We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Meson Restaurante La Mi Venta
Ranked #29 of 10,780 Restaurants in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centro
Description: Founded in 1962 and after a deep renovation it keeps the charm of the typical spanish restaurant "Venta". La Mi Venta is a restaurant dedicated to the elaboration of a tasty traditional and homemade cuisine, were the quality of the product is the main objective. Our speciality is the pure iberian acorn, the typical spanish stews and of course the grilled meats. Outstanding selection of wines, in a refrigerated cellar and homemade desserts. We have several lounges with different atmospheres, from the typical bar of "Meson", to the original cave of the house made of bricks, terrace or the "pecking" room.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner in this restaurant. The chef David took care of us all night. All his recommendations were spot on. Food was very well executed, and you could tell the quality of all the ingredients. Taste the prosciutto offered in the tapas section of the menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Felipe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    867
    317
    72
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Decent food”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Located nearby the royal palace, I think the food was pretty decent. We ordered the paella and some tapas to go with it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Altus84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The personal touch”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Loved it. Great food, lovely atmosphere and staff who really took time and trouble to care for their clients. Will be going back next time I am in Madrid, without doubt.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
507 reviews
494 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Carne limpia - pure meat”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

After we had managed to convince the owner to talk Spanish to us, we got lots of information on the food, wine and Galicia in general. As meat lovers we decided to go for the chuletón (1kg) and to have a few tapas before that. When we ordered the callos, he looked appaled and asked us if we knew what this is (cow's stomach)! We said we wanted to give it a try as it is a Madrilean speciality, but were not sure if we like it. He immediately confessed he didn't and that he preferred "carne limpia" - which we had already ordered as main.
The tripes were OK, but the meat was really "espectacular", along with the Ribera del Duero.
If you like meat, go for it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dkbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“This is a difficult one! 5 and 0 Stars.”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

It just shows that timing can be everything.
I had one of the best meals of my life here last week on Thursday 18th July and then one of the worst meals of my life here last Sunday 21st July.
This restaurant/tapas bar was just around the corner from our apartment, and we were delighted to find such a lovely restaurant on our doorstep.
The owner seems a lovely man, and we had interesting conversations in a mixture of Spanish and English about the food and Galicia in general.
We had a hugely enjoyable meal.
I had the best entrecote I have ever eaten, and my other half had a gorgeous piece of hake in a subtle cinnamon sauce. The postres of chocolate mousse with mint and the tangerine sorbet were also delightful.
Buoyed up by this, I changed my plans to cook Sunday dinner and made reservations for the relatively early time of 21:30.
This time we were shown into the La Cueva part of the restaurant, which would have been lovely, had they had any food left!
No hake, one rather sad entrecote left, cod with peppers without any peppers, no complementary tapa. The vegetables consisted of a small sliver of lettuce, which, frankly, I found insulting.
The owner said that the chef had "let him down", and that this was the first time it had ever happened, but still did nothing to rectify it or adjust the bill accordingly.
It turns out that the Russian ice-skaters had arrived for Cinderella on Ice across the way at Sabatini, and had already taken the lion's share of everything.
Nevertheless this was Madrid, it was only 21:30 and we had a reservation.
I quote from the owner: " Oh, you were so happy, and now you are so sad."
Well, yes, exactly.
If I hadn't gone back, I would have been praising this place to the heavens.
Now, …meh.. take your chances, as it's clearly random.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyLindaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meson V, Gerente at Meson Restaurante La Mi Venta, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Appreciated customer: we are very sorry that your second experience in our restaurant has not been satisfactory. All our products are fresh, so if we have more work than what we expect, it is possible that we run out of some of them. That weekend we had a lot of people we didn't expect. We apologize for the inconvenience this fact could cause you.
Best regards
Manager of La Mi Venta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meson Restaurante La Mi Venta also viewed

Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 
Madrid, Community of Madrid
Madrid, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Meson Restaurante La Mi Venta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing