We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
NH Madrid Nacional(Madrid)
$134
$110
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $139/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$201
$189
Only YOU Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of $156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$187
$172
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$125
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor(Madrid)
$214
$195
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$258
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $293/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$277
$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Catalonia Las Cortes(Madrid)
$172
$156
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$301
$283
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $317/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (908)
Filter reviews
908 results
Traveler rating
231
453
159
34
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
453
159
34
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationglass showerclear glassmain buildingshower cabinwalking distanceminute walkmodern designhotel is locatedstayed here for one nightreina sofiatapasconvenient locationbusiness tripprado museumbreakfast buffet isplaza mayor
Filter
Updating list...
324 - 329 of 908 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights while attending a conference. The rooms were small but adequate for me. The bathrooms were modern with a nice shower and amenities. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel staff was helpful and very courteous. WiFi was charged in the room, but free in the hotel/bar area. Breakfast was fine, but not available until 8 AM on Sunday so if you have an early flight, you will miss breakfast. The hotel is located near the train station if you need to go to another city, but is far from the center of Madrid. Taxis are readily available to take you to the Prado museum (not too far at all). I would go back, but if I wanted to be more centrally located, then I would go to another place. There are several typical bars and restaurants in the immediate area. There was some noise from the hallways and elevator opening & closing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the more central areas.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dogeyedoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Excellent location, close to El Prado and Reina Sofia museums as well to El Retiro Park. Close to the Atocha station for either train or metro transfers. The AC chain in Europe is a Marriot affiliated chain. Room are spacious and clean and the bathrooms are ultra modern. The property is well kept and provides a full breakfast for Euro 15 per person is one so desires. Parking is available. I had a car and to head south towards Toledo on a day trip was a snap. Easy walking distance to Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor and Palacio Real. I will come back

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TG_Tulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is not an awful hotel, but it is simply not up to the Marriott standard. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and quiet, which of course is the most important thing, so had it just been any Madrid hotel, I would have only been mildly annoyed. However, having stayed in Marriotts all over the world as a rewards member, I was expecting far better than what I got here, and it was infuriating.

The front desk staff is simply not helpful, as I see other reviewers have mentioned. The first night we were there, we needed extra towels. We asked in person at the front desk and they said they would call for more. When they didn't arrive, we called the front desk a couple hours later. They said they'd send some, but they still didn't arrive, and we eventually gave up. When we asked for directions, the Madrid map they provided didn't include the hotel. "It's right here," the woman explained, pointing a couple of inches off the map. So you're lost as soon as you step out the front door, because you first have to find your way onto the map.

All the Marriott rewards program literature makes it very clear that gold members are entitled to a free breakfast. We are gold members, but the hotel insisted that they didn't participate in this promotion. (The breakfast is quite limited here and is by no means a huge meal, so they were basically annoying frequent customers to avoid giving us a couple of free pieces of toast.)

I'm used to going into Marriotts with our gold card and receiving great service in exchange, but the rewards program didn't seem to ring a bell at all here. It's not unusual for us to receive room upgrades. While I never go in expecting one, I do expect to at least not receive the worst-located room, which is what we got here. The hotel has two separate buildings connected by a courtyard/walkway, and it's literally a block and a half away. To reach our room, we had to go in the front door, take the elevator to a lower floor, walk down a long hallway, walk through the outdoor walkway, and take the next elevator to the sixth floor. This is particularly annoying when you consider that the keys they gave us rarely worked on the first try. Sometimes we would insert the key upwards of ten times before we'd get the little green light. After you've hiked to your room after a long day of sightseeing, the last thing you want to do is go all the way back to the front desk to get your key fixed, but we did this twice. And this wasn't a one-time issue - all the keys we were given in our six night there were bad. I complained to the front desk about how annoying the key thing was and didn't even get an apology.

If you're looking for a clean hotel near the train station, this is an okay choice. But if you're expecting Marriott service, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the main building!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights after taking AVE from Valladolid and wanted to go to Madrid transport museum. The location isn't great for exploring Madrid but this hotel is very good value if you like modern slightly businessy hotels. Room was slightly in the small side and no hit food at breakfast but after a week if hot buffet breakfasts the change was welcome! There's a charge for Wifi but it's free in huge lobby and we wre on floor 2 and te laptop (not mobiles) could pick up the free wifi but the speed wasn't great.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I travelled with a friend to Madrid and found the Atocha easily located near the main Atocha train station. We walked with luggage from the station.

The hotel is decorated in mainly dark grey colour with contemporary features. It felt quite corporate and we only saw one other woman guest in the 2 nights there.

The hotel is extremely clean and has all the basics in the room, other than complimentary tea/coffees that we are used to in the UK.

it's very stylish but with all the dark grey, felt a bit oppressive.

If sharing a room, you would need to know the other person very well as there was no separating door to the bathroom area. When using the loo or shower, we had to ask the other to stay in the bedroom area and turn the music up!!!

I didn't sleep well on the first night as being a light sleeper and the room was by the road. We changed rooms for the second night and were located by the quiet garden. Much better for sleep. However, when we came home late and walked through the garden to get to that part of the hotel, felt a little nervous as it was pretty dark.

Overall, a perfectly ok hotel typically 3 out of 5.

Room Tip: Choose a room by the garden not the road but by aware that it is a dimly lit garden you pass through to get to the other part of the hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snapdragon66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews