We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outside eating oasis in La Latina neighborhood” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Taberna del Capitan Alatriste

La Taberna del Capitan Alatriste
Ranked #140 of 10,440 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $64
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: La Latina
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outside eating oasis in La Latina neighborhood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Outside dining environment estupendo! Service and food excellent as well. Stumbled onto this place late our first night in Madrid and it was magical. Warm summer evening, outside dining on a quiet street, with a wait staff that made us feel special.
Classic Madrid gazpacho and cold almond soup were scrumptous. We also had ham croquettes and the house specialty -Lebrijana's Bread Crumbs (bread, eggs, chorizo, bacon, garlic and grapes) which was fantastic! And can't forget about the delicious rioja for ~$3.50 a glass.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bev1ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    176
    45
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great restaurant and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

just staying in Madrid for a few days and found this restaurant just off Plaza Mayor.
The food was fantastic especially the suckling pig. The head waiter was great made us so welcome. Still recovering from the complementary shots of Spanish Grappa . Do not miss it

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gregory010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place and Fantastic Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

The roast suckling pig here was the best we had in Spain, and the rest of our meal was very good. The service was fantastic. The waiter went out of his way to accommodate us. I wholeheartedly recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just walked in this restaurant in the old Madrid. Excellent food, especially the calamari and the lamb where outstanding! For local specialties, the Cayos were excellent. Great house wine too. Combined with good service, it was a very pleasant surprise.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jmgGVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent food, attentive service, and shady outside eating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We first ate at La Taberna del Capitan Alatriste on a glorious summer evening in Madrid. We were attracted by the outside eating area, especially as very few good restaurants in the area cater for those wanting to eat outside. We couldn't fault the food or the service. I had the Cochinillo Asado (roast suckling pig), described by the waiter as the house special - and it was simply delicious. We enjoyed the meal so much we returned later in the week and were not disappointed; we skipped the entrees on the second occasion as their serves are generous. They also have a good wine list.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Margot349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taberna del Capitan Alatriste also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to La Taberna del Capitan Alatriste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing