We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Far to noisy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Gala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Gala
Ranked #71 of 447 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Far to noisy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I got a room behind the reception. I could hear everything they said at the reception. I Did hear that there were many who complained about noise. They have paper thin walls.
Too noisy. Too expensive (70 eur)
There are much better hostels (one located in the city center but in a more cosy area), is Hostal Montaloya (price 45 eur).
A must for this hostel. Earplugs

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lars N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    191
    45
    6
    3
See reviews for
81
171
31
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

After a long search on the web ( i m a receptionist in Hotel in Rome ) i choosen this one.
I began to sent an e-mail and they replyed immediately, very good started.
Then i decied to booked and they confirmed after 5 minutes.....the i understand why....
we arrived earlier and they accomotated to the room, Irene was really kind and helpfully she gave us a map and all the indication to the major attraction, metro sttaio is 100 metre walk, Madrid has a perfect public transportation very easy. Location was perfect, room was really clean and new, shower was amazing so it's better an Hotel.
Irene, Iana, the night receptionist lady and the owner work hard for that and we appreciated also a good value for Madrid.So if a receptionist wrote a review like that, believe that.
Emiliano and Roberta from Rome

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 187791Titotita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

i only stayed there for 4 days,the employees were very friendly.the rooms were very clean,convenient prices for a ultracentral hostel in madrid!i will surely recommand it ,and we will be coming back soon! :)

Room Tip: double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andreea1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Hostal Gala exceeded expectations and a great, convenient location to explore the city. Bathroom was a little tight (in particular the positioning of the toilet) for someone of tall stature but cleanliness of the room, comfortable bed, free wi-fi and friendly helpful staff far out weighs any minor inconvenience. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noodles_181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location. Very central and an easy walk everywhere you want to go. And it's between two train stations so getting to and from the airport, or even around town is simple as well.

Rooms are small and basic but clean, and modern in their decoration. The bathroom was good, and clean too.

The staff were friendly but I didn't need too much assistance.

My room was right behind the coffee & vending machine where the staff congregate in the morning which was loud (even with ear plugs) so I'd suggest you ask for a different room.

That said, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

This hostel is fantastic, more like a hotel than any other hostel I've stayed in! The location is very central, withing walking distance to all the major attractions and shops. If you'd rather get the train there are several metro stations close by as well. The room was clean and bright, the bathroom was big and housekeeping did a great job everyday. The standout was definitely Alex, one of the staff members. He was friendly, always willing to suggest things to do and answer any questions. He also helped us purchase football tickets online as the page was in Spanish and we couldn't understand a word!

If you are traveling alone, be warned: there is no common room or kitchen so it is extremely hard to meet other travellers. Also, breakfast is pre-packaged sugary snacks but there are so many good places to eat in Madrid that it wasn't a big issue.

Overall, we loved this place and definitely recommend staying at Hostal Gala

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This isnt really a hostal more of a good hotel. Right in the center of madrid, 2 mins from the tube station and 5 mins from most of the main streets and areas. The hostal is located on the second floor of an old style house and has around 30 rooms. The rooms are above average in terms of size and the bathroom is excellent with a good power shower. The free Wifi in the hotel also worked very well

The only issue with this hotel is the noise from the main hallway is quite loud especially when people are checking in and out of the hotel in the morning. Also the aircon is not the greatest however just about does the job, whilst I was there the weather was around 40 degrees yet still managed to sleep fine.

The staff are extremely helpful especially the lady on reception, one of the most helpful reception staff I have met.

Would definitely return and would recommend to anyone who want somewhere to stay

Room Tip: Before booking ask for a room at the end of the corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Oriente
Hostal Oriente
#96 of 447 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Centro
Hostal Las Fuentes
Hostal Las Fuentes
#76 of 447 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#85 of 447 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#47 of 447 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 1,407 reviews
Arguelles
Sercotel Suites Viena
Sercotel Suites Viena
#21 of 447 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 1,096 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Main Street Madrid
Hostal Main Street Madrid
#16 of 447 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Gala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Gala

Property: Hostal Gala
Address: Costanilla Angeles 15, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#75 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#86 Family Hotel in Madrid
#99 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Gala 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique experience awaits you in the heart of Madrid. Everything in Hostel Gala has been totally refurbished and designed in detail to provide modern design, comfort and simplicity. You can enjoy your stay with all the shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs around. Everything you would expect to find in Madrid, just a stone’s throw away from your hostel. Our friendly staff is always here for you to give you all the information you need and to make your stay as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostal Gala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Gala Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing