We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Gala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Gala
Ranked #158 of 444 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
1 review
“great service!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

i only stayed there for 4 days,the employees were very friendly.the rooms were very clean,convenient prices for a ultracentral hostel in madrid!i will surely recommand it ,and we will be coming back soon! :)

Room Tip: double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreea1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    217
    56
    8
    6
See reviews for
88
200
32
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Hostal Gala exceeded expectations and a great, convenient location to explore the city. Bathroom was a little tight (in particular the positioning of the toilet) for someone of tall stature but cleanliness of the room, comfortable bed, free wi-fi and friendly helpful staff far out weighs any minor inconvenience. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noodles_181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location. Very central and an easy walk everywhere you want to go. And it's between two train stations so getting to and from the airport, or even around town is simple as well.

Rooms are small and basic but clean, and modern in their decoration. The bathroom was good, and clean too.

The staff were friendly but I didn't need too much assistance.

My room was right behind the coffee & vending machine where the staff congregate in the morning which was loud (even with ear plugs) so I'd suggest you ask for a different room.

That said, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

This hostel is fantastic, more like a hotel than any other hostel I've stayed in! The location is very central, withing walking distance to all the major attractions and shops. If you'd rather get the train there are several metro stations close by as well. The room was clean and bright, the bathroom was big and housekeeping did a great job everyday. The standout was definitely Alex, one of the staff members. He was friendly, always willing to suggest things to do and answer any questions. He also helped us purchase football tickets online as the page was in Spanish and we couldn't understand a word!

If you are traveling alone, be warned: there is no common room or kitchen so it is extremely hard to meet other travellers. Also, breakfast is pre-packaged sugary snacks but there are so many good places to eat in Madrid that it wasn't a big issue.

Overall, we loved this place and definitely recommend staying at Hostal Gala

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This isnt really a hostal more of a good hotel. Right in the center of madrid, 2 mins from the tube station and 5 mins from most of the main streets and areas. The hostal is located on the second floor of an old style house and has around 30 rooms. The rooms are above average in terms of size and the bathroom is excellent with a good power shower. The free Wifi in the hotel also worked very well

The only issue with this hotel is the noise from the main hallway is quite loud especially when people are checking in and out of the hotel in the morning. Also the aircon is not the greatest however just about does the job, whilst I was there the weather was around 40 degrees yet still managed to sleep fine.

The staff are extremely helpful especially the lady on reception, one of the most helpful reception staff I have met.

Would definitely return and would recommend to anyone who want somewhere to stay

Room Tip: Before booking ask for a room at the end of the corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I can't say enough about how helpful and friendly the staff were. One staffer went above and beyond for us on more than one occasion, which we certainly appreciated.

The hotel is well located, modern and clean, and the room was serviced daily. The downsides are that hotel is not sound-proof at all, and the wireless internet did not extend to our room. If you are a light sleeper and adverse to ear plugs, this is not the place for you. The street noise was not as bad as the noise carry-over from the common room and other guest rooms - someone had a nasty cough that kept us up the first night. Then we bought ear plugs.

As far as cleanliness, quality of staff and location go, I think this hotel would be hard to beat in the budget accommodation category. I have had few better experiences in the budget hotel category in Europe.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancún, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The location is perfect, close to the main attractions of Madrid. It is very nicely decorated and my favorite feature was the huge balcony we had in our room. The staff makes it even more better since they are very friendly, they answered all of our questions, gave us directions and even some recomendations about what to visit while in the city. Overall, we had a really good time in the hostel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
Hostal Oriente
Hostal Oriente
#79 of 444 in Madrid
424 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#54 of 444 in Madrid
1,624 reviews
Centro
Hostal Las Fuentes
Hostal Las Fuentes
#94 of 444 in Madrid
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Praktik Metropol
Praktik Metropol
#88 of 444 in Madrid
1,270 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Ballesta
Hostal Ballesta
#146 of 444 in Madrid
571 reviews
Malasana
Ibis Madrid Centro
Ibis Madrid Centro
#80 of 444 in Madrid
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Gala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Gala

Property: Hostal Gala
Address: Costanilla Angeles 15, 28013 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Centro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Madrid
#74 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
#86 Family Hotel in Madrid
#97 Business Hotel in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Gala 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique experience awaits you in the heart of Madrid. Everything in Hostel Gala has been totally refurbished and designed in detail to provide modern design, comfort and simplicity. You can enjoy your stay with all the shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs around. Everything you would expect to find in Madrid, just a stone’s throw away from your hostel. Our friendly staff is always here for you to give you all the information you need and to make your stay as pleasant as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Gala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Gala Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing