We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place to be.”
Review of Way Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Way Hostel
Ranked #10 of 418 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed there in September, this is one of the best places I've stayed at. The best thing about this place is activities - walking tour, pub crawl, paella/pizza nights etc. All is geared for you to have a great time and meet new people.
Location is great. Right in the middle of everything, within easy walk to Puerta Del Sol as well as the Metro.
Hostel is clean, with plenty of bathrooms and showers. While it was fully booked (I think), I never had a problem finding an empty bathroom. Dorms are spacious, with comfortable beds. AC and wifi work great...
Common area and the lounge are great for making new friends, chatting, having a great time and having a few cold ones (they are quite cheap at the hostel too).
Staff is really friendly, upbeat and very helpful. And the free walking tour (leave tips) is a must!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rapius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 579 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

The hostel staff is really friendly. the rooms and the showers are quite clean. the location is awesome - just a small walk from the prime shopping area on the one side and a nightlife area on the other side. the hostel is also very well connected literally just 2 mins walk from the metro station. the pub crawl organised was good and the paella dinners cooked by the kitchen were quite good as well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelAdapter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Each experience is subjective and this was the 2nd hostel I ever stayed at. Great location, a little sketch but any downtown place can be sketchy. Great staff, shout out to Gioseppi, Pau and Antonio (I believe). They are friendly guys and aren't stuck up. They usually have events every night. I tried the tapas and pub crawl night which was amazing. I guess it was also the crowd that made it good too but Way Hostel helps organize these events to make your stay an awesome one. The walking tour is free (tip based) and very informative.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank condebomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Being my 2nd hostel experience out of 3 thus far, Way Hostel is the best! The staff members are so incredibly friendly, patient, and warm. They really take the time to talk to you about your travels, getting around, or whatever you want to talk about. As a mid 20s, solo female traveler, this place is perfect for meeting good folks, yet being able to enjoy some quiet time. Plenty of socializing activities and relaxing background music :). The lounge area is warm and inviting. There are nights for paella, pizza, pub crawl, tapa crawl, flamenco, etc. Met lots of cool folks here. If visiting Madrid again, I would definitely stay here. Big shout out to Jacob and Mateo. Thanks for making me feel comfortable and at home :).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I've stayed in a variety of hostels throughout Europe over the years, and this was definitely one of the better ones with a great location, comfortable bed, helpful staff and decent bathroom. I stayed in one of the female-only dorms, with six beds (three bunks) and one bathroom. It was easy to store and secure items, and the location alone made the very reasonable price worth it. The hostel is within walking distance to many of Madrid's best sites (I actually walked the whole time there, didn't need to ever take the subway or a taxi), and is easily accessible via subway to the airport.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My advice for other travellers: don't listen to unhappy people who obviously have nothing better to do then criticizing for no reason. WAY is a 100% recommendable hostel! Best staff i've got to know so far that really tries to make your stay special, clean and spacious rooms, great location, easy to meet other travellors cause of the common areas. They offer lots of fun activities like a free walking tour or a pubcrawl, and by the way one of the best paellas i have tried all over spain (occurring problems must have been privat issues apparently). Just can say only good things about WAY and would always come back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sariindra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights in Nov 2012. I found an excellent and friendly welcome. The staff do know where is good in the city and how to get places. The lounge is excellent promoting both privacy and ability to talk to people. The availability of facilities within the hostel was excellent. Being able to have a larger breakfast in a restaurant under the hostel for a reasonable €4 was great. The only small problem I had was the noise from the kitchen in the morning next to my room was a bit noisy. I stayed in a four bed dormitory and was probably a little lucky with my room mates over the 4 nights as they were quiet.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Centro
The Hat
The Hat
#6 of 418 in Madrid
869 reviews
Centro
Sungate One Hostel
Sungate One Hostel
#1 of 418 in Madrid
259 reviews
Lavapies
OK Hostel Madrid
OK Hostel Madrid
#2 of 418 in Madrid
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huertas
Room007 Ventura Hostel
Room007 Ventura Hostel
#22 of 418 in Madrid
640 reviews
Huertas
Mola Hostel
Mola Hostel
#11 of 418 in Madrid
871 reviews
Chueca
U Hostel by Safestay
U Hostel by Safestay
#12 of 418 in Madrid
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Way Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Way Hostel

Address: Calle Relatores 17, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 418 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range: $16 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Way Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're located in the famous neighbourhood of Tirso de Molina, just around the corner from Sol, centre of the city, and traditional markets like El Rastro and San Miguel, Prado and Reina Sofia museums, plus all Madrid's nightlife has to offer.Our rooms have been designed following the inspiration of a wide variety of singers, historic music bands and Spanish artists. We offer a wide variety of activities such as a walking tour, tapas tour, pub crawls and Flamenco shows. We also organize 'milongas', the famous tango dance celebration, every Saturday night at the hostel free of charge for our guests! So if you happen to stay during the weekend, you should give your dancing skills a try.Day TripsDon't miss our day trips to Toledo, Segovia, El Escorial & Aranjuez from Way Hostel... We take you and pick you up, you just relax and enjoy!!More ActivitiesAnd if you like surprises, get ready to try a delicious and typical Spanish dish! We'll make your stay in Madrid unforgettable.Stay with us and be part of the Way experience! Please note that we only accept guests between 18 and 40 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Way Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Way Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing