We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location”
Review of Mayerling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mayerling Hotel
Ranked #48 of 440 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

location is perfect. very close to puerta del sol and la latina. in the middle of everything.
very helpful staff, comfortable and clean rooms.
average breakfast
but i would stay there for the next time as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank venaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (640)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 640 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed in #305 of this hotel in early June, 2013. It was a clean, quiet room facing a wall (which I didn't mind; there was a gap between the wall and the room with big windows, so there was ample natural light coming in.) Just as most Tripadvisor reviewers said of this hotel, I too had a comfortable stay here. Breakfast included two types of sliced bread, some mini cupcakes, cereals, yogurt, cheese, meat, and a variety of juice and fruits. The kitchen, which is open 24/7, has a espresso/coffee/hot chocolate maker and a variety of tea. It also has a water cooler for drinking water. The toiletries were bare minimal and the bedroom décor was IKEA-like sparse but functional. And yep, the shower has funky lights and glass panels all around it. Thank god, there is a curtain for privacy. If all you need while traveling is a clean bed and courteous service, you will not be disappointed with this hotel. The hotel is also centrally located. For those driving to Madrid,there is public parking near the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will certainly stay here next time I visit Madrid.

Room Tip: Room # 305 and #303 are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Budapest5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The room was small, modern, and a little funky but totally OK for a short stay (2 nights). It was very spare and the layout was a little strange but nothing to complain about. My room faced the street and was a little loud (primarily traffic noise) but if you get a rear-facing room it would be much quieter, I'm sure. Staff was very nice and helpful. Continental breakfast was perfect. Location is good in the center of town not far from Plaza del Sol.

Room Tip: Request a room at the rear of the building to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BayNa9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We needed 1 night stop over hotel on our way home from central america and chose this based on previous reviews.We received a very detailed email with arrival directions,and checking in the friendly receptionist gave us all the info we needed to spend one day in Madrid - including a warning about pickpocketing which we partly ignored and thus our i-phone was stolen in the metro on the way to the airport...
For the price paid we received more than expected, great bed, terrific shower and the best room lighting we ever had in all the (fancy) hotels we ever stayed in!
We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gloryTel_aviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Gabriele Z
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We spent a weekend there. Check-in was quick, the room was pretty nice and modern. Clean and Quiet. Breakfast is basic but good.
It was freezing cold the weekend we were there, and unforunately the hot water in the shower collapsed one morning. We took a cold shower and by the time we came back in the afternoon it was all fixed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xavier h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just got back from a weekend in Madrid and we staid in the Chic&Basic Mayerling. if you're looking for a well located, cozy room and a good breakfast... you found it. Also the staff is very friendly and helped us with Taxis, guided us through the city map to show where were places we were looking for. Besides that, Madrid is an amazing city and I recommend to anyone who enjoys good food & wine and streets/bars/restaurants full of friendly people.

Something that I find cool about the rooms, that might be strange to some people, is that the shower is in the room itself.... Meaning that if you're laying in bed, you can see whoever is taking a shower in the side of the room.

Next time I go to Madrid, I know which hotel I'll be staying in.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GustavoRuggiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
La Latina
La Posada del Dragon
La Posada del Dragon
#75 of 440 in Madrid
718 reviews
Huertas
Hotel Cortezo
Hotel Cortezo
#209 of 440 in Madrid
865 reviews
Centro
Hotel Francisco I
Hotel Francisco I
#68 of 440 in Madrid
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arguelles
Suites Viena – Plaza de Espana
Lavapies
Artrip Hotel
Artrip Hotel
#5 of 440 in Madrid
1,365 reviews
Centro
B&B Hotel Puerta del Sol
B&B Hotel Puerta del Sol
#11 of 440 in Madrid
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayerling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayerling Hotel

Address: Calle Conde de Romanones 6, 28012 Madrid, Spain (Formerly Chic&Basic Mayerling)
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > La Latina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Madrid
#68 Romantic Hotel in Madrid
Price Range: $57 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mayerling Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mayerling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic&Basic Mayerling Hotel Madrid
Chic And Basic Mayerling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing