We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ambiance and service, big portions”
Review of Taberna Alhambra

Taberna Alhambra
Ranked #257 of 10,780 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $19
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centro
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance and service, big portions”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Ive been here three times, but today it was the first time i went for a real meal and not just a drink and a tapa. And I enjoyed it a lot! We are not very big eaters, so we just wanted to order a paella, a portion of tortilla, and then by suggestion of the waiter, we ate a tapa of pork (I don't remember the name, but it was the first one of the menu section, with apricot jam).

Tortilla was huge for 3€! I could be full just with that. The eggs are not super cooked, but that's just the way I like tortilla, and I guess this is why some people say their tortilla is weird.... Then the pork tapa was super delicious, and much bigger than i expected, as I'm used to smaller tapas. Finally the paella was also good, although probably not the the best I've tasted.

The thing I like about this place, is that they offer you a tapa when you order your drinks, and we had choricitos with patatas fritas. The waiters are also very joyful and funny, and the ambiance is really cool.

Im definitely coming back in the future!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mimi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    513
    551
    121
    43
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tourist trap?”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Contrary to many of the other reviews, I thought the food was average at best and not especially cheap - just the going rate. The paella had closed mussels, prawns which hadn't been de-veined and loads of bones in the chicken. I don't mind rustic, but it felt sloppy to me. The tortilla de patatas was weird and gloopy too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank topoebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“This is not Taberna Alhambra -”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Note that many of the reviews below are for a different restaurant - the Taberna Alhambra. We went to this address which is a very dour Arab restaurant La Alhambra - clearly the reviews below are for Taberna Alhambra which is in Calle Victoria. La Alhambra does not serve alcohol and the staff we encountered are very reserved. We realised the confusion and did not stay - we found Taberna Alhambra which is about 15 mins walk away.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asse, België
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My favourite tapas bar in Madrid”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was on Erasmus for a year in Madrid and this was my favourite bar for tapas. Excellent food and the friendliest waiters in town. Be sure to try the vermouth too!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraLens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Come Here!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I must say, the Calle victoria in Madrid does host good Restaurants. And taberna Alhambra is definetly one of the best! the meals are cheap and delicious! very very original dishes, no tourist trap. Order daily meal! It allows you to choose two dishes (entry and main course) for only 15 Euro and for best quality. Try Rice with lobster!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuperSongoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taberna Alhambra also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Taberna Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing