We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid!”
Review of Way Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Way Hostel
Ranked #13 of 428 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Having stayed in a hell of a lot hostels this has to be one of the worst. I know this is budget accommodation, but it was filthy! There is not enough toilets there being one 2 ladies on a floor with at least 20 rooms. They were never clean, bins were always overflowing with sanitary products and never enough toilet roll.The showers doors are see through so if someone wanted to use the toilet they would see you naked in the shower as there was lock on the bathroom door, very awkward at times. Having eaten all kinds of street food all over the world i was very shocked to get ill off the one euro paella. I know this is nobody's fault and its just one those things but still!
Oh dear the booking........I was booked in for 5 nights and i requested to be in my friends room who i was meeting from a different country, this didn't happen but they couldn't find my booking even when i showed the receipt through hostel bookers, the guy on the desk was brilliant and tried his best, i managed to get a bed in a 12 room but i had to move EVERYDAY to a new room (working in hotel i know he could have just to moved around a few bookings) . On the 4th day i went to go check out of my room again only to be told today i didn't have to move ,great i thought.
I had an early night after being up all night the night before being sick from the paella,only to be woken by some girl shouting "oi you" and shaking me awake accusing me of stealing her bed. When i went down to reception the guy who originally booked me was on the desk and he said "i told you you had move rooms everyday why didn't you?" by this point i was fuming and tried to calmly explain that guy on the morning shift had told me i didn't need to move, there followed a 10 convo on who the guy was! i stood my ground and said i wasn't moving again i am asleep and i am checking out in the morning and its 2 am you will have to sort the problem out all while this loud mouth Canadian breathing down my neck tell me i had "stolen her bed!!!" Eventually it was sorted, maybe this just a one off but i must of stayed in 100's of hostels and i don't except great service or it to be sparkling clean but this was just a joke.

Also seemed to be lot of ignorant people who like to make a lot of noise when they come in. When chatting to other people its seems to be a popular hostel for first time travelers from Canada, USA and the UK who don't seem to have much thought yet for other travelers.
On the plus side the location is great. free breakfast, free internet and a few really helpful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiloWay, Director General at Way Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your feedback, since out of the many people we host, only a few leave their opinions, wich make us improve our services.
You stayed with us during August, one of the busiest months troughout the year, and although we always try our best to avoid people changing rooms, sometimes it is not possible due to availability, like it happened to you. Being an experienced traveller like you say, I imagine you understand the reason why we could not leave you always in the same room. Moreover, you booked the nights in different rooms, so before coming, you knew that you would have to switch dorms. I do understand it is annoying, but after all we just respected your booking/s.
I am really sorry for your feedback regarding the cleaniness, since it is one the issues we care more about. Precisely in September we made changes within our cleaning system and staff, because it is hard to motivate people all the time when it comes to picking up the filth other ones left behind. In this point I deeply apologize and assure you that after the changes we made, the cleaning aspect is one of the strongest ones again in Way.
About the Paella I cannot be other than surprised. We get fresh products at the market everyday and our cook is an experienced one. Since we started with it, 8 months ago, we never got nothing but excellent feedback about his food, so I find it hard to believe that it made you fell sick as you pointed out. Maybe it could have been something else. In any case, it is a pitty you did not say nothing to us so we could find out better.
I think it is not my responsability to reply your feedback regarding fellow travellers, so to this point I just wish you better luck with future experiences.

Hope your travels went on better and this reply finds you well.

Kindest regards.
Felipe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 599 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed in Way Hostel in August 12. It has been of the greatest back packer community feeling I have found in a hostel.
On different nights of the week they provide 1 Euro meals. The portions are small but you can go back of another for another Euro! I had both the pizza and paella which was well worth it, I had three portions!
They don't have laundry facilities however they do have a sister hostel about 5 mins away with a commercial laundromat running beside it. I believe it was 4 Euros for you to leave your laundry for a wash, dry and pick up later.
I do suggest you stay away from the tapas and pub crawl the hostels partners provide. The one New Madrid tours provide are better value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S-STravels86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is an okay hostel, great staff, decent location, but no bar area, and most of the time the common area is full of people playing on their computers.

The beds and bathrooms are clean and comfy, I really like their beds in fact, the comforters were very comfortable.

Again great staff, but I think there are more fun hostels to stay in if that's what your looking for.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joesmoe00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The hostel is located a few mins walk from Sol, very near to a Metro and about 20 mins walk from the Prado. The staff in the hostel were very nice, and the kitchen was well equipped. Internet was free unlike some other places. Good experience overall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rupert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I came to Way Hostel having stayed in another disappointing hostel in Madrid. I checked out of that one and came to Way Hostel and had a really great time.

The staff are really really friendly and helpful. There's a really nice kitchen which is really handy if you want to cook your own food. There's a really nice sociable area, I met loads of people and had a really good time.

Location is great, rooms are comfortable and clean, and bathrooms are private and good too.

Only criticism I would make is there doesn't seem to be any security when entering, they should probably look into getting a door where you buzz in. Also, I had to wait a bit one morning to use the bathroom.

Otherwise, a really really nice hostel, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxmax_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I spent 5 nights here and as my first hostel experience it was great. Very clean, comfortable beds, and 1€ paella was a nice dinner option. The walking tours of Old Madrid were good, the pub crawls fun. Staff were excellent, showed me some good tapas bars. Wifi throughout the building was a nice touch. It's close to the Puerta del Sol and a nearby metro station, and a grocery store.

Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSG21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I spent a week at this hostel and had a brilliant time. The staff are all friendly and helpful, there are great organised days/nights/events out and there is a great atmosphere. The bar crawl is led by two different guys and they will show you a great time The location is great for walking to/fro Sol and the metro couldn't be closer! The rooms are a good size, clean and safe! 100% recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEssa_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Lavapies
OK Hostel Madrid
OK Hostel Madrid
#5 of 428 in Madrid
399 reviews
Huertas
Mola Hostel
Mola Hostel
#11 of 428 in Madrid
939 reviews
Centro
Sungate One Hostel
Sungate One Hostel
#1 of 428 in Madrid
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
The Hat
The Hat
#6 of 428 in Madrid
920 reviews
Chueca
Room007 Chueca Hostel
Room007 Chueca Hostel
#20 of 428 in Madrid
555 reviews
Huertas
Cat's Hostel
Cat's Hostel
#17 of 428 in Madrid
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Way Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Way Hostel

Address: Calle Relatores 17, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 428 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range: $20 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Way Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're located in the famous neighbourhood of Tirso de Molina, just around the corner from Sol, centre of the city, and traditional markets like El Rastro and San Miguel, Prado and Reina Sofia museums, plus all Madrid's nightlife has to offer.Our rooms have been designed following the inspiration of a wide variety of singers, historic music bands and Spanish artists. We offer a wide variety of activities such as a walking tour, tapas tour, pub crawls and Flamenco shows. We also organize 'milongas', the famous tango dance celebration, every Saturday night at the hostel free of charge for our guests! So if you happen to stay during the weekend, you should give your dancing skills a try.Day TripsDon't miss our day trips to Toledo, Segovia, El Escorial & Aranjuez from Way Hostel... We take you and pick you up, you just relax and enjoy!!More ActivitiesAnd if you like surprises, get ready to try a delicious and typical Spanish dish! We'll make your stay in Madrid unforgettable.Stay with us and be part of the Way experience! Please note that we only accept guests between 18 and 40 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Way Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Way Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing