We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location in Madrid” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid
Ranked #232 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location in Madrid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the beginning of our trip and returned for two additional nights at the end of our 14 day trip to Spain. The location of the hotel is great. We were walking distance to so many places. The metro stop was outside of the hotel and also a half of a block from Trafalgar tours. We took an early morning full day tour to Toledo and the city tour also. The hotel was friendly with a great breakfast buffet and really good coffee. We requested a themed room when we came back for the last two nights. The staff was really helpful and the Restaurant which we had a late lunch at was a definite 5 star.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliag_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clara V, Director de Marketing at Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. We appreciate your kind words about breakfast and restaurant.

It is glad to heard that you enjoyed time at Hotel. It will be pleasure to host you again un the future.

Regards,

Antonio Núñez Pardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    903
    539
    255
    141
See reviews for
355
1,021
150
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Went for a 3 night break in Madrid at the Hotel Mercure Santo Domingo fantastic location room was a queen double funky pink shower room with beautiful new fitments and window overlooking the street below great for people watching - lush green wallpaper with flat screen TV in situ well stocked mini bar and desk compact but plenty of room for what we needed. Great staff could not do enough for us when my mobile phone went missing they even rang the number so we could check if it was in the room - breakfast was superb got chatting to a lovely Spanish lady who told us to come along to a local dance that evening. Absolutely no complaints we loved it and would definitely recommend and go there again. An ideal base for a city break in Madrid. Only downside was the bar closed early but apart from that very happy/

Room Tip: Go for a Queen or King room a bit larger than a standard double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank murphs67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clara V, Director de Marketing at Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all thank you very much for staying with us. We are very happy that you liked our Hotel, but particullary that you enjoyed the service our staff have provided.

We would be delighted if you stay again in the future.

Regards,

Antonio Núñez Pardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We arrived here in the afternoon and headed straight out and came back late in the evening. When we got back after a long day, the bath was dirty with hairs in and the towels dirty with another persons make up on. I phoned for clean towels which came up straight away. Upon getting into bed I noticed that the pillow also had make up on, the rest of the bed was ok. The hotel did offer to change our room, however by this time we had unpacked so I just asked for the room to be cleaned again which it was. After that no issues with hotel stay (apart from the hair dryer which is really slow-take your own). The breakfast was great and they had fresh gluten free bread, cereal and cakes for me every morning as well as the rest of the buffet (fruit, yoghurt, ham, cheese, eggs etc...). Hotel is in a great location to walk to everything and right opposite the metro so you can get the metro to and from the airport (30mins-2 changes). Lovely cocktail bar downstairs in a cave - try the rosé petal mojito!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mcyi6hw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clara V, Director de Marketing at Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all thank you very much for staying with us. Your compliments of our cocktail bar (Las Cuevas), breakfast and location are very much appreciated.

We are very sorry for the inconvenience that we may caused you. I hope you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Regards,

Antonio Núñez Pardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Service very good except the breakfast room were new management is required. Cold food,empty trays of food, tables not made up.

Check in & baggage service excellent.

Carpet was badly stained in our room & was not cleaned when requested.

Patiooff bedroom was dirty

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Monceaufox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clara V, Director de Marketing at Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all thank you very much for staying with us.

Your comments about breakfast are vital part of our business because we are able to improve the service we offer guests in our hotel. Anyway it's glad to hear your comment about our staff.

I hope you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Regards,

Antonio Núñez Pardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed here and found the rooms very small. Although the decor was modern it was done over old fittings and somehow the 2 don't go. We really battled for space and couldn't even open our suitcases. The hotel is very well situated though. Its right in the heart of Madrid's old town and shopping was a pleasure in the surrounding area. To be fair the building is in a very old part of town and all of the buildings in the area are small with narrow passages. It does have a roof top swimming pool which was quite busy when we went up there. The bar isn't really anything special and is situated down in the Lobby.

Room Tip: Book a big room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dionne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clara V, Director de Marketing at Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all thank you very much for staying with us. It's glad to hear your comment about our location. We would like apologize for not achieve your expectations.

It will be a real pleasure for us to host you in our Hotel again, this time in a corner room.

Regards,

Antonio Núñez Pardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel was perfect. A fair price for the location. Across the street from the hotel were 3 restaurants and a grocery store. Many things to see were within an easy walk. The rooms were basic and not very big, but clean. We had an outside room. There was a little street noise, but nothing that bothered us. The hotel staff was great and eagerly helped us out whenever we had questions. I would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank hikebig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clara V, Director de Marketing at Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Mercure Madrid Santo Domingo and for your recommendation. We are very happy that you liked our Hotel, but particullary that you enjoyed the service our staff have provided.

It will be a real pleasure for us to host you in our Hotel again.

Regards,

Antonio Núñez Pardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rielasingen-Worblingen, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Room was quite small for 2, just space to walk around the bed, however all clean and nice. Breakfast is terrific, all what you can imagine. Location is central; plaza major is in walking distance, metro at the hotel entrance, shopping area in walking distance, international and national restaurants right there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clara V, Director de Marketing at Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. It's glad to hear your nice words about breakfast and location. We are sorry to hear the room size was not suitable for you.

It will be pleasure to host you again un the future, this time in a corner room.

Regards,

Antonio Núeñez Pardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Emperador Hotel Madrid
Emperador Hotel Madrid
#148 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Centro
Petit Palace San Bernardo
Petit Palace San Bernardo
#106 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malasana
Dear Hotel Madrid
Dear Hotel Madrid
#130 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Centro
Catalonia Gran Via
Catalonia Gran Via
#169 of 444 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Malasana
Courtyard Madrid Princesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid

Property: Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid
Address: Calle San Bernardo 1, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Mercure Madrid Santo Domingo)
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#144 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santo Domingo enjoys a privileged location in the touristic and commercial center of Madrid. One of its highlights are the 200 themed rooms, with wall paintings by emerging artists, the unmistakable hall, with vaults of porcelain and gold leaf, and the public car park, decorated with evocative and magical scenes. More than 1200 m2 with natural light to family celebrations and corporate events. Swimming pool on the rooftop terrace (only opened during summer months) offers the best view of the very heart of Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Madrid Santo Domingo Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing