We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Axor Barajas Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Axor Barajas Hotel
Ranked #74 of 448 Hotels in Madrid
Certificate of Excellence
Drummondville, Québec
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed for a flight transit, one night. Amazing hotel, very high quality, We recommanded this location. If we transit again via Madrid, It will be there certainly. It's very close to a shooping mall.
We took the shuttle from the airport. We had a good service. The room are spacious, with a very nice and usefull bathroom.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jogtrotteurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    453
    75
    31
    27
See reviews for
312
334
76
234
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
151 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The property belongs to a Castilian family and is professionally run. Family romms are wide and some of them even look like duplex units. Free and fast working wifi all aroun the hotel. desktop with rpinter at the main entrance and thus allowing you to print your boarding passes before arriving to the airport: I found it a nice touch.Shuttle service to the airport running every half an hour, but early morning the bus is overcrowded so it is wise to reserve your places at the reception the night before. If you walk left from the hotel and you turn left at the fiest traffic lights you will reach Plenilunio, a huge mall with lots of restaurants and shops. It takes around 20 minutes on foot to reach this mall. Otherwise only critic I can say about the hotel is that some of the food chosen at the lobby bar was poorly defrozen and kept some ice inside. Otherwise I can recommend the property if you travel with your family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fran07Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Axor Barajas is a very good airport hotel. It's incredibly good value and very well thought out for the traveller. The airport shuttle is every half hour, on time and efficient. The wifi is fast and free, and has a strong signal in the rooms and communal areas. It took less than five minutes for me to download a movie.
The bar is cheap and friendly and there's no problem about being a woman sitting alone in there. There are plenty of plug points for last minute charging of devices in the communal areas, as in the rooms.
In the bedrooms the monsoon showers are fantastic, the beds super comfortable and the room is very well thought out.
The food and wine I had were very good.
It takes about 45 minutes to get into the city if you catch the airport shuttle and the metro at the right times. There's a shopping centre nearby.
Late check outs are possible for a small fee, or just use the hotel gym for a shower before a night flight.
I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globalgirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
432 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

As cabin crew, I regularly stay in this hotel. It is convenient for business travellers as its close to the airport with a complimentary shuttle service, has good transport links to the city with the rooms impressively large, hi-tech, clean and complimented by friendly hotel staff. And most importantly, the beds are sooooo comfortable and a good night's rest is guaranteed! I'd gladly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scuesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
134 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is a very nice, clean hotel that provides many amenities. The beds are very comfortable, the bathroom is large with a nice shower (no tub), and they offer dental kits, which is a nice touch. The towels are well maintained and a good size. Alas, no washcloths, but that is typical of Europe.

There is a shuttle to and from the airport, although I had a problem finding the shuttle from the airport and took a taxi. It's very expensive for a short trip (25 EUR), so look for the Axor sign at the shuttle. It will take you to both of the hotels (which are sister properties right next to each other.)

The hotel is very modern, which is rather stark for my liking, but that is a preference. There are no carpets in the room, just wood floors and tile in the bathroom, which is very cold in the morning. The towel warmer was much appreciated and helped to warm the bathroom since it was chilly when I visited.

The restaurant was very good, but does open late compared to American standards. Luckily, there is a mall within short walking distance where you can find a meal at any hour, but do try the restaurant for dinner or the bar area since the food is very good.

The price for a hotel this quality is very good. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floor. The bar and reception area get noisy and crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cyanhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Aside from comfortable rooms, modern decor and proximity to Madrid, the hotel offers good price-quality ratio for family travelers. Kids can entertain themselves with complimentary Wii gaming which is provided on the floor lounge and is available at the reception to pick up. Family rooms are nicely equipped with flat screen TV and bunk beds. Good value and kids loved it!

Room Tip: If you have family, ask for room for 4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anatolijus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed here before catching an early morning flight and it offered almost all you could offer in an airport hotel. Check in took a while as the mini bus from the airport was full but the room was clean and quiet and the bed comfortable. Had to go to hotel next door (same group) for dinner and I would have liked a bit more choice, a tapa or two was on my mind but not on menu.
The mini bust service to the airport runs every half an hour and I was at the airport in minutes.
The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linl0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madrid hotels
Airport / Barajas
Axor Feria Hotel
Axor Feria Hotel
#92 of 448 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 1,235 reviews
Maydrit Hotel
#59 of 448 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 1,039 reviews
Hotel Nuevo Boston
#75 of 448 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airport / Barajas
Hilton Madrid Airport
Hilton Madrid Airport
#71 of 448 in Madrid
4.5 of 5 stars 2,375 reviews
Airport / Barajas
Clement Barajas Hotel
Clement Barajas Hotel
#126 of 448 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 780 reviews
Airport / Barajas
Hotel Tach Madrid Airport
Hotel Tach Madrid Airport
#120 of 448 in Madrid
4.0 of 5 stars 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axor Barajas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axor Barajas Hotel

Property: Axor Barajas Hotel
Address: Calle Campezo 4, 28022 Madrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > Madrid > San Blas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 448 Hotels in Madrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Axor Barajas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Axor Barajas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing