We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Feast”
Review of Mercado San Miguel

Mercado San Miguel
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.28*
and up
San Miguel Market: Sherry and Tapas Tasting Tour in Madrid
Ranked #15 of 757 things to do in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
184 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Food Feast”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a "must visit". Every city should have one of these. You can spend hours here - eating great meat, cheese, fruit, wine, sushi, sweets and much more. Buy from the various deli-counters and sit in the middle chilling, eating and people watching. I've been here 4 times, on 2 different trips. It's always full, with reason. Treat yourself !

Helpful?
Thank TravelBabeSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17,996 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,207
    5,651
    2,281
    597
    260
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great for Lunch”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Lots of great stalls with tasty food. Seafood tapas, olives, amazing burrata and mozzarella, etc. Worth a stop. Wish all of the markets in Madrid sold prepared food so delicious.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank lawyer79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not a market - think indoor food festival. EVERYDAY!”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

What a treat - ice cream, chocolate, oysters, champagne, wine, beer, burgers, hotdogs you name it !! Come relaxed, with 2-3 hours to spend, come hungry and take it all in. Great selection of food and wine. People watching here is amazing........you can take in real Madrid culture on a Sunday afternoon.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Careerbreakers2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Do NOT miss the Mercado!!!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I was skeptical when I first heard of the Mercado de San Miguel, thinking of it as yet another place for Madrid to round up tourists and separate them from their money for a faux-authentic experience (flamenco, anyone?). Glad I dove in anyway -- this place is magical! It's right off of the Plaza Mayor so you’re going to be there anyway and you MUST stop in. It’s a Spanish food theme park but also the real deal… raw oysters that still carry a whiff of saltwater, expertly handled seafood like grilled squid that's so simply and perfectly prepared you will realize you've been eating it wrong all along, and some of the BEST pinchos in Madrid: delicately garlicked baby eels, fluffy tortillas, just-creamy-enough crab salad, miles of Iberian ham and chorizo slices, the most beautiful hand-made pastries and candies, and, best of all, a wine to go with EVERYthing. Grab a bottle of cava at Pinkleton & Wine (they’ll keep it on ice for you) and stroll among the booths, stopping for a bite when it strikes your fancy. The small croqueta stand in the center offers some of the freshest and best examples of this staple that I found in Spain. It gets crazy-busy on the weekends but it’s worth a wait – service is always efficient (if you get close enough to the counter to catch someone’s attention) and you can stop in for a bite on the run to your next cathedral tour or linger for hours.

Be sure you *save your receipts* if you need to visit the downstairs bathroom. All of the stands share dishes so you can just leave yours at a table or counter to be picked up by staff.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryanr98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good place for drink and food”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

lot of turist came here and , although i don't like place crowded, my experience at mercado san miguel was great. I suggest aperitif with vermouth (there is a large variety with different flavour) and after i sugegst "bacalao", cooked in different way. Lot of stands with different foods at reasonable prices. If you are not scatisfied , outside lot odf bars and restaurant. I suggest also to visit "mercado de san antonio", less turists

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank lambrini_alessandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercado San Miguel also viewed

 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Mercado San Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing