We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid
Ranked #240 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights at the end of March and could not fault the hotel. The situation was perfect, the staff friendly and although the room at the back of the hotel was small, it was quiet and we were not disturbed. The breakfast was excellent and the bar staff were great. I would not hesitate in recommending the hotel for a short break, but ask for a room at the back of the hotel as our friends at the front, in a so called "upgraded" room found the traffic noises disturbing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, the view at the front is not worth it and the traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clara V, Director de Marketing at Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all thank you very much for staying with us. We appreciate your kind words and reccommendation.

We hope to see you again in a near future.

Regards,

Antonio Núñez Pardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

697 - 703 of 2,585 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

When I booked the hotel they said that they will be giving me a gift as part of the reservation. I have not seen anything of a gift in the room nor did the reception say anything, I am a member of accor and I know the wifi is free to any guest. All in all very nice hotel, great location and even has a Michelin star chef in the restaurant on its premises

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank paolotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clara V, Director de Marketing at Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Mercure Madrid Santo Domingo and for your recommendation. Our gift is a welcome drink, so you have to ask for it at the reception.

We appreciate your kind words and reccommendation.

We hope to see you again in a near future.

Regards,

Antonio Núñez Pardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Having read some of the reports on Trip Advisor, I was a little wary of the hotel. All my fears were unfounded and I was unable to find fault with this hotel, no matter how hard I tried. There were 10 of us on the trip, 5 double rooms spread over 2 floors (6th and 2nd). The rooms between the floors were different and in fact, all rooms were different, full stop. We chose to go for the superior rooms so I can not vouch for the standard rooms and so glad we chose to spend a few Euros more as it was faultless. The reception staff were all friendly and efficient, the reception area spotless, the rooms clean, inviting and bright. Breakfast was a buffet, included in the price and was of a very good standard. There was something to suit everyone and you could revisit as many times as you wanted, waist line permitting ! Orange juice was superb. It was busy some mornings but the staff tried to make sure that none of the trays were empty for very long with fresh supplies being brought from the kitchen. This was a relaxing affair and the opening times were generous.
The staff were very helpful when asked any questions and bent over backwards to assist us. The hotel is extremely central. We had almost 5 days there in total and saw most of what Madrid had to offer. We walked a lot but had a lady with us in her 80's and she coped relatively easily. The youngest in the group was aged 12. The Santo Domingo Metro is right outside the hotel along with a supermarket which sells excellent fresh food and drinks, all at very reasonable prices. The Metro ticket costs 5 Euro's and involves 2 changes from the airport - Lines 8, change at Nuevos Ministerios, Line 10, change at Noviciados, Line 2 one stop to Santo Domingo. Make sure you get on the train going in the correct direction and most importantly, be vigilant for pickpockets, keep your belongings secure and valuables out of sight. Watch out for each other. We were all sad to go as it was such a relaxing break with hassle free service throughout. I would do nothing but thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone but would suggest use of the superior rooms over the standard as I know these are very good. The swimming pool was shut incidentally but not sure I would like to have spent long on the roof in 10 degree air temperatures. I am not connected in any way, shape or form to the hotel and this is a totally independent review. I hope you like it as much as we all did.

Room Tip: Superior recommended. Rooms on the inside are marginally quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank g0bha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clara V, Director de Marketing at Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Mercure Madrid Santo Domingo and for your recommendation.

Your compliments of our rooms, breakfast and staff are very much appreciated. It is glad to heard that you enjoyed time at Hotel.

It will be pleasure to host you again un the future.

Regards,

Antonio Núñez Pardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights with friends. Hotel is 1 min walk from the Gran Via & 10 or so from Plaza Mayor. Metro stop right outside so easy to get around. Nice bar area.
Breakfast was good - plenty of choice.
Room was fine, plenty of space for 2 people.
Would stay again if in Madrid.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutto74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clara V, Director de Marketing at Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. We are very happy that you had a nice stay with us.

It will be pleasure to host you again un the future.

Regards,

Antonio Núñez Pardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good points for this hotel are:
*very comfortable beds
*delicious breakfasts
*very clean
*excellent location next to the Santo Domingo metro station. Gran Via and the Royal Palace a short distance away.

A negative was that the room door did not fit properly, thus letting in a high level of light and noise.
I would stay in this hotel again, but in a different room.

Room Tip: Check that room does not let in lots of light and noise before unpacking!! May be worth paying for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeicestershireEden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We booked this hotel based on our positive experiences with Mercure in Spain and Porto - big mistake - should have checked the Tripadvisor reviews first. Can confirm the negative reports. We were shown a shoebox sized room with a narrow window 30cm wide window on the first floor (where more shoebox sized rooms are being renovated). Went back to the stoney faced reception staff and asked for another room. Was told as we had booked the cheapest room that was what you got for your money and that we could upgrade to a "superior" room in the other wing for an additional Euro 15 per night (metre high signage next to reception advising this!) Guess this is how they make their money, knowing very few would put up with such a minute room (not even room for a suitcase). Checked out the "superior" room which he proudly said had a balcony. This new "uniquely decorated room with balcony had a narrow entrance hallway, good sized bathroom with 1980's fixtures, purple carpet, mauve walls and a gaudy floral feature wallpapered wall behind the bed. Visions of basking on the balcony were dashed - a 50cm wide ledge encased in a 80cm high concrete wall and no sun all day! We were tired and we took the room. When we tried to plug in our computers/phones to load them, found that none of the 8 powerpoints worked - just the hairdryer point in the bathroom. Tried to read in bed that night and found that the bedside lamps and the LED reading light were also not working. In the bathroom there was a lever operated window which was used to ventilate the bedroom. Unfortunately a vital part needed to ensure that the flap window did not come crashing down onto the head of some victim was missing. We reported these issues to reception next morning and they were fixed during that day. The room and the thick doona on the bed made sleeping extremely uncomfortable. The noise from the laneway outside meant that the window could not be left open to sleep without earplugs. The mattress/ pillow felt like you were sleeping on concrete - no pillow menu here - although other Mercures had a selection. The breakfast was the lousiest we have had in our 6 weeks of travel throughout Spain and Portugal. Cold fried eggs, cold boiled eggs, no toast/toaster, tepid scrambled eggs, pathetic selection of very ordinary fruit (sliced oranges, chunks of pineapple and tinned peaches). Refilling was very slow/reluctant. Hotel location good for sightseeing, but there are better hotels around .

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank AussieAbr0ad13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We arrived at the hotel around 10.30pm and were sent to a room that had not been cleaned (with no bed sheets and dirty towels on the floor). Went down to reception and were given another room but this time smaller than the 1st one, really shabby with no view and no air conditioning (apparently the rooms don't have air conditioning!!! only heating!!). We call reception to complain and had to pay for an upgrade in order to get one of the more decent room (but I wouldn't say 4 stars quality!!!). The hotel must have looked very nice in the past and it's obvious that it hasn't been maintained or updated for quite a while. The only good thing is the location!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BernieB129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Emperador Hotel Madrid
Emperador Hotel Madrid
#144 of 440 in Madrid
2,330 reviews
Centro
Petit Palace Plaza Espana
Petit Palace Plaza Espana
#114 of 440 in Madrid
792 reviews
Centro
Dear Hotel Madrid
Dear Hotel Madrid
#80 of 440 in Madrid
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Indigo Madrid - Gran Via
Centro
Hotel Mayorazgo
Hotel Mayorazgo
#167 of 440 in Madrid
2,053 reviews
Malasana
Hotel Vincci Via 66
Hotel Vincci Via 66
#112 of 440 in Madrid
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid

Address: Calle San Bernardo 1, 28013 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Mercure Madrid Santo Domingo)
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#151 Luxury Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $76 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santo Domingo enjoys a privileged location in the touristic and commercial center of Madrid. One of its highlights are the 200 themed rooms, with wall paintings by emerging artists, the unmistakable hall, with vaults of porcelain and gold leaf, and the public car park, decorated with evocative and magical scenes. More than 1200 m2 with natural light to family celebrations and corporate events. Swimming pool on the rooftop terrace (only opened during summer months) offers the best view of the very heart of Madrid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mirai, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Santo Domingo Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Madrid Santo Domingo Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing