We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Hostal Ivor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Ivor
Ranked #62 of 281 Madrid B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 9, 2012

A great value Hostal right in the centre of Madrid, excellent location for walking to all the major sites. The room and ensuite were spotlessly clean. The staff are very friendly and happy to help. It mentions on the website that there are mini fridges in each room, we were in two single rooms and neither had a fridge, but when we mentioned this a small fridge was brought straight away :). I would definately recommend the Hostal Ivor for a budget stay in Madrid. I will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank carlybumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 120 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

this is more like motel to me. extremely central location but the rooms are surprisingly quiet! love it! the owner's very hands on and the rest of the staff are very friendly!! very clean place! rooms come with private toilet/bathroom,air-con n tv! air-con is sooo handy for madrid's sizzling summer. hostel price for motel level! love it!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NZGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

For the price, it doesn't get much better than Hostal Ivor in Madrid. Right near the Sol stop on the metro, it is located in a prime place in town near several shops, restaurants, and sights. That being said, the noise levels can get high during the night as Madrid comes alive, but if you close your balcony doors (we had a juliet balcony) and turn on the air conditioning, it becomes much less of an issue. The room and bathroom was clean with working a/c and a small refridgerator perfect for storing our waterbottles. Staff was helpful and easy to work with. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay at Hostal Ivor.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LrRiding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Plus points:
- Location: very very good location near sol and opera metro stations. Near some very good and famous food outlets such as Casa Labra (cod fritters & croquettes) and Chocolateria San Gines (churros)
- Notable amenities: Small refrigerator in room, as well as a bathtub.
- Room specific: The room was slightly bigger than expected (considering the utterly central location) and had a good street view of Calle del Arenal (I had room 4)

Minus points:
- Made us wait outside the building under the hot sun while we buzzed the intercom repeatedly. The hostal was all the way on level 3 of the building! Later, we found out that the receptionist was doubling as the chambermaid and was busy clearing our room rather than manning the reception - and thus was not aware of the intercom buzzing away (while we stood outside the building perspiring away). This is not really a complaint of her - it wasnt really her fault, but i feel that this system isnt really good.
- Blankets are incredibly thin - more like sheets!

Overall this hotel is decent, except for the poor welcome given (bad first impressions).
The location alone IS good enough reason for one to try out this hotel, however - yep it's really THAT good!
*** And also do note that Hostal Ivor == Hostal Mayritt. The are the same, according to the receptionist.

Room Tip: My room was 4, which had a great view of the street were we could enjoy the atmosphere without stepp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cowfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank NKLIK
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The staff was excellent they had someone at the desk 24hrs very secure. We had to buzz ourselves in never had to wait for more than a minute someone always came and opened the door for us. It was so easily accessible to cafes, restaurants, the royal palace, Prado musueum. Great value for the price paid. The rooms were on the tinier side but it did not bother us, our room was street facing which can get noisy at nights or in the morning but it didn't seem to bother us.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Priya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I stayed at Hostal Ivor at the beginning of May. Warmly welcomed by Andreas (you have to check in at Hostal Mayrit on the 3rd floor) who gave us a map and marked the locations of things to see and places to eat. Hotel is in a great location, only short walk from Opera metro station and 10-20 mins walk to most attractions. Room was clean and sufficent size for two people, had a fridge which was handy and a little balcony onto the main street which was a bit noisy even with the double-glazed door closed.

Only problem was that the wifi signal was so weak that it kept timing out page responses and going out of range. I spent an extremely frustating 40mins just trying to do a simple, but urgently necessary, action in an online banking website. I told Andreas of the problem - who said he had no issues and showed us the connection on his laptop, which of course was good as he was standing right in front of the wifi router, wasn't he?! - but it was not fixed over the two days we were there. Ivor is on the 2nd floor and Andreas said to try connecting to Hostal Mayrit's (the one he was connected to) but that connection was always out of range from the 2nd floor. Thus we were unable to let people know we arrived safely or do important things such as getting money so was quite disappointing as I always book accommodation with an internet connection so I can do so and I know it wasn't my device that was the problem as it worked fine with subsequent hostals and hotels.

If you don't need internet connection then I recommend Hostal Ivor, but if you do then I suggest you book instead at Hostal Mayrit upstairs (though I don't know what their rooms are like) or somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astrosly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Room Mate Laura
Room Mate Laura
#17 of 438 in Madrid
1,712 reviews
ILUNION Pio XII
#146 of 438 in Madrid
734 reviews
Ayre Gran Hotel Colon
#149 of 438 in Madrid
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Madrid Ventas
#64 of 438 in Madrid
805 reviews
ILUNION Suites Madrid
#93 of 438 in Madrid
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Ivor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Ivor

Address: Calle Arenal 24, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro , Sol
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 281 B&Bs / Inns in Madrid
Price Range: $76 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Ivor 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Ivor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Ivor Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing