We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money”
Review of Hostal Enebral

Hostal Enebral
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Enebral
Ranked #284 of 392 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The Hostal Enebral is rather a perfect for those who spend most of their time outside and use it just for sleeping. It is a budget accomodation and price is its biggest advantage. Downside are beds, they are not comfortable and for some people that might be the problem. We were so tired after all day sightseeing, that it was not the problem for us. Rooms include television, fan/heating and wireless internet access. It is quite good located, about 200 metres from Tribunal metro station.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kerad85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    31
    17
    10
    12
See reviews for
6
29
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Stayed here for one night in Nov during a lightening quick visit to the city! Never been to Madrid before but loved it, and had never stayed in a hostel before so was dreading it! Its on a dodgy looking side st above a tattoo parlor and had a tiny sign that we nearly missed, but its really close to the metro stop which is really handy. Its basically a house, and it felt like crashing at a friends! The place is tiny. the room was only just big enough for the bed! but we only wanted a place to sleep and shower for the night so it didnt bother us. It took ages and ages to get checked in because the woman who runs the place was chatting on the phone while she was doing it, but you have to put up with this i suppose because the Spanish never rush for anything!
The bathroom was spotless at all times and the room was also clean and with 3 separate locked doors to get into the place it was very secure which was reassuring. It was fine for our stay and well worth the money, but i think it would be a bit too cramped for longer than 1 or 2 nights.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bany1781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield, uk
Level Contributor
144 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Thus place is ideal for people who spend a minimal amount of time in the hostel and do not want to spend a lot of money on accommodation.
It is on the third floor of an apartment building and there are a small number of rooms with shared bathrooms. The rooms are small and functional, with a fridge, a fan, and a television.
It was near to a square where there were a number of fun places to drink of an evening. The neighbourhood seemed to be thronged with students and so was a safe one. It was near to a bread shop and not far from a Dia supermarket.
Most important of all it is about 5 minutes walk from the Tribunal metro station and so you are only a few minutes away from the centre of Madrid.
The staff were always very friendly and helpful and their lack of English was not a problem, as we have some Spanish.
At the price, it was just what we needed and should we return then this will be a safe option for us to use again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank binkybot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

The Hostal Enebral or Pension Enebral is a small multi-room hotel/ hostel near the Tribunal Metro station in Madrid. A short 5 to 8 min walk.

It is located 4 floors up from the street (3rd floor) above a tattoo parlor. There is no elevator, but we only had to carry our suitcases upon arrival and when departing. The rooms are very small with minimal furniture- in many ways like an inexpensive business hotel in Japan. There was a fair sized flat screen TV and a fan mounted on the wall. A small window gave a a view of the other side of the building - about 3 meters (10 Ft) away. Our bed was large enough for two people, but the mattress - while firm, was also thin and we could feel the springs through it. Not a problem for my wife and myself, but it might be a problem for some travelers.That being said, the property is very clean. The shared baths are also spotless. Noise from fellow guests can be a issue, but we put the fan on and the white noise from the fan drowned out the chatter from other guests. Strangely, noise from the street was not a problem at all.

I can see where staying here in the middle of summer when it's hot would be an issue without air conditioning in the rooms.

The neighborhood felt very safe with a lot of foot traffic at night. Mostly young people going from Tappas Bar to Tappas Bar. On Friday and Saturday nights they are out untill 8:00 AM. Not a typo. When we were getting up in the morning there were still a lot of people out from the night before.

The women who runs the hotel is very friendly. She speaks only Spanish, but this is after all... Spain! We managed to communicate with our limited Spanish.


Should you stay here? It depends on want you want in a room. If you only need a place to sleep and shower because most of your time is spent out of the hotel, it's fine! If you plan to spend hours in the room - then this may not be the place for you due to the room size and lack of a common area like a lobby.

So..... Would we stay here again? Yes indeed. For the price in central Madrid, it's hard to beat. Clean and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lithaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katowice, Poland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

The hostel is really nice place to stay for a few days. It's cheap, clean and it's located close to the center of Madrid. Our room was quite small but it contained everything we needed. The only problem we experienced was the fact that our air conditioning didn't work properly and sometimes the temperature in our room was too high. The staff is nice and friendly. Although the receptionist doesn't speak English at all, she always tries to help. The location is excellent for everyone who wants to sightsee - it's close to the main attractions in Madrid and simultaneously Calle Velarde is really calm and quiet street. You may have problem with finding the hostel because the board with name is very small. To conclude, I'd like to recommend this hostel to everyone who doesn't need to stay in luxury but just wants to spend a couple of unforgettable days in this beautiful city.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

This hostal is without a doubt the worst choise you can make. Often there is no staff. It has no lift and its kind of a house where they just built some rooms to make it a hostal. Only two bathrooms so you might wait for over an hour before one is free. At night strange noises and the worst thing was: THE BED. I wouldnt call it a bed, its like iron frame you sleep on. You know you dont pay much but you at least expect a normal bed, we didnt sleep at all. Besides the bed is really small, they put two people in one little bed!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivalasvacaciones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Madrid hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Huertas
Hostal Horizonte
Hostal Horizonte
#339 of 438 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Sil & Serranos
Hostal Sil & Serranos
#244 of 438 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Malasana
Mad4You Hostel
Mad4You Hostel
#25 of 392 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chueca
Hostel Era
Hostel Era
#193 of 392 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Huertas
Casa de Huespedes Cuenca
Casa de Huespedes Cuenca
#150 of 276 in Madrid
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Malasana
Hostal Rayuela
Hostal Rayuela
#208 of 276 in Madrid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Enebral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Enebral

Property: Hostal Enebral
Address: Calle Velarde 22, 28004 Madrid, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > Malasana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #284 of 392 Specialty Lodging in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Enebral 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Enebral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing