We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“One night in madrid” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of AC Hotel Atocha

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AC Hotel Atocha
Ranked #176 of 446 Hotels in Madrid
Suffolk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One night in madrid”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here en route back to a Channel port after a holiday in Spain. Arrived at about 4pm on a Sat with only one night's stay in which to explore Madrid for the first time. Managed to walk to Palacio Real and back via Calle Atocha, Gran Via and Paseo del Prado and have dinner, all without rushing, and in bed by 10pm. Room was spotless and quiet in the 2nd building through the garden - a little hard to find, but certainly not a block and a half away as suggested elsewhere. Decor is austere/modern and the shower cube is certainly unusual, but no big deal for a married couple! Rather too many hard edges to negotiate in the dark when seeking the bathroom in the middle of the night without waking a partner. More annoying was the light in the toilet which switched on with a motion detector, but off again after only 20 secs. Waving something appropriate restored illumination! Breakfast buffet is better than average. All staff were friendly. Not easy to drive to from the south, but nothing in central Madrid would be, However departing to the north straight up the Paseo (on a Sunday) was a doddle. Would definitely stay here again and probably will as have both fallen in love with Madrid.

Room Tip: No street noise in 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkSnowbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    347
    125
    25
    22
See reviews for
72
289
55
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed here for one night on business. The rooms are of a very modern and contemporary design with see through shower "cubes". Personally I think these are very cool and the layout works well. It is true that some people would not like the idea of a glass shower cube so be warned.

My room was spotlessly clean and of a good size. Nice big flatscreen TV with lots of premium channels. I used room service for a light lunch and it was the fastest I have ever encountered!

I tried the restaurant in the evening and the food was good and the wine was ridiculously cheap. I ordered what I thought was the price for a glass of a premium Reserva Rioja and actually got a whole bottle!

My only niggle came at breakfast the next morning. They stop serving at 10:00am. I arrived at 09:50 and was immediately told that they were about to stop service (I said no problem). As it consists of a cold buffet I thought they were being somewhat over zealous in their clearing away which commenced before 10:00am. I managed to get what I wanted though although getting a few dirty looks from the restaurant supervisor in the process. Definitely not someone that should be employed in a customer facing role!

I would return and given its proximity to the metro it would be a good place to explore Madrid from if you wanted good quality rooms without paying more for a more central location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sirbalkansobranie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on business, pleasant hotel with very modern rooms. The shower in the room is quite a feature as it is glass cubicle towards the centre of the room! I had a room on the first floor which was quite noisy due to the hotel mid town location. The bar area is adequate and the food is nothing special

Room Tip: avoid low floor rooms as can be noisy. 109 seems to be right above car park/goods yard entrance and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is a nice hotel if you want to be near the train station. A good location if you need to get around the Madrid area. I was there for business for two days and this was very convenient. Typical breakfast and lounge area. Clean and equipt. Would stay again. If on holiday, I would likely choose a more central hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Level Contributor
378 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights while attending a conference. The rooms were small but adequate for me. The bathrooms were modern with a nice shower and amenities. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel staff was helpful and very courteous. WiFi was charged in the room, but free in the hotel/bar area. Breakfast was fine, but not available until 8 AM on Sunday so if you have an early flight, you will miss breakfast. The hotel is located near the train station if you need to go to another city, but is far from the center of Madrid. Taxis are readily available to take you to the Prado museum (not too far at all). I would go back, but if I wanted to be more centrally located, then I would go to another place. There are several typical bars and restaurants in the immediate area. There was some noise from the hallways and elevator opening & closing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the more central areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dogeyedoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Excellent location, close to El Prado and Reina Sofia museums as well to El Retiro Park. Close to the Atocha station for either train or metro transfers. The AC chain in Europe is a Marriot affiliated chain. Room are spacious and clean and the bathrooms are ultra modern. The property is well kept and provides a full breakfast for Euro 15 per person is one so desires. Parking is available. I had a car and to head south towards Toledo on a day trip was a snap. Easy walking distance to Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor and Palacio Real. I will come back

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TG_Tulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is not an awful hotel, but it is simply not up to the Marriott standard. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and quiet, which of course is the most important thing, so had it just been any Madrid hotel, I would have only been mildly annoyed. However, having stayed in Marriotts all over the world as a rewards member, I was expecting far better than what I got here, and it was infuriating.

The front desk staff is simply not helpful, as I see other reviewers have mentioned. The first night we were there, we needed extra towels. We asked in person at the front desk and they said they would call for more. When they didn't arrive, we called the front desk a couple hours later. They said they'd send some, but they still didn't arrive, and we eventually gave up. When we asked for directions, the Madrid map they provided didn't include the hotel. "It's right here," the woman explained, pointing a couple of inches off the map. So you're lost as soon as you step out the front door, because you first have to find your way onto the map.

All the Marriott rewards program literature makes it very clear that gold members are entitled to a free breakfast. We are gold members, but the hotel insisted that they didn't participate in this promotion. (The breakfast is quite limited here and is by no means a huge meal, so they were basically annoying frequent customers to avoid giving us a couple of free pieces of toast.)

I'm used to going into Marriotts with our gold card and receiving great service in exchange, but the rewards program didn't seem to ring a bell at all here. It's not unusual for us to receive room upgrades. While I never go in expecting one, I do expect to at least not receive the worst-located room, which is what we got here. The hotel has two separate buildings connected by a courtyard/walkway, and it's literally a block and a half away. To reach our room, we had to go in the front door, take the elevator to a lower floor, walk down a long hallway, walk through the outdoor walkway, and take the next elevator to the sixth floor. This is particularly annoying when you consider that the keys they gave us rarely worked on the first try. Sometimes we would insert the key upwards of ten times before we'd get the little green light. After you've hiked to your room after a long day of sightseeing, the last thing you want to do is go all the way back to the front desk to get your key fixed, but we did this twice. And this wasn't a one-time issue - all the keys we were given in our six night there were bad. I complained to the front desk about how annoying the key thing was and didn't even get an apology.

If you're looking for a clean hotel near the train station, this is an okay choice. But if you're expecting Marriott service, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the main building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
AC Hotel Carlton Madrid
#150 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Rafaelhoteles Atocha
#192 of 446 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Retiro
NH Madrid Atocha
NH Madrid Atocha
#145 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Paseo del Arte
Hotel Paseo del Arte
#116 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,793 reviews
Paseo del Prado
SLEEP'N Atocha
SLEEP'N Atocha
#86 of 446 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Paseo del Prado
Hotel Mediodia
Hotel Mediodia
#200 of 446 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Atocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Atocha

Property: AC Hotel Atocha
Address: Calle Delicias 42, 28045 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 446 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Atocha 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your AC Hotel Atocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing