo was guilty of this.
If they fix their internet, I'll return. :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieK76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank YP_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank BABoySussex
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank silbayle
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I have been in Madrid only for a couple of days but I took care of my hotel reservation long in advance through booking.com and was greatly disapointed about Santo Domingo Hotel as the room that I was given was not even close to the images posted on the web-site. The room was tiny with old cheap furniture and filthy old carpet. Definately to this particular room I wouldn't have given even 2 stars, forget about 4 stars that I actually expected. I am sure that somewhere in this hotel there are those wonderful stylish rooms that they advertise, but apparently I had to pay extra to get one of those. In addition to that it was November and the room was pretty cold and even with heating system working on maximum it took quite a while to warm this place up and only starting from second night the temperature was comfortable.
As for the price... for the room I expected the price I paid would have been a good deal, but for the room that I've got it was way too expensive.
The only positive side was the location that was great indeed.
I personaly would never come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LucyTNF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Catalonia Gran Via
Catalonia Gran Via
#185 of 438 in Madrid
1,387 reviews
Malasana
Dear Hotel Madrid
Dear Hotel Madrid
#91 of 438 in Madrid
1,465 reviews
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Emperador Hotel Madrid
Emperador Hotel Madrid
#142 of 438 in Madrid
2,255 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Urban
Hotel Urban
#24 of 438 in Madrid
1,976 reviews
Malasana
Courtyard Madrid Princesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid

Address: Calle San Bernardo 1, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Mercure Madrid Santo Domingo)
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#150 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $101 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santo Domingo enjoys a privileged location in the touristic and commercial center of Madrid. One of its highlights are the 200 themed rooms, with wall paintings by emerging artists, the unmistakable hall, with vaults of porcelain and gold leaf, and the public car park, decorated with evocative and magical scenes. More than 1200 m2 with natural light to family celebrations and corporate events. Swimming pool on the rooftop terrace (only opened during summer months) offers the best view of the very heart of Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Mirai, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Madrid Santo Domingo Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing