We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Way Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Way Hostel
Ranked #8 of 394 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Easton, PA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We only stayed for one night, but it was a really nice place. The location is great for exploring the city. It was clean and the staff was friendly. The breakfast was better than any of the other hostels I stayed at on this trip. It was a really great deal for a 4-person dorm with en suite bathroom. The only issue was that our bathroom had three showers and a sink, but no toilet! Not a big deal, but there was almost always a line for the bathroom with the toilet so it would have been nice to have our own.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ayoungpretender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    146
    26
    9
    3
See reviews for
7
25
214
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

It was a short trip, but memorable. I had a great weekend in Madrid. Way Hostel was perfect for what I hoped to see & do in the capital city. The staff was phenomenal. I have never complimented a hostel on it's employees, but their friendliness & willingness to serve was exemplary. It was a wonderful trip!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

As soon as you enter the Way Hostel, you definitely sense how compact everything is. However, although it may be small, that's part of the homely charm here. The staff are really great, greeting you and ready to help no matter how small or big the request. It's a busy hostel, especially given that I stayed during the week and in winter, with people from all over the world.

The rooms are slightly cramped, but the beds themselves are really good. The location of the bathrooms was a little odd; the toilets are behind the computer wall and the showers are just next to reception, but this posed little problems as they were clean.

The location was amazing; just 50metres from the Tirso Molina stop, and Sol is about 10mins away. There are supermarkets and everything else around.

I'd probably give this hostel 4.5/5, but the fact that the staff were so friendly makes me want to push it up to a 5!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, Brasil
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

The best place to stay in Madrid!So much fun, cool guides, best staff!!! I definetly wanna came back!Thank you for everything guys!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gugarsbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

It was my first time in any hostel and It was the best experience that i ever had. I used to visit places and used to live in hotels but this hostel made me believe that there are better places in less price. The environment is friend, social and the saturday dance party is amazing. Free breakfast, clean washrooms and WiFi. It has everything that you need to spend sometime out of your home.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank x_509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Really good hostel, well located near to the main touristic point of Madrid. The staff is awesome – the Argentinian guy who works at afternoon is always really helpful when you ask about things to do in the city... the Italian guy (who works at night) not only help you about Madrid as well as about Italy!
I stayed in a mix room 12 beds and was good. The room is big and always clean. (Don't be scare if 1 am you're the only one in the room – people come to sleep from parties at 5am - but people aren't noise and crazy - you can take a good rest there). Really good kitchen – best of the 6 hostels I stayed all over Europe – and good breakfast.
The common room is big and comfy enough to you make new friends – I made a lot there!
The only thing I didn't like so much was the bathroom that is not too big, individual (one room for the toilet and shower) and mixed.
I did the Tapas tour and the pubcrawl there and was both pretty fun – really good to meet people!
I would go back there for sure!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

I stayed here for a night. The staff Here are very helpful and friendly. They helped me to move my big luggage up to my room at 2nd floor and move it down upon check-out. They helped me to call up the tourist places to ask for more infomation that couldn't find on Internet. Room & toilet are very clean..very good location too, 2 minutes walk to metro station

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceciliatcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hotel Catalonia Plaza Mayor
Centro
SunGate Hostel
SunGate Hostel
#1 of 394 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Centro
The Hat
The Hat
#3 of 394 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
U Hostels
U Hostels
#7 of 394 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 896 reviews
Lavapies
OK Hostel Madrid
OK Hostel Madrid
#13 of 394 in Madrid
5.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Centro
TOC Hostel Madrid
TOC Hostel Madrid
#12 of 394 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Way Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Way Hostel

Property: Way Hostel
Address: Calle Relatores 17, 28012 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Huertas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 394 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Way Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're located in the famous neighbourhood of Tirso de Molina, just around the corner from Sol, centre of the city, and traditional markets like El Rastro and San Miguel, Prado and Reina Sofia museums, plus all Madrid's nightlife has to offer.Our rooms have been designed following the inspiration of a wide variety of singers, historic music bands and Spanish artists. We offer a wide variety of activities such as a walking tour, tapas tour, pub crawls and Flamenco shows. We also organize 'milongas', the famous tango dance celebration, every Saturday night at the hostel free of charge for our guests! So if you happen to stay during the weekend, you should give your dancing skills a try.Day TripsDon't miss our day trips to Toledo, Segovia, El Escorial & Aranjuez from Way Hostel... We take you and pick you up, you just relax and enjoy!!More ActivitiesAnd if you like surprises, get ready to try a delicious and typical Spanish dish! We'll make your stay in Madrid unforgettable.Stay with us and be part of the Way experience! Please note that we only accept guests between 18 and 40 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Way Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Way Hotel Madrid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing