We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing tapas” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orixe - CLOSED

Orixe
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: La Latina
Description: Galician cuisine
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Busy bar serving some of the best tapas. We love the pork fillet with goats cheese and onions. It does get very busy so finding space can be a problem, but the staff are friendly and remembered us when we returned for a quick bite the next night.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Seestee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    44
    14
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,180 reviews
542 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 565 helpful votes
“Tapas might be the best choice here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

The Orixe was a disappointing experience: a clearly popular restaurant that promised fresh Galician cuisine. That is a novelty to us, so thought to give it a try.
We asked for a table - our first mistake. The main, open area of the restaurant was full so after a bit of a wait they found us a corner spot in a small back room, already occupied by a group of about eight or ten. The small room was now full. Luckily, our young companions weren't too rowdy. When we got the bill we discovered the restaurant charged us 3.80 Euros for table service. Ker-ching! Should have taken the tapas at the very busy bar. (To be fair, the bread and a slurp of chicken soup were on the house.) The green salad was perhaps the biggest disappointment: 12 Euros for a plate of shredded lettuce, topped by a lone quartered tomato, a pat of (Galician) goat's cheese and dressing. Main course of tortillas (one chorizo, one tuna) and we got exactly that: a tortilla on a plate, no garnishing of any kind. They tasted OK, but we were expecting a bit more in what is not an inexpensive restaurant. The wine was fine and no complaints about our waiter, who was attentive and professional.
If I ever went back to Orixe it would be to eat tapas at the bar - that's where the buzz was.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JElliot32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aromas CA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best Tapas We've Had in Madrid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Outstanding tapas, many outside of the norm. Very friendly and attentive staff holds it together in the midst of the surging crowd.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aromasguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

After several days in Madrid we were looking for some lighter food and vegetables. Orixe fit the bill perfectly. Excellent offs Catalan style. From the wine steamed fresh choizo to the roasted vegetable and wonderful gazpacho the food was a treat. Wonderful attentive service and great atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cailin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We started the evening here and weren't disappointed. The food was great and really good quality, and, although there was a cover charge, it was worth it for a great taster gazpacho and freshly baked bread!! The only one downside was that the service was a little abrupt and the sit down meals were a little more expensive than other places, but nothing too terrible. I would definitely recommend this place if youre looking for great food and a nice atmosphere in Madrid!

Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Orixe also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing