We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEDBUGS! DON'T STAY HERE!”
Review of Hostal Zamoran

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Zamoran
Ranked #180 of 278 Madrid B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Horrible place. When we checked in we saw guests leaving early, complaining & showing their bedbug scars to the manager after staying overnight. No talking allowed after 12AM. No visitors allowed - very impractical for families & groups visiting cities together. Manager is completely mental! 12PM checkout time is STRICT - 15 or even 5 mins past will result in additional fee for ANOTHER NIGHT. THREATENED to call police using our passport & credit card info! Overall horrible experience with risk of bedbugs, & unreasonable management.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Th3Canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Zamoran
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 106 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

the only good thing about the hostel is its location but i don't think it's worth the money because of the following reasons:
1) the lady was very friendly to us on the first day but when we left 15 mins late after check out time on the last day, she completely changed her attitude and insisted on charging us for another day of staying in the hostel. she was being uncompromising and she also lied about knocking on our door to remind us to check out when we were in the room the whole time just chilling
2)the lady threatened us with reporting to the police and using our passport number against us which was really an unacceptable way of treating the customers
3) on our first day of check in, we saw people getting bed bugs bites and reporting to the lady. we stayed in the hostel only because we had to pay in advance and we were taking a risk because cancelling booking would require the same amount of money of the booking, which would double our cost and is such a ripe off
4) the staff does not speak good english so as a foreign visitor, i would not recommend people to stay on this hostel
5) something extra: if you are also concerned about the hostel experience of just meeting people and having fun there, this hostel does not provide anything and there is no common chilling area, there is also strict policy about staying quiet at all times and guests are not allowed in rooms at all

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jazz1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

right in the city centre, on a long street full of shops and bars. 1 minute from the metro station, very easy to find. friendly and nice staff, room clean and big enough. good free of charge wi-fi signal in the room. perfect for exploring Madrid and perfect for a shopping-trip. excellent value for money. if you are there, try Lateral restaurant, it s very close and the food and service is amazing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Cristina0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed there with some friends and all I can say is that we were really pleased with the place. It's right in the center of Madrid, at walking distance from Puerta del Sol and Plaza Mayor. The street of the hostal itself is really crowded and busy during the day and there you can find lots of shops and restaurants.
The hostal is in an ancient building with quite a beautiful entrance hall. The lady that greeted us at the reception was really nice and helpful, but it may be that she has difficulty with the english language. We communicated in spanish and If you speak or at least understand it you won't have any trouble. The ensuite triple room that I stayed in was really clean and big enough for our needs.
The price was EXCELLENT for the quality of the rooms and the location. Way, way better than other hostals I've stayed in, even in Madrid.
The only thing I can point as negative is that the room really isnt' soundproof at all and you hear quite some noise from the street. That didn't bother us at all since we only came back to the room late at night.
One other thing is that at night, the street has many prostitutes walking around that try to talk to you but they are not hard to avoid or ditch.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pedro V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Dead centre of Madrid, room was spotless and had a balcony which overlooked a tree lined street
Bathroom was small but very clean and adequate.Walls are thin but if you're in Madrid you don't go for a rest!
Central location in Fuencarral , close to bars, restaurants and shops , very helpful staff .
Modern lift to hostal which is on 2nd floor. Coffee machine in lobby .
Would recommend this hostel to anyone but over 50's might find it a little too noisy from the street

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Hostal Zamoran was basic but we got what we paid for. We stayed in December 2010 when even Madrid was having heavy snowfalls, and unlike other reviewers we didn't find the rooms cold at all. The location is brilliant, our party were aged from 19 to 50 and we all loved the area. It could have been noisy at night but we honestly didn't notice - the metal shutters and heavy curtains effectively shut out all noise and light and I had a better nights sleep than I normally do in my own bed. The street is perfect for shopping, lots of designer goods alternating with little "pound shops" - something for everyone. The staff spoke a little English but tried hard to communicate and extra pillows and towels were provided on request. Am planning to return to Mardrid in warmer weather and would definitely stay here again, which has promted me to write a review at this late stage. If what you want is a clean and comfortable base in good central location then you wont be disappointed with Zamoran.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BertienBryce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We rented an appartment, the rooms are very basic but clean. the owners are nice and speak a bit english. the location is right in the city and easily accessible, but the biggest problems is that the appartments are located at calle de hortaleza, one of the busiest nightlife streets in madrid. bring earplugs if you want to sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lexx93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Chueca
Hostal Zamora
Hostal Zamora
#205 of 438 in Madrid
231 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#15 of 438 in Madrid
1,672 reviews
Malasana
Hostales Breogan & Kryse
Hostales Breogan & Kryse
#189 of 278 in Madrid
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Hostal Sonsoles
Hostal Sonsoles
#47 of 412 in Madrid
189 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Mario
Room Mate Mario
#41 of 438 in Madrid
1,888 reviews
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
#156 of 438 in Madrid
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Zamoran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Zamoran

Address: Calle Fuencarral No 18 | 2º Izq, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Chueca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 278 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range: $46 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Zamoran 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Zamoran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing